Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2008, 04:53 PM   #1
digitaldrip
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Mac Pro Ram on Newegg...

Has anyone purchased Ram for their Mac Pro from newegg without buying from the mac memory section. A few examples includes:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820161675

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134192

(I read through all of the reviews and did not see any Mac Pro comments)


As you can see the Ram not categorized in the Mac section is significantly cheaper. Thank ya!
digitaldrip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 05:02 PM   #2
Templex
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Those aren't FB-DIMMs, which is what the Mac Pro needs.
Templex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 05:22 PM   #3
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
MR Guide to Understanding Intel Mac RAM
MR Guide to Buying RAM

Do yourself a favor and stick with RAM that a reputable seller guarantees is compatible with your model Mac.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 07:35 PM   #4
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
With pictures showing the difference:

http://eshop.macsales.com/Reviews/Fr...s/fbdimms.html

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 07:51 PM   #5
macMonte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I try to wrap my head around what is the best option RAM set-up for my Mac Pro, but if someone could offer me some advice it would be much appreciated. I have 4X512mb in my Mac Pro right now. If I buy 2X2gb of RAM (bringing it to 6GB total), what order should I place them in the two different risers? A1&2, B1&2, A3&4, B3&4.


The Crucial Memory sticks seem to get good reviews on New Egg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148046

...this is the link to the 2X1GB modules, awaiting some reviews for the 2GB's....
macMonte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 08:13 PM   #6
digitaldrip
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Transcend 2GB DDR2 667 $74.99

Dollar for dollar, the transcend ram looks to be the best and is rated well.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820208200
digitaldrip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2008, 08:28 PM   #7
jroad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by macMonte View Post
I try to wrap my head around what is the best option RAM set-up for my Mac Pro, but if someone could offer me some advice it would be much appreciated. I have 4X512mb in my Mac Pro right now. If I buy 2X2gb of RAM (bringing it to 6GB total), what order should I place them in the two different risers? A1&2, B1&2, A3&4, B3&4.


The Crucial Memory sticks seem to get good reviews on New Egg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148046

...this is the link to the 2X1GB modules, awaiting some reviews for the 2GB's....
Here's a Mac Pro Memory Layout Diagram:


I recently ordered some OWC apple qualified Mac Pro ram from macsales.com and the heatsinks looked identical to the stock Apple ram, which was not always the case.
jroad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 09:24 AM   #8
macMonte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
this chart is awesome! thank you. just curious though, from left to right, did you organize the configurations based on best performance? I found my would-be configuration at 6C, is 6A's layout more efficient?
macMonte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 06:05 PM   #9
jroad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I didn't make the chart, but yes the most optimal configurations are on the left.
According to Anantech, "For the most part, there's no benefit to having all four channels populated, but in some rare cases the performance boost can be tremendous."
jroad is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mac pro 3.1 ram only shows 6gb ram... i HAVE INSTALLED 10GB gogul1 Mac Pro 3 May 3, 2014 05:44 AM
RAM guide contradicts Newegg Ajwatuc MacBook Pro 1 Mar 20, 2013 08:44 AM
Another RAM-Buying Thread - NewEgg's "Mac Compatible" vs. Not? astrostu MacBook Pro 6 Nov 26, 2012 01:29 PM
Newegg 16G Ram Rhinoevans MacBook Pro 9 Nov 20, 2012 07:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC