Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2007, 03:18 PM   #1
Grfelix
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Do I need an antivirus on VMware????

Hey guys, im a new mac user, so i have practically no experience using mac, I recently installed windows XP home edition on my mac through VMware Fusion and it work correctly, the only question I have is... Do I need to worry enough about viruses while using Windows on VMware?, and what antivirus and antispyware is recommended to install??...

Thanks.
Grfelix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 03:19 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
If it's Windows, yes

I use AVG. Avoid Norton
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 03:20 PM   #3
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Yes you do. avast and AVG are 2 good free ones.
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 03:20 PM   #4
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Viruses will affect the Windows installation if it gets them, but not the Mac side, I recommend AVG Free and Ad-aware
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2007, 12:38 AM   #5
vicious7
macrumors 6502a
 
vicious7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacked into the net...
Cool. AVG seems to work fine. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
SR MBP/Canon 5DMkII/Leica R 19mm, 35mm, 50mm, 90mm/Zeiss ZF 21mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm
vicious7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2007, 11:51 AM   #6
akadmon
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Most major ISPs give you Antivirus/firewall software for "free" (I know I know - the cost is probably passed on to the user as part of the monthly bill). Comcast has a deal with McAfee.
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 05:18 PM   #7
XxYami-kunxX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Yes you do. avast and AVG are 2 good free ones.
Are they actually reliable and safe, or will I get more protection with McAfee
XxYami-kunxX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 05:39 PM   #8
joudbren
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Just download the new Security Essentials from Microsoft. Free Anti-Virus and Anti-Malware and it's been getting rave reviews across the web. It's very light on system resources and has a phenomenal detection engine. I've dumped both Avast and AVG now for Security Essentials on all my systems running Windows. It doesn't nag you either to upgrade to the "bigger/better" version.... only one version available from MS and it's totally free.

http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/?mkt=en-us

Cheers!

James
joudbren is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taking my MBP on a trip: Old electrical wiring: do I need an adapter or converter? doxavita MacBook Pro 21 May 22, 2011 03:23 PM
IPHONE 4 won't power on..do i need an appointment mjpisat iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Feb 10, 2011 02:41 AM
Antivirus on VMWare XP skitzogreg Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Sep 12, 2010 11:24 PM
Do I need an external sound card for recording on my Macbook pro? Lakkaland MacBook Pro 7 Aug 29, 2010 06:26 PM
Do you need any antivirus for OSX if you have Win 7 installed? TazExprez MacBook Pro 3 Apr 25, 2010 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC