Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games > Console Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2008, 04:15 PM   #1
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Transfer PS3 data to another PS3

So I have bought another PS3 today (a 40GB PAL to my existing 60GB USA), and was wondering what would be the easiest way to copy if possible my user data, my downloads, my purchased PSN games etc.

I assume the 'backup' utility would do it ? but I'm unsure if that will transfer everything to another machine or if the PSN stuff is linked to a specific hardware/machine and if there are any other issues involved with doing this.

Thank you.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 05:39 PM   #2
e²Studios
macrumors 68020
 
e²Studios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Do a backup to a external drive and then restore it to the new machine. This is the only way to ensure that all of your save data goes with you to the new machine.

I know that a few games won't let you copy the save game files and they only work for the account that created them. Make sure that when you setup the new machine that it has the same account names/login names.

Ed
__________________
"Shine Get!"
e²Studios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 05:47 PM   #3
MacRumorUser
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
^ Thanks Ed. Should I setup the PSN account on the console I'm transferring too first or will that be transfered with my backup ?


edit......



OK so it didn't work. Basically went to restore and got the message about a different system and some things wouldn't copy, so I said ok and go ahead anyway.

Basically nothing was really copied from one to the other. No demos, no saves, no downloaded game, no pictures, no accounts...

So I just basically added my two accounts manually, set up PSN account using the sign in to an existing account, and then using the account management feature of PSN I went to ACTIVATE system and activated the new PS3 to allow downloadable content and such.

It's now in the process or re-downloading the 20 games I had purchased from PSN, so I will leave it over night.

Its good to see that it at least (or so it seems initially) to allow you to activate more than one PS3 to play downloaded content, not sure if this is online or offline but hopefully offline too. (With the 360 you had to be online to play downloaded arcade games if using a different 360, which is a pain because I didn't have it connected to LIVE at my apartment, meaning I couldnt play any of my ARCADE games at all other than in demo mode)

Interesting to see that the 40GB PS3 has a different front panel to the 60GB model I have. The chrome bevel around the drive and on the top edge is like a mirror on the 60GB model, and yet on the 40GB its matte and non-reflective. I prefer the 60GB model. Not bothered about the lack of media ports though as I never use them on my 60, and I always thought the door to them on the 60 felt flimsy.

At least now I have a region A and region B - BluRay playback So I no longer have to look for specific region or region-free discs. I can just buy whatever I want which is nice
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh

Last edited by MacRumorUser; Jan 6, 2008 at 07:09 PM.
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:34 AM   #4
jonnyb
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Out of interest, do you find the new 40GB quieter than the 60GB? I know the PS3 is pretty quiet anyway, but I found I could still hear the fans of my 60GB during quiet parts of a BluRay movie.

I was considering swapping if the 40GB is quieter. Supposedly it should be as it has a lesser power consumption and should require the fans so much.

thanks
jonnyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 12:22 PM   #5
MacRumorUser
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
^ All ps3's are quiet but... all get a little louder as they have been on for a while. I can't say I can detect any audible difference between the two though.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 12:32 AM   #6
Steve519
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
even though you already did yours, you can backup with a usb thumbdrive or 2.5 in external hdd. Thats how I did mine, it worked perfectly
__________________
Platform Nation - A community for gamers
Steve519 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 11:08 AM   #7
qwerty5oo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Help a thick Oldie! My original PS3 broke down (laser reader!) and is being picked up tomorrow, I need to transfer all my game saves to another PS3 i bought today.
I went to the menu bar on the orginal machine across to where it shows the saves for each game, and copied them all. i did this for each log in.
Went to my new machine pluggedin the USB pen but where do I get the option to copy in the saves??
Or I`m I doing this wrong? is there another way??
Help ASAP please as they come to take it away sooooon.
qwerty5oo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 11:49 AM   #8
2nyRiggz
macrumors 603
 
2nyRiggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
Send a message via AIM to 2nyRiggz
Did you use the backup manager in the PS3 settings section? If you used that it should handle everything for you....backs up everything on a external. Plug in your external over to your new PS3 and use the backup utility again to restore.

Let me know how that works out.


Bless
__________________
I take everything to Jah in prayer
2ny, do something righteous with your life..
2nyRiggz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:16 PM   #9
qwerty5oo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Ok deleted everything, photos, music etc. except my games saves, tried to back up onto a 2gig usb, but it said not enough memory, and looks like I need a 4gb card to fit everything on??? Is there another way, or do i have too take my laptop and connect it usb to usb and try again????
thanks any help welcome.
qwerty5oo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 05:07 PM   #10
qwerty5oo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Ok took all my music off my N95 and hook it up to PS3 but 1 hour 42min to transfer???? back up???
qwerty5oo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2009, 11:21 AM   #11
CK197
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
transfer

with the new updated available you can transfer all of your information from one PS3 to another PS3 by hooking them up with a Ethernet cable. this option is available under system settings. I think you have to turn them both off - hook them up and turn them on. then set one to send and one to receive.
CK197 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2009, 11:24 AM   #12
CK197
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
this option transfers everything - all clears all of the information off of your old PS3
CK197 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2010, 12:37 PM   #13
ngenerator
macrumors 68000
 
ngenerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USG Ishimura
Sorry for the necro, but I figured I'd rather post in here compared to making a new thread.

It took mine about 1 hour 35 minutes to transfer all my old data from my 250GB MGS4LE PS3 to my new 120GB PS3 Slim. It was so annoying, and I unfortunately was still stuck with at least 50GB "used" by some unknown item. I only have a few purchased PSone games and demos, so I figured I'd start fresh after just transferring my saves to an external HD. The only protected saves were for Assassin's Creed 2 and Motorstorm: Pacific Rift, neither of which will take too long to restart the game and play to catch up.

After the data transfer, I just swapped the 120GB out of the slim for the 250GB WD drive I had in the MGS4 fat PS3 (I have no idea why they only shipped those with 40GB drives, I'd never survive!). I'm just redownloading all my purchases while I'm at work and the PSthree is running at home. As a side note, i'm freaking out because I just started reading threads from people whose Slims have been overheating, and I don't want anything bad to happen while i'm 6.5 hours away from being home

I guess the point or issue of my thread would be this: Why on earth does Sony require us to format the drive when we install a new one in the PS3? I would understand if it was a brand new drive, but why do they just not work when you just want to swap a hard drive out for a larger one with all your original saves?

I'm just lucky that my Fallout 3 saves are not copy protected. That would have been enough for me to just say screw it and return the Slim.
__________________
4 // Itchy. Tasty.
ngenerator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 03:51 PM   #14
aygie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngenerator View Post
Sorry for the necro, but I figured I'd rather post in here compared to making a new thread.

It took mine about 1 hour 35 minutes to transfer all my old data from my 250GB MGS4LE PS3 to my new 120GB PS3 Slim. It was so annoying, and I unfortunately was still stuck with at least 50GB "used" by some unknown item. I only have a few purchased PSone games and demos, so I figured I'd start fresh after just transferring my saves to an external HD. The only protected saves were for Assassin's Creed 2 and Motorstorm: Pacific Rift, neither of which will take too long to restart the game and play to catch up.

After the data transfer, I just swapped the 120GB out of the slim for the 250GB WD drive I had in the MGS4 fat PS3 (I have no idea why they only shipped those with 40GB drives, I'd never survive!). I'm just redownloading all my purchases while I'm at work and the PSthree is running at home. As a side note, i'm freaking out because I just started reading threads from people whose Slims have been overheating, and I don't want anything bad to happen while i'm 6.5 hours away from being home

I guess the point or issue of my thread would be this: Why on earth does Sony require us to format the drive when we install a new one in the PS3? I would understand if it was a brand new drive, but why do they just not work when you just want to swap a hard drive out for a larger one with all your original saves?

I'm just lucky that my Fallout 3 saves are not copy protected. That would have been enough for me to just say screw it and return the Slim.
So that people can't put a shed load of games on the HDD and then sell it on ebay would be my guess.

Last edited by aygie; Jan 18, 2010 at 03:59 PM.
aygie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 10:45 PM   #15
barbs55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Hi I just transfered ps3 saves from my cousins ps3 for final fantasy 13. (51 hours in..)

and i got my saves on there. and i can play the game from my save. but since i didn't create teh save on this ps3 it wont let my override the file with a new save when playing on the transfered save file...

help!!! i'm so far in.. i can't restart now... i just caaant. heelp
barbs55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 01:00 PM   #16
aygie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbs55 View Post
Hi I just transfered ps3 saves from my cousins ps3 for final fantasy 13. (51 hours in..)

and i got my saves on there. and i can play the game from my save. but since i didn't create teh save on this ps3 it wont let my override the file with a new save when playing on the transfered save file...

help!!! i'm so far in.. i can't restart now... i just caaant. heelp
Can't you just save under a new save slot?
aygie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2011, 07:56 PM   #17
iPetty14
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
PS3 Data Transfer

When you transfer the data from one PlayStation to another will it delete existing files on the PlayStation you are trying to load the data to? Or will that stay on their?
iPetty14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 11:27 AM   #18
MrBlaze
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
This might help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
So I have bought another PS3 today (a 40GB PAL to my existing 60GB USA), and was wondering what would be the easiest way to copy if possible my user data, my downloads, my purchased PSN games etc.

I assume the 'backup' utility would do it ? but I'm unsure if that will transfer everything to another machine or if the PSN stuff is linked to a specific hardware/machine and if there are any other issues involved with doing this.

Thank you.
try this post out it tells you how to copy from PS3 to PS3

http://www.webanswers.com/games/video-games/ps3-6afdf6
MrBlaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 06:03 PM   #19
kuebby
macrumors 68000
 
kuebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orange County
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPetty14 View Post
When you transfer the data from one PlayStation to another will it delete existing files on the PlayStation you are trying to load the data to? Or will that stay on their?
You can individually load saves from your external drive to your PS3 but if you format the drive and restore it with your backup then obviously everything on the internal drive will be deleted.
__________________
Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.
2.3 i7 rMBP / 32GB iPhone 5 / 160GB 7G iPod classic / 2G Shuffle
kuebby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 03:35 PM   #20
jjq224
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Here's a question - I am going to upgrade my son's PS3 hard drive, but know that a lot of the stuff he currently has cannot be copied.

I have a shell that allows you to take an internal HD and turn it into an external USB drive. Can I take the original out, put it in the shell, copy the entire drive to my iMac, then put the new drive in the shell and copy everything back? Theoretically that should work - right?

Thanks!
__________________
In a world without walls and fences - who needs windows and gates?!
jjq224 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 11:29 PM   #21
ADAMDASHNER
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
My 160 GB PS3 was somehow exposed to water and I had to tear it open to remove the DVD disc and hard drive.

Assuming I can use my Apricorn Drivewire to get the data from the old HD transferred to a FAT32 thumb drive, will it be a simple matter of copying the data to my new 320 GB system?
ADAMDASHNER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 02:32 PM   #22
MacRumorUser
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADAMDASHNER View Post
My 160 GB PS3 was somehow exposed to water and I had to tear it open to remove the DVD disc and hard drive.

Assuming I can use my Apricorn Drivewire to get the data from the old HD transferred to a FAT32 thumb drive, will it be a simple matter of copying the data to my new 320 GB system?

Make sure your new PS3 has same console name n settings as the last their wise it won't work.




Holy thread ressurection - this is over 4 years old! :-)
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 05:50 PM   #23
ADAMDASHNER
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
transfer

thank you again "macrumoruser"

system name was hathor, except for wallpaper/font (classic) i think all settings were default hdmi.

AdamD
ADAMDASHNER is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games > Console Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Last of Us - PS3 SilentPanda Console Games 37 Oct 15, 2013 09:01 AM
Must Have PS3 Games? malman89 Console Games 37 Jul 25, 2012 11:05 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC