Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Old Nov 23, 2007, 11:01 AM   #1
appletime
macrumors member

MS Excel, Word, Powerpoint and GarageBand missing

Hello,

Something bizarre has happened... my GarageBand, MS Excel, Word and PowerPoint has gone missing from my computer. I can honestly swear that I did not remove or uninstall these applications. What's even odder is that Entourage is still installed and ready to be used?

Please can anyone help? I am very new to the Mac world and have only had my iMac for less than a month. Why have these applications disappeared and how can I retrieve them?

Cheers
appletime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 11:04 AM   #2
admiraldennis
macrumors regular

Send a message via AIM to admiraldennis
Are you sure they're completely gone, or just removed from your Dock/Desktop/etc?

Check your Applications folder for a Microsoft Office folder. If you don't find it, perhaps try a search.

If you still do not find them, well... Applications do not simply 'disappear' from a system. Somebody either moved or deleted them.
admiraldennis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 11:07 AM   #3
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5

Have you renamed, deleted or moved anything in your User folder -- like changed the username on the folder?
Old Nov 23, 2007, 12:28 PM   #4
appletime
macrumors member

Quote:
Originally Posted by admiraldennis View Post
Are you sure they're completely gone, or just removed from your Dock/Desktop/etc?

Check your Applications folder for a Microsoft Office folder. If you don't find it, perhaps try a search.

If you still do not find them, well... Applications do not simply 'disappear' from a system. Somebody either moved or deleted them.
I've checked both my Applications folder and my Microsoft Office 2004 folder and they are not there. Only Entourage is left. I have also done a search using Spotlight but to no avail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post