Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:08 AM   #1
RaceJunkie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Adding a 2nd monitor iMac

Is there a way to add a 2nd monitor to a new iMac? I have the 2.4 - 24" iMac and would like to add a 19" monitor to check web site compatibility.


Thanks
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:11 AM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Absolutely. Depending on whether your external monitor has a VGA or DVI input you'll need a miniDVI to VGA or miniDVI to DVI adapter, and then a standard VGA or DVI cable.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:15 AM   #3
RaceJunkie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
Absolutely. Depending on whether your external monitor has a VGA or DVI input you'll need a miniDVI to VGA or miniDVI to DVI adapter, and then a standard VGA or DVI cable.
It was hooked to my pc to the built in video. How do i determine what I need? It has the pins on the end of the plug so that would be a vga plug correct?
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:16 AM   #4
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceJunkie View Post
It was hooked to my pc to the built in video. How do i determine what I need? It has the pins on the end of the plug so that would be a vga plug correct?
VGA: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vga
DVI: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:17 AM   #5
RaceJunkie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Looks like this is what I might need?
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...nMore=M9320G/A


thanks
RaceJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:18 AM   #6
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceJunkie View Post
Looks like this is what I might need?
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...nMore=M9320G/A


thanks
Yep
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:18 AM   #7
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You want either:

This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-M9321G-M...8477060&sr=8-1

This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-M9320G-M...8477060&sr=8-2

Or This: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-Mini-dvi...8477060&sr=8-3
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:20 AM   #8
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
I strongly suggest using DVI.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:27 AM   #9
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I strongly disagree with Eidorian in a particular situation (one that I'm in)

If your monitor has multiple inputs - and you wish to use another HD source with it (PS3, 360 or what not) then I would recommend VGA - because adapters that go from HDMI to DVI are cheap and plenty. But if you use the DVI from your imac - you will need to switch plugs - or buy an expensive switch.

So the VGA is coming from my iMac, and when I switch to the DVI input - it's my PS3. Works nicely.

Honestly - up to 1920 x 1200 resolution - I have yet to see any difference - and believe me, I've looked.

But if you only plan on using one source - or your monitor only has one input - then obviously hit up DVI.

P.S. Edorian - I wouldn't disagree had you not switched Tars on me.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:29 AM   #10
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-TDI-Guy View Post
I strongly disagree with Eidorian in a particular situation (one that I'm in)

If your monitor has multiple inputs - and you wish to use another HD source with it (PS3, 360 or what not) then I would recommend VGA - because adapters that go from HDMI to DVI are cheap and plenty. But if you use the DVI from your imac - you will need to switch plugs - or buy an expensive switch.

So the VGA is coming from my iMac, and when I switch to the DVI input - it's my PS3. Works nicely.

Honestly - up to 1920 x 1200 resolution - I have yet to see any difference - and believe me, I've looked.

But if you only plan on using one source - or your monitor only has one input - then obviously hit up DVI.
It's not fun when you have to deal with clock timing and phase with VGA.

I have preference for my computer over any other device. Text is noticeably fuzzy over VGA as well.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:34 AM   #11
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
How far are you running? Because between 6 foot cables - I can't find any difference. Seriously. And I've had others look too.

I could imagine with either a noisy AD converter / cable - or a very long run - it would be a factor.

I just mention my view - as I like getting twice the usage out of my 2nd monitor - but everyone has different wants and needs.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 01:36 AM   #12
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-TDI-Guy View Post
How far are you running? Because between 6 foot cables - I can't find any difference. Seriously. And I've had others look too.

I could imagine with either a noisy AD converter / cable - or a very long run - it would be a factor.

I just mention my view - as I like getting twice the usage out of my 2nd monitor - but everyone has different wants and needs.
Generic 6 foot DVI and VGA cables galore.

I had so many 20 amp power and VGA cables that I had to ship a box full off to salvage.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best 2nd monitor for 27" iMac AppleFan360 iMac 36 Jun 5, 2014 09:21 AM
Adding 2nd monitor to rmbp agaskew MacBook Pro 2 Apr 21, 2014 03:12 PM
Looking for a 2nd Monitor (for iMac) Jimbob 2705 Mac Peripherals 17 Dec 11, 2013 05:18 AM
MacBook Pro + iMac (2nd monitor) + Dell (3rd monitor)? gelgel Mac Peripherals 4 Jul 4, 2013 12:53 PM
Can late 2009 Imac be a 2nd monitor on 2012 Imac? mindquest iMac 14 Apr 11, 2013 01:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC