Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 23, 2003, 09:02 PM   #1
redcalx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Airport Issues

Hi Everyone,

I'm a longtime mac user, but new to airport and I've got a bit of a dilemma.

Today I installed an airport network at a friends office, I put airport cards (and in certain cases airport extreme cards) in all of his imacs and ibooks and 1 powerbook g4. THey were all new computers so in order to install the software I had to update to 10.2.8 (which i now hear there might be problems with).

Anyway, the internet comes across just fine... each computer connects to the internet fine, but I cannot connect to each computer trough "go>connect to server" like I could if it was done through a router/hub. Does airport not allow this?

Basically what I need to do is host a filemaker database but my friend just wanted to host it off one of the computers on the airport network. Is this possible?

In the airport admin utility it says that the airport basestation is distributing the same IP to every computer on the network but when I try to change that to different IP's it gives me an error that I need to configure ethernet settings... I'm a little lost.

Also, for some reason, it sees the USB printer I have attached (HP Color Laserjet 1500) but the computers do not see it through rendevouz in print centre. Am an I an idiot? what am i doign wrong?
redcalx is offline   0
Old Sep 23, 2003, 10:24 PM   #2
SoonToGetAMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
I think you need to go under Sharing in System Prefs and enable sharing with other computers (the check box), and then that's it. By default, the shared folder is the folder called "Shared" within the current user's home directory.
SoonToGetAMac is offline   0
Old Sep 24, 2003, 09:03 AM   #3
doctorhook
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Venice, CA
Thumbs down

I have the same Rendevous problem with my HP officejet 6110. I checked the HP website and it says that these printers are not Rendevous enabled. Bummer!
This is probably the case with your printer and it means that YOU are not the idiot.
doctorhook is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple AE setup issues Jefferyd32 Mac Basics and Help 0 Mar 26, 2011 12:59 AM
Airport Extreme/Hard Drive - Disconnect Issue eurobass Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 25, 2010 08:20 AM
Wireless router issue along with Airport Extreme Devoc Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 17, 2010 04:43 AM
Airport issue? cjo85 Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 16, 2010 10:21 PM
Airport Issues Stan General Mac Discussion 2 Sep 27, 2003 11:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC