Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2007, 05:52 PM   #1
xdefeatsy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to xdefeatsy
Changing Screen Position/Size?

Hi, I'm new to the forums and also fairly new to Mac (been using Windows machines for over 10 years and just switched back).

I just received my new Macbook Pro (2.4ghz) and bought the "DVI-to-Video" cable to use another screen on my TV for bigger viewing of videos. It recognizes the TV and works, but no matter what resolution it's at I still have black spaces around the actual resolution -- it won't fill out the entire screen.

I'm really picky about this and was wondering if there was any way to do what the Nvidia drivers on Windows allow you to do -- adjusting the screen size and position to make it fit perfectly?
xdefeatsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 02:19 PM   #2
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
What program are you using to view the videos? I know VLC lets you adjust this.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 02:26 PM   #3
Str8edgepunker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Send a message via AIM to Str8edgepunker
I think I know what you're talking about, you need to enable the overscan option in your display preferences. I know on my computer it won't "completely" fill up the tv screen so enabling the option will help. The downside is that you will lose part of the image on screen. Hope that helps answer your question.
__________________
-Those who dream big, make it big. Those who dream small, earn chump change for the rest of their lives.
2010 15" MacBook Pro HRG, 2.66ghz i7, 4gb ram, 500gb 7200rpm HD.
Str8edgepunker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 03:36 PM   #4
xdefeatsy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to xdefeatsy
Where is overscan in the display preferences?

Or

How would I do that in VLC?
xdefeatsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to keep folder size and file position in the same place? seasurfer OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 18, 2014 10:15 PM
programmatically created UIButton's position changing erdinc27 iPhone/iPad Programming 12 Jan 17, 2014 02:39 AM
Twitter app forgets size and position iwan073 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Dec 20, 2013 02:35 PM
iPhone: Anybody know how to change the size/position of lockscreen album artwork? lewisweekly Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Oct 13, 2013 09:00 AM
changing screen display size - not resolution jetrim iMac 4 Sep 4, 2012 01:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC