Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2007, 01:09 PM   #1
camobag
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Macbook can't connect to internet

I have a blackbook (intel core 2 duo) and I can connect to my landlord's wireless network (they have a netgear wgt624) but I can't actually use the web (Safari or Firefox will just "think"). I've tested the diagnostics and it confirms that my mac can connect to the network, but it cannot connect to the internet. The network uses WPA personal and it has a 19-aphanumeric passphrase. Can ANYONE help me??

It may be the firmware...

*Also - would it be possible for me to extend the wireless range (and make it possible to browse the web) if I used my own 2wire wireless modem to connect to the netgear wgt624?
__________________
One man...One way...One desire

Last edited by camobag; Dec 27, 2007 at 01:20 PM.
camobag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2007, 02:46 PM   #2
kajitox
macrumors 6502a
 
kajitox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Is this wireless network working for other people? If the router is plugged in, you can connect to it, but it doesn't necessarily mean that any modem is connected to it, etc.
__________________
retina macbook pro//iphone//ipad mini
kajitox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2007, 05:47 PM   #3
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by camobag View Post
The network uses WPA personal and it has a 19-aphanumeric passphrase. Can ANYONE help me??
Do you have the passphrase?
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 11:47 AM   #4
camobag
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
The wireless network is working for everyone else but me....my wife has a g4 iBook that seems to be surfing the web fine as well as my landlords' pcs.

To answer the other question, yes, I do have the passphrase and I can connect to the network. The problem is is that I can't actually get online.

*Also, my Tivo doesn't seem to be working on the network either...even though I have the wireless adaptor which is supposed to work with WPA encryption.
__________________
One man...One way...One desire
camobag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 01:02 AM   #5
MacinBako
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I can't connect either

I have a similar problem. I'm using a MacBook running OSX.5. I can connect to my WGR614 router to print/file share. No Internet, though.

The other computers on the network (ethernet and wireless) connect, no problem.

I turned off all security features on the network to see if that was the problem - no luck.
MacinBako is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2009, 12:12 PM   #6
Rich26ca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
As am i not sure whats happening really... I have macbook core duo 2.4 2gb @ 1067mhz

my internet was working before but not anymore.

have a D-link 615 router and a windows based PC (MSXP) that is wired to the router and is running fine. hense me writting, lol...

My Mac however is not able to surf.

it can see the router but can't connect to it. can't use 192.168.0.1 to access the router either wired or wireless.

Last edited by Rich26ca; Mar 21, 2009 at 12:19 PM.
Rich26ca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2009, 03:26 PM   #7
ViciousShadow21
macrumors 68020
 
ViciousShadow21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: To your left or right
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich26ca View Post
As am i not sure whats happening really... I have macbook core duo 2.4 2gb @ 1067mhz

my internet was working before but not anymore.

have a D-link 615 router and a windows based PC (MSXP) that is wired to the router and is running fine. hense me writting, lol...

My Mac however is not able to surf.

it can see the router but can't connect to it. can't use 192.168.0.1 to access the router either wired or wireless.
a friend of mine with a D-Link router had this problem over a couple days ago and the only way i found to fix it was to reset the router back to factory settings. there is a paper clip hole on the back of the router that you push down for 10 seconds.
__________________
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz i7 8GB RAM W/27"ACD
Black 16GB iPhone 5
ViciousShadow21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2010, 08:21 AM   #8
relyuc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beijing, China
Is anyone still following this topic and able to help?

I'm using a white Macbook (Intel Core Duo) with OS X.6. Recently my mac stopped finding the Internet despite being connected to wireless networks. I can connect just fine to the networks, but no websurfing.

I thought it was the coffee shops that I was at, but Monday set up my home network running a PPOE through my Airport Express Base Station. I set up the network on this computer, but can't get on the internet. My iPhone, flatmate's computer and my girlfriend's computer (both running Windows) have no problem accessing the internet through said wireless network.

As I said, the problem started prior to setting up this home network... I cannot access the Internet through all other wireless networks I've tried, that is public ones at coffee shops. Thus I'm basically one hundred percent sure the problem is with this computer. Do I have to change something in my mac's network settings for the airport?

Any thoughts? Thanks!
relyuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 01:46 PM   #9
NoAxAxon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Something simple worked

I've been helping a relative with this and have been following this thread for a long time, until I just hit upon the solution.

In our case, at least, at least, the WEP password could look like a HEX number, a decimal number or an alpha password.

We are using a D-Link wireless router and a WEP HEX password. All we had to do is put the $ (dollar sign character) in front of the WEP password when entering it on the MAC.
NoAxAxon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 04:17 PM   #10
bigjobby
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViciousShadow21 View Post
a friend of mine with a D-Link router had this problem over a couple days ago and the only way i found to fix it was to reset the router back to factory settings. there is a paper clip hole on the back of the router that you push down for 10 seconds.
This is what I did and it worked for me. During my investigations before the reset, I found my MBP's DHCP issued IP address was conflicting with another wireless device with a DHCP IP which was kinda weird. There was no warning messages either which was a pain. Did the reset, reconfigured the switch/router and gave the MBP a reserved IP and all's been well since.
bigjobby is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 07:12 PM   #11
afrank11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Problem is same for me with WPA Personal

I have been looking all over for a solution. At home my Mac drops connections frequently and then switches to other available networks automatically. Today, i am visiting for a week and there is no ability to reset someone elses router. It seems pretty weird that every windows machine can work and only the Mac is having trouble. They are using DSL with at Linksys WRT110 router. I have searched the internet high and low. The $ solution does not work with WPA because it is not a hex password. Anyone find another solution that actually fixes the problem? Thanks. I repost if I find one. My problem is I can get access to the router fine. Just no connection to the internet.

Last edited by afrank11; Jun 25, 2010 at 07:13 PM. Reason: forgot to include details about the problem.
afrank11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 01:10 AM   #12
NZMacBoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Unhappy Please help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by afrank11 View Post
I have been looking all over for a solution. At home my Mac drops connections frequently and then switches to other available networks automatically. Today, i am visiting for a week and there is no ability to reset someone elses router. It seems pretty weird that every windows machine can work and only the Mac is having trouble. They are using DSL with at Linksys WRT110 router. I have searched the internet high and low. The $ solution does not work with WPA because it is not a hex password. Anyone find another solution that actually fixes the problem? Thanks. I repost if I find one. My problem is I can get access to the router fine. Just no connection to the internet.
Hi there, I have the exact same problem as described above. Anyone knows the solution to this? My Macbook Pro was connecting to the wireless network fine without issues. I had a bulging battery issue so took it to the Mac retailer and they said it needs a new battery. I bought the new battery and switched on. Since then my MBP can connect to the network all right wirelessly but just can't access the internet. Funny thing is that I even tried the hard wired lan connection and the status said connected, but when I goto browse - I can't access the web. I used the same lan connection on my windows laptop and without changing any settings, it worked straight away. I just can't understand what the issue is with this MBP. It has developed this suddenly and I hope it is just some weird setting, and nothing actually physically wrong.

Can anyone help me please? Can't believe Mac's are so complicated when an issue arises.

Thanks
NZMacBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 12:24 AM   #13
pommehomme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Question iMac FP sees LAN, is supposedly connected but cannot connect to Internet

I am usually pretty good but this one has stumped me. All of a sudden one of my iMac FP with OX 10.4.11 will not connect to the internet. It is connected via built in Ethernet to a powered hub which is then connected to my LAN via Linksys router then Comcast cable modem to internet. All other computers on the network (including those connected to the same powered hub) can connect normally.



Network preferences: "Built-in Ethernet is currently active and has the IP address 192.168.2.180. You are connected to the Internet via Built-in Ethernet."



But I can't connect. Changed the cable from the iMac to the hub: no difference. Both Firefox and Safari say I am not connected.



Suggestions appreciated for further troubleshooting or treatment. Is my iMac dying?



Thanks.
pommehomme is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro won't connect to internet, previously used network Queen of Spades MacBook Pro 14 Mar 19, 2014 01:26 AM
Brand-new Macbook Can't Connect to the Internet. What's Wrong? Pseptember MacBook Pro 12 Jan 27, 2014 02:37 AM
HELP! My Macbook Pro won't connect to the internet... macproretina12 MacBook Pro 8 Jan 7, 2014 02:27 PM
macbook pro shows wireless connect, but no internet Macnut1 OS X 0 Aug 24, 2012 02:11 PM
MacBook Pro will not connect to internet RonRock MacBook Pro 0 Aug 9, 2012 10:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC