Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2008, 05:24 PM   #1
Trajectory
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Earth
Connecting a PowerMac to an LCD TV Display

Hi, I just bought an LG 32" LCD TV (model 32LB9DB). It has 3 HDMI connections on the back, so, I bought a DVI-HDMI cable and connected that to my PowerMac's DVI port (PowerPC G4, 1.75 GB Ram, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro video card) and then to the TV's HDMI port.

I can see my desktop and everything, but, the image quality is very poor no matter what resolution I choose. It looks like the digital signal is being converted to an analog signal before being displayed, so, text is blurry and the overall image looks very poor, not at all like a computer monitor. It looks like a computer image displayed on an analog TV.

I thought that if the TV had digital video input, I would get a 1:1 pixel resolution when attached to my computer, but, I guess not.

Am I doing something wrong with the setup? I've already looked at all the TV's settings, and tried lots of different ones, but, the image quality doesn't improve. Here's the detail about my Display:

ATI Radeon 9000 Pro:
Chipset Model: ATY,RV250
Type: Display
Bus: AGP
Slot: SLOT-1
VRAM (Total): 64 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x4966
Revision ID: 0x0001
ROM Revision: 113-99702-131
Displays:
LG TV:
Resolution: 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Not Supported
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported
Rotation: Supported
Television: Yes
Display:
Status: No display connected

Does the fact that it says "Television: Yes" above mean anything? Is that why the display image is so poor, because the Mac thinks it's a TV and not a digital monitor??

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Trajectory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2008, 10:47 PM   #2
McGiord
macrumors 68040
 
McGiord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dark Castle
I have a MacBook and connect it to my 40" Sony LCD TV via HDMI using the Apple miniDVI to DVI + a DVI to HDMI adadter, and the resolution I get is like a big monitor, I really like it, however my MacBook video board ins't capable to fill the whole screen.

I also have the RCA video adapter and the resolution is good also.

Check on your Mac video setting for details of your settings from your Mac.

I suggest you to try it with another TV set and check if you see a difference.

I think it has to do with your TV and not with your mac. Check your TV pixel size (pitch... I think is what they call it).
________
herb scales

Last edited by McGiord; Jan 30, 2011 at 02:47 AM.
McGiord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2008, 09:22 AM   #3
rich007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Sony LCD to MacBook

Hello McGiord

Your set up sounds exactly like the one I'm trying to get to. I have a MacBook and am trying to connect to a 32" Sony Bravia LCD. I have used a mini-DVI to DVI and then a DVI to HDMI an then into the LCD.

The LCD recognizes Desktop, but the Dock or Menu along the top does not appear. I have tried all sorts of settings on my TV and Mac but no success. Have I missed something obvious?

Thanks
rich007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2008, 12:55 PM   #4
McGiord
macrumors 68040
 
McGiord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dark Castle
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich007 View Post
Hello McGiord

The LCD recognizes Desktop, but the Dock or Menu along the top does not appear. I have tried all sorts of settings on my TV and Mac but no success. Have I missed something obvious?

Thanks
I do see all the Mac Screen on my TV. I have some pics to show you, but I don't know how to add them to this post.

What I noticed is that if I change a setting via System Preferences : Displays Sony TV, like rotating the screen I loose the Top Menu and the Dock, then after I click the Gather Widnows Button I have 2 Settings windows: one called Color TV and other called SONY TV, I believe the Gather Windows button will allow you to obtain the Menu and the Dock.

Also the Arragement tab inside the SONY TV one will allow yoy to define where you want the top Menu if in your MacBook or in the TV, or if you want your Tv to mirror your MacBook screen.

Then use Front Row and watch some good trailers!

If you know how to upload pics, please let me know, thanks
________
vaporite solo

Last edited by McGiord; Jan 30, 2011 at 02:56 AM.
McGiord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 07:06 AM   #5
rich007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
up and running!

Thanks for the advice - it worked a treat and I can now see everything on my LCD!

As far as photos go, the pics i have stored in my iPhoto library all seem to come through no problem on Front Row as well. I didn't mess around with any settings...they were just there in FRont Row to select.

Cheers!
rich007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009, 05:08 PM   #6
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGiord View Post
I loose the Top Menu and the Dock, ts
I had this problem hooking my Macbook Pro up to a Samsung DLP television. Problem was the option "overscan" was checkmarked. Leave the thing unchecked.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	100
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	171462  
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.

Last edited by KingYaba; May 17, 2009 at 05:11 PM. Reason: edit
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD display not working , external display works properly? Not-okay MacBook Pro 2 Dec 23, 2013 03:30 PM
Connecting late 2008 mb pro with dead display to external display issues ezsobre MacBook Pro 1 Sep 28, 2013 08:42 AM
Connecting Mac mini1,1 to iMac(Powermac) screen sharing Lakelife Mac mini 7 Jan 15, 2013 01:01 PM
Connecting LED 24" Cinema Display to Powermac G5. Liquinn PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 17, 2012 12:57 PM
G5 PowerMac lines on LCD Lancer PowerPC Macs 4 Aug 4, 2012 08:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC