Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phatmansays

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 11, 2007
Lancaster, UK
Hi there im new to all this so please be patient.

I Have a 17" Macbook Pro running tiger but may soon be upgrading (if this makes it easier). I currently connect my MBP to my 32" HDReady TV but i get a limited resolution of 1280 x 720 as opposed to my MBP that can have 1680 x 1050. I have done a little bit of reading into this and found Screen Spanning Doctor for different types of Macs. I was wondering whether there is any other way of unlocking this resolution for my TV or whether im stuck with what i have got?

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Does your TV actually support higher resolutions than that? HD Ready just means it meets a very minimum standard which is 720p (720 vertical lines). The resolution you are getting is 720p. Size means nothing: it's about resolution.

Super Macho Man

macrumors 6502a
Jul 24, 2006
Hollywood, CA
You need to find out what the max resolution is that your TV is capable of. If it's a 720p TV then you are probably stuck with what you've got - your TV only has that many pixels. If you're not sure, check the manual for your TV, or try Screen Spanning Doctor. If SSD won't let you switch to it, you're probably out of luck...

yippy

macrumors 68020
Mar 14, 2004
Chicago, IL
The screen spanning hack won't do anything and won't work on your Mac anyway.

What you might try is this program.

But first, what is the native resolution of your TV as the computer can't make it go any higher than that. 1280x720 is already 720p HD so technically that could be the max resolution the monitor is capable of.

phatmansays

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 11, 2007
Lancaster, UK
Hey,