Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:08 AM   #1
RaceJunkie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Adding a 2nd monitor iMac

Is there a way to add a 2nd monitor to a new iMac? I have the 2.4 - 24" iMac and would like to add a 19" monitor to check web site compatibility.


Thanks
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:11 AM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Absolutely. Depending on whether your external monitor has a VGA or DVI input you'll need a miniDVI to VGA or miniDVI to DVI adapter, and then a standard VGA or DVI cable.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:15 AM   #3
RaceJunkie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
Absolutely. Depending on whether your external monitor has a VGA or DVI input you'll need a miniDVI to VGA or miniDVI to DVI adapter, and then a standard VGA or DVI cable.
It was hooked to my pc to the built in video. How do i determine what I need? It has the pins on the end of the plug so that would be a vga plug correct?
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:16 AM   #4
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceJunkie View Post
It was hooked to my pc to the built in video. How do i determine what I need? It has the pins on the end of the plug so that would be a vga plug correct?
VGA: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vga
DVI: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:17 AM   #5
RaceJunkie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Looks like this is what I might need?
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...nMore=M9320G/A


thanks
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:18 AM   #6
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceJunkie View Post
Looks like this is what I might need?
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...nMore=M9320G/A


thanks
Yep
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:18 AM   #7
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You want either:

This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-M9321G-M...8477060&sr=8-1

This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-M9320G-M...8477060&sr=8-2

Or This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-Mini-dvi...8477060&sr=8-3
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:20 AM   #8
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
I strongly suggest using DVI.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:27 AM   #9
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I strongly disagree with Eidorian in a particular situation (one that I'm in)

If your monitor has multiple inputs - and you wish to use another HD source with it (PS3, 360 or what not) then I would recommend VGA - because adapters that go from HDMI to DVI are cheap and plenty. But if you use the DVI from your imac - you will need to switch plugs - or buy an expensive switch.

So the VGA is coming from my iMac, and when I switch to the DVI input - it's my PS3. Works nicely.

Honestly - up to 1920 x 1200 resolution - I have yet to see any difference - and believe me, I've looked.

But if you only plan on using one source - or your monitor only has one input - then obviously hit up DVI.

P.S. Edorian - I wouldn't disagree had you not switched Tars on me.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:29 AM   #10
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-TDI-Guy View Post
I strongly disagree with Eidorian in a particular situation (one that I'm in)

If your monitor has multiple inputs - and you wish to use another HD source with it (PS3, 360 or what not) then I would recommend VGA - because adapters that go from HDMI to DVI are cheap and plenty. But if you use the DVI from your imac - you will need to switch plugs - or buy an expensive switch.

So the VGA is coming from my iMac, and when I switch to the DVI input - it's my PS3. Works nicely.

Honestly - up to 1920 x 1200 resolution - I have yet to see any difference - and believe me, I've looked.

But if you only plan on using one source - or your monitor only has one input - then obviously hit up DVI.
It's not fun when you have to deal with clock timing and phase with VGA.

I have preference for my computer over any other device. Text is noticeably fuzzy over VGA as well.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:34 AM   #11
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
How far are you running? Because between 6 foot cables - I can't find any difference. Seriously. And I've had others look too.

I could imagine with either a noisy AD converter / cable - or a very long run - it would be a factor.

I just mention my view - as I like getting twice the usage out of my 2nd monitor - but everyone has different wants and needs.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 12:36 AM   #12
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-TDI-Guy View Post
How far are you running? Because between 6 foot cables - I can't find any difference. Seriously. And I've had others look too.

I could imagine with either a noisy AD converter / cable - or a very long run - it would be a factor.

I just mention my view - as I like getting twice the usage out of my 2nd monitor - but everyone has different wants and needs.
Generic 6 foot DVI and VGA cables galore.

I had so many 20 amp power and VGA cables that I had to ship a box full off to salvage.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24iMac as 2nd monitor for 27imac? 2macman iMac 11 Dec 3, 2010 02:43 PM
What would you buy 27" iMac or 21.5" iMac with a 2nd monitor macintoshse1 iMac 5 Aug 5, 2010 02:38 PM
Adding 2nd Monitor (how?) Jim Bonza MacBook Pro 5 Dec 29, 2009 02:25 PM
Adding a 2nd Display to a 20inch Imac EvilDoc Buying Tips and Advice 15 Jul 10, 2006 04:56 PM
which 2nd monitor to go with the imac? JW8725 Mac Peripherals 8 Mar 2, 2006 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC