Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2008, 07:38 AM   #1
cbrain
macrumors 65816
 
cbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North-East, UK
"Unable to Join the Network" (WPA-PSK)

Hi,

Today I changed my routers encryption from WEP to WPA-PSK.

When I go and select my network in the iPod Touches Wi-Fi settings screen, I get the error "Cannot Join the Network ..." (... is where my SSID is).

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
"Bring on the trumpets!"
Late 2006 iMac 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo
i are MRoogle cat. please you step into MRoogle now.

ToDo: Subscribe again.
cbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 10:16 AM   #2
quicklook2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: lakewood, ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrain View Post
Hi,

Today I changed my routers encryption from WEP to WPA-PSK.

When I go and select my network in the iPod Touches Wi-Fi settings screen, I get the error "Cannot Join the Network ..." (... is where my SSID is).

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.


did you try to shut off everything to reset?

does it still work in wep?
quicklook2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 10:42 AM   #3
J@ffa
macrumors 6502a
 
J@ffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Behind you!
Two options. The first, and most likely, is that the iPod Touch is still trying to connect via WEP and getting borked. What you need to do to test this is go to your network in the list, and tap the little blue button that points to the right. In there, you can see the settings for the network (DNS, etc etc). Hit the 'forget this network' option at the top, confirm, and then try and reconnect to your network. Supply the password, and all should be well.

The second option is that whichever router you're using has an odd implementation of WPA. While unlikely, because it's meant to be a standard, it can happen. The only thing I can suggest to counter that would be to look for a firmware upgrade. If it's any kind of AirPort base station, though, I suggest the first option (which is why I put it first, in any case ). Good luck!
J@ffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 11:01 AM   #4
cbrain
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
cbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North-East, UK
Hi,

Thank you quicklook2 and J@ffa for your replies.

An extra thank you to J@ffa, as it was his suggestion that worked!

Thanks J@ffa!
__________________
"Bring on the trumpets!"
Late 2006 iMac 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo
i are MRoogle cat. please you step into MRoogle now.

ToDo: Subscribe again.
cbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2008, 08:45 PM   #5
RamblingWreck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I also had a problem connecting my Ipod Touch to my Belkin54g even though I was entering the password correctly (used WPA-PSK). It took me a couple of searches to find out that the "Forget Network" key only appears if you have already had a previous successful network connection....

So, I disabled the WPA-PSK and established a connection for about 30 seconds. Then I disconnected, and turned the WPA-PSK security back on in the Belkin54g. Next, I selected the "Forget Network" option, then I restablished connection with the Belkin54g, and HALLAUAH, the darn thing connected !!

I want to thank you folks for your postings. They made my 12 year old daugther VERY HAPPY (the Touch is actually hers...)
RamblingWreck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 05:48 PM   #6
Dialup
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
At last! Have had the exasperating "unable to join network" message when trying to connect to our new wireless home network on the ipod touch for the last 3 weeks...just seen RamblingWreck's post about forgetting the network, and it's worked! Yipeeeee!! So I've registered on this site just to say thanks very much!
Dialup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2009, 04:15 AM   #7
TallTone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
And if none of that works, if your router is using MAC address filtering, remember to add that too... You'll find it in Settings->About->Wifi Address.

Oh yes, and make sure that you don't accidentally enter the Bluetooth address there as they are quite similar
TallTone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 07:15 AM   #8
surcal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
It seems that it could be a hardware problem.I held my iphone touching the antenna of WIFI router, it connected to the router. I was able to use the internet in this position only. Moving away from router's antenna, internet does not works. At leaset now I can do some very urgent works on iphone without GPRS connection.I was not able to use my wifi for last six months. Done everything that was already discussed in all the forums.I am calling it solved only because, I was afraid of future unlocks will not be possible without WIFI. Uptil 3.1.2 "iphone pcsuite" could be used to install ultrasn0w directly through PC. But from 3.1.3 iphone needs to install "AFC2ADD" through cydia, before it can be recognised as a jailbreaked iphone. Atleast WIFI working. This way I can update important cydia updates and apps without having to use GPRS.
surcal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 09:05 AM   #9
mikes63737
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by surcal View Post
It seems that it could be a hardware problem.I held my iphone touching the antenna of WIFI router, it connected to the router. I was able to use the internet in this position only. Moving away from router's antenna, internet does not works. At leaset now I can do some very urgent works on iphone without GPRS connection.I was not able to use my wifi for last six months. Done everything that was already discussed in all the forums.I am calling it solved only because, I was afraid of future unlocks will not be possible without WIFI. Uptil 3.1.2 "iphone pcsuite" could be used to install ultrasn0w directly through PC. But from 3.1.3 iphone needs to install "AFC2ADD" through cydia, before it can be recognised as a jailbreaked iphone. Atleast WIFI working. This way I can update important cydia updates and apps without having to use GPRS.
This was solved almost 2 years ago
mikes63737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 09:18 AM   #10
liamkp
macrumors 68020
 
liamkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Sorry, this is off-topic but how do i get an avatar? I'm pretty sure i qualify for one, just not sure how to get one...
__________________
Soon to be 4G Ipod Touch, Join My Thread on the Subject!!!
liamkp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 04:15 PM   #11
jazzzzdude
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK, South
didn't work for me.

I have the same problem. I've just bought my wife an iPod Touch 3rd G. I entered the MAC address into the MAC filter table on my router and tried to connect by selecting the detected SSID and entering the WPA key. Failed. I then tried the "Other" option and entered the SSID and encryption type manually, then typed in the WPA key. Failed. Then I read this thread and set my router to open. Connected fine. Set router back to WPA-PSK (TKIP), selected network details and selected "Forget network". Rebooted iPod. Tried again by choosing "Other". Failed. I have successfully connected a linux pc, 5 windows laptops, a macbook, a Wii, a PSP and 2 HTC Desires. My WPA key is 18 characters long. Any ideas?
jazzzzdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 05:37 PM   #12
jazzzzdude
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK, South
Fixed

Well I tried it a couple more times and it worked.
jazzzzdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 08:45 PM   #13
Confumbled
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I had the same problem described above, but it wouldn't accept my password. Did the reboot and it accepted the password.

Anybody know or care to explain why it behaves that way?
Confumbled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 11:31 AM   #14
ramosej
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Similar Problem *Fixed and Theory*

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrain View Post
Hi,

Today I changed my routers encryption from WEP to WPA-PSK.

When I go and select my network in the iPod Touches Wi-Fi settings screen, I get the error "Cannot Join the Network ..." (... is where my SSID is).

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
I had the same problem. Where I triple checked the password I was inputting for the WPA2 connection. I continued to get the same error. I eventually set the iPad and Wireless router back to system defaults and tested each connection one step at a time starting from unencrypted to wep to wpa2. When the wireless was unencrypted it worked fine, when I changed the encryption back to WPA2 I used the supper long randomly generated key that I have used before and was proven correct; it was un-able to connect. So to save myself the hassle of retyping that long key in I changed the key to something small and it seemed to fix the issue. My theory is that the iPad might have problems processing long keys.

Your thoughts?
ramosej is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2011, 08:21 PM   #15
Nilam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramosej View Post
I had the same problem. Where I triple checked the password I was inputting for the WPA2 connection. I continued to get the same error. I eventually set the iPad and Wireless router back to system defaults and tested each connection one step at a time starting from unencrypted to wep to wpa2. When the wireless was unencrypted it worked fine, when I changed the encryption back to WPA2 I used the supper long randomly generated key that I have used before and was proven correct; it was un-able to connect. So to save myself the hassle of retyping that long key in I changed the key to something small and it seemed to fix the issue. My theory is that the iPad might have problems processing long keys.

Your thoughts?
Thanks! Apparently the iPhone4 has a limitation on key length. I had precisely your problem. Nothing I tried worked...... Reading your post, I then shortened my key and was able to connect. Apple should fix this and enable stronger encryption/security. Minimally, they should document the issue so as not to frustrate their customers and waste their time.
Nilam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 02:37 PM   #16
dbny9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
With WPA2, Caps vs Lower Case Matters

No limitation on key length in iPhone4

I had the same problems switching my Netgear router from WEP to WPA2. I've had my 26 character hex password on my iPhone4 from the start and used the same for WPA2, so I knew it wasn't a typo. I followed all the instructions above, but nothing worked, so I began debugging from there. I started by setting my router WPA2 password to 12345678. Connected! Then I made it 12345678a. Connected. Then I made it 12345678aB but entered 12345678ab. Unable to join! I switched my 26 character password on the phone to all caps, returned my router to the same password in WPA2, and Connected!

I know from over 30 years of programming mainframes that the hex codes for caps and lower case are different, but I've never seen it make a difference with routers/phones before. Evidently, WPA2 makes use of the difference.
dbny9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 12:24 AM   #17
TwoSim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrain View Post
Hi,

Today I changed my routers encryption from WEP to WPA-PSK.

When I go and select my network in the iPod Touches Wi-Fi settings screen, I get the error "Cannot Join the Network ..." (... is where my SSID is).

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
You can find the ansower here:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=268889

I tried it , and it works!
TwoSim is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Unable to join the network" tobindia iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 16, 2011 05:07 PM
iPhone 3G WiFi "Unable to Join the network (SSID of netowrk)" dannystro527 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 7 May 12, 2011 03:06 AM
"Unable to join the network" jplain iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 9, 2010 08:39 AM
How to fix the "Unable to join a wireless network" problem chidesign MacBook 0 Sep 17, 2008 08:05 AM
"Unable to join the network" wifi problem andyACEcandy iPod touch 8 Jul 25, 2008 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC