Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2007, 09:11 AM   #1
claudio64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
How to format a Hard Drive you don't see?

Hello everybody, Merry Christmas.
I have purchased a 250 GB hard disk because my other hard disk is broken. I have a macbook and it was easy to put the hard disk in, but now the problem is that I need to format the disk and install the OS. I can not see the HD when I boot off of the DVD. I see only the DVD. I cannot format a drive if I don't see it. Any suggestion? Anyone knows how to get around this? There is something I need to do before?
Thanks.
Piero
claudio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 09:18 AM   #2
Slip
macrumors 6502a
 
Slip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wiltshire, England
If you go into Disk Utility from the menu when you're booting from the DVD and you should see your disk. Go to Erase and then reformat it as 'Mac OS Extended (Journaled)'
After it's reformatted it should show up as a usable volume to install the OS on
__________________
Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.
SR MacBook|2GHz|4GB RAM|250GB HDD
Slip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 06:51 PM   #3
claudio64
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slip View Post
If you go into Disk Utility from the menu when you're booting from the DVD and you should see your disk. Go to Erase and then reformat it as 'Mac OS Extended (Journaled)'
After it's reformatted it should show up as a usable volume to install the OS on
Hi, thanks. But, this is exactly the problem. I don't see the HD. I only see the DVD. I have no idea why the HD is not there, but it is not there. I cannot initialize it if I don't see it. it is a brand new HD that I just installed. Do you think that there is something else I should do? I am booting off of the dvd with the "c" key pressed and I did go, as you said, into the Disk Utility from the menu when I was booting from the DVD and I did't see the HD.
Regards,
Piero
claudio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 07:06 PM   #4
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Is it the Samsung SpinPoint M5S HM250JI?

In that case it's 50/50 chance you need to download and apply this patch: http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...131&orderNum=1
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 11:07 PM   #5
claudio64
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo View Post
Is it the Samsung SpinPoint M5S HM250JI?

In that case it's 50/50 chance you need to download and apply this patch: http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...131&orderNum=1

NO IT IS A Western Digital SATA Model WD2500BEVS.
DO YOU KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS ONE INSTEAD? THANKS.
PIERO
claudio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2007, 11:08 PM   #6
trainguy77
macrumors 68040
 
trainguy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via AIM to trainguy77 Send a message via MSN to trainguy77 Send a message via Yahoo to trainguy77
Please no caps. But it sounds to me like the drive is not connected correctly or its a dead drive.
trainguy77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2007, 04:36 AM   #7
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by claudio64 View Post
NO IT IS A Western Digital SATA Model WD2500BEVS.
DO YOU KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS ONE INSTEAD? THANKS.
PIERO
Nah, not really...

You could always try to download, burn out and boot from either the diagnostics iso or the tools iso and see if either gets contact with the disk when you run the tests/setup on those, but chances are, like trainguy77 said, it's a dud and needs replacement.
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2007, 09:19 PM   #8
IMcD23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
Send a message via AIM to IMcD23 Send a message via MSN to IMcD23
Hey,

Make sure it is in correctly (take it back out and put it in again). Then, you may have a defective drive so take it back and get a new one. Good luck!

IMcD23
IMcD23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 02:54 PM   #9
claudio64
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMcD23 View Post
Hey,

Make sure it is in correctly (take it back out and put it in again). Then, you may have a defective drive so take it back and get a new one. Good luck!

IMcD23
Hi again, sorry for the caps, I was in bed when writing and didn't mean anything by it.
Anyway, I have uninstalled and installed again the HD in the laptop and the situation doesn't change. The HD doesn't show up on the menu. I will try to download what you guys say and see what happens. Thanks again, the last resort is to send the HD back.......
Regards,
Piero
claudio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 04:37 PM   #10
claudio64
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo View Post
Nah, not really...

You could always try to download, burn out and boot from either the diagnostics iso or the tools iso and see if either gets contact with the disk when you run the tests/setup on those, but chances are, like trainguy77 said, it's a dud and needs replacement.
Hi, I have also bought an external case with usb connection to try format the HD off of another mac.
Do you think that this might work?
I hope so......
Thanks.
claudio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 04:41 PM   #11
Slip
macrumors 6502a
 
Slip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wiltshire, England
Hopefully should, just whether it recognizes it :/
Good luck
__________________
Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.
SR MacBook|2GHz|4GB RAM|250GB HDD
Slip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 06:03 PM   #12
IMcD23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
Send a message via AIM to IMcD23 Send a message via MSN to IMcD23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slip View Post
Hopefully should, just whether it recognizes it :/
Good luck
Well its another mac, so i bet it would
IMcD23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SSD don't want to format old drive charlien OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Apr 7, 2014 09:31 PM
2nd Hard Drive, best format? heisenberg123 MacBook Pro 5 Feb 11, 2014 10:31 AM
Format a hard drive from a dvr Modplod Mac Pro 4 Nov 12, 2013 09:39 PM
Hard drive format help please! im-loving-it Mac Peripherals 16 Jan 31, 2013 05:00 AM
Hard drive will not format/erase? Orange Furball MacBook 4 Jul 31, 2012 04:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC