Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2008, 07:23 PM   #1
jcs1088
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
upgrade iMac Processor

I got leopard for christmas and i was going to install it into my iMac but come to find out i don't meet system requirements. I have a G4 flat panel iMac w/ 800 MHz and 256 RAM. Leopard needs 867MHz and 512 RAM. I was able to find the ram on OWC but when it comes to the processor i'm culeless. Does anyone have any idea where i can find a processor.
jcs1088 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 07:25 PM   #2
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Non-upgradable. Sorry. However, you likely can still get by with Leopard, many others have (hopefully others will chime in with direct experience). It's not an "absolute" barrier, but YMMV. RAM definitely is a more critical issue, I'd opt for at least 1GB.
__________________

JNB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 07:25 PM   #3
wyatt23
macrumors 6502a
 
wyatt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Send a message via AIM to wyatt23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcs1088 View Post
I got leopard for christmas and i was going to install it into my iMac but come to find out i don't meet system requirements. I have a G4 flat panel iMac w/ 800 MHz and 256 RAM. Leopard needs 867MHz and 512 RAM. I was able to find the ram on OWC but when it comes to the processor i'm culeless. Does anyone have any idea where i can find a processor.
you don't technically need to upgrade your processor. i've read about a hack that will allow you to change a setting in the leopard install that will check for speed of the computer. You can actually change 867 to something lower and leopard will install onto any mac.

i'll try to get on that link.
wyatt23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 07:30 PM   #4
wyatt23
macrumors 6502a
 
wyatt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Send a message via AIM to wyatt23
this isn't exactly the link that i found, but it looks like it could be fine.

http://groups.google.com/group/g3-5-...ca88eaf7ace2f7
wyatt23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 07:46 PM   #5
Rustman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
This really wouldn't be worth installing unless you plan on installing more RAM. I've got an old G4 that has 1.25GB of RAM and even Tiger runs just adequately on it. As soon as I start web browsing on it, Flash sites drag it to a crawl.

Even if you managed to install Leopard you wouldn't be able to do anything worthwhile with it without wanting to slit your own wrists.
__________________
Proud new owner of a 24" 2.4GHz Alu iMac.
Rustman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 08:16 PM   #6
jcs1088
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt23 View Post
this isn't exactly the link that i found, but it looks like it could be fine.

http://groups.google.com/group/g3-5-...ca88eaf7ace2f7
thanks a lot, i'll get it a try
jcs1088 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 07:31 PM   #7
Cdmphoenix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I want a processor upgrade for my g4 too Daystar used to offer a 1.92 upgrade for the 1.0 and 1.25 ghz models and a 1.35 for the 700 and 800 mhz but they don't anymore which sucks. They might as well offer it some people would do it. Leopard runs well on my 1.0 ghz but thats within their requirements. Good luck. Also the VRAM on the g4's sucks; when I use the desktop changer the menu bar has this glitch and gets pixelated for a few seconds but oh well.
Cdmphoenix is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Processor upgrade? Justin098 MacBook 11 Nov 30, 2013 04:19 PM
Can i upgrade to this processor? ProcyonArts Mac Pro 4 May 5, 2013 05:37 AM
iMac - processor or GPU upgrade? modula iMac 3 Jul 19, 2012 11:39 AM
imac mobile processor upgrade? roboko Mac Basics and Help 7 Jul 15, 2012 06:56 PM
Can i upgrade my processor ?? cerisk MacBook Pro 9 Jul 10, 2012 06:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC