Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2008, 04:52 PM   #1
Sundance2007
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
How do I run programs on start up?

I have several programs I installed (like the Gmail email notifier) that should run on start up and be running in the back ground without my having to start them each time I boot. When I installed the program I assumed (I know) this would be taken care of. They ran great till I rebooted but they didn't restart as they should after the system came back up. Did I do something wrong? Click and install were the only options. How do I get this and other programs I want to run on start up to do so?


Thanks
Sundance2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 04:54 PM   #2
GregE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Did you right click on the icon and select Open At Login?
__________________
iPhone 4S Verizon, 32GB, Blk
MacBook Pro unibody, 15.3-inch, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
iPod, 5G, 60GB, Blk - selling soon
GregE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 04:54 PM   #3
siurpeeman
macrumors 603
 
siurpeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the OC
Send a message via AIM to siurpeeman
on the accounts preference pane in the system preferences, click on login items.
__________________
grr...argh...
siurpeeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 11:24 PM   #4
Sundance2007
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
Did you right click on the icon and select Open At Login?

No, because for some unknown (and stupid if you ask me) reason there is no right click function on the selection bar on the laptop (macbook). I was told it is basically a one-click mouse. Nothing happens if I right click. With a USB mouse I do get the right click function so I need to start using a mouse when I can I guess. Thanks, it was right in front of me but hidden.



Steve
Sundance2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 11:27 PM   #5
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
CONTROL-CLICK should give you a right-clickesque function.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 11:27 PM   #6
deadcactus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada
hold 2 fingers on the track pad and then click. thats a right click
deadcactus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2008, 10:54 AM   #7
Sundance2007
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Neither of the above (2 finger or control) work. I tried them and they select the item but I get no menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregE View Post
Did you right click on the icon and select Open At Login?

Also, I have not seen this option in any menu of icons I have right clicked (with a mouse) on.

Last edited by mad jew; Jan 4, 2008 at 07:15 PM. Reason: Please avoid consecutive posts.
Sundance2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2008, 07:17 PM   #8
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
That's strange. Well you can still add Login Items the old fashioned way - through System Preferences. It should be an option in the Accounts pane.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 11:08 AM   #9
jpprice47
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by siurpeeman View Post
on the accounts preference pane in the system preferences, click on login items.
And what version of Mac OSX are you running?
jpprice47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 11:10 AM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpprice47 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by siurpeeman View Post
on the accounts preference pane in the system preferences, click on login items.
And what version of Mac OSX are you running?
3 year old thread. And it doesn't matter. It still works this way.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xcode won't run my programs any more KarlJay iPhone/iPad Programming 6 Nov 14, 2013 12:43 PM
Run Basic Command-line Java Programs in Sandvox jblagden Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 2, 2013 02:23 PM
Is it possible to run Windows programs on Mac OS X? shahrukhraza MacBook Pro 15 Jul 3, 2013 06:09 PM
How do I make programs run off of the SSD of my Fusion drive? JonTheRvelator iMac 1 Jun 4, 2013 02:52 PM
[Resolved] Programs will not start because of QuickTime Orange Furball Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jun 18, 2012 02:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC