Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2008, 12:23 AM   #1
SoLibertyDies
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Brain-dead iBook

Hey guys, I upgraded my first G3 iBook the other day and just got my tiger install dvd yesterday. I upgraded the DVD drive and the Harddrive and everything seems to have gone smoothly, so lets first assume I didn't screw that part up.

When I attempt to boot from the tiger disc and install, it shows the disc as bootable in the options, but when I hit the arrow to continue, it just refreshes the page and the dvd drive spins like crazy for a few seconds.

sigh, I probably got a bum drive.

or I screwed up.

or, you guys can help me?
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G

Last edited by SoLibertyDies; Jan 13, 2008 at 12:29 AM.
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 09:43 AM   #2
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Did you format the drive first before the install of tiger?
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 07:23 PM   #3
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow View Post
Did you format the drive first before the install of tiger?
Well, no...

How does one format the drive in this situation? do I have to put it in an external enclosure to do so? the old HD was bad btw.

When I put in the new HD in my MBP and upgraded to Leopard it gave me a disk utility if I remember correctly.
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 09:38 PM   #4
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoLibertyDies View Post
Well, no...

How does one format the drive in this situation? do I have to put it in an external enclosure to do so? the old HD was bad btw.

When I put in the new HD in my MBP and upgraded to Leopard it gave me a disk utility if I remember correctly.

Well when you put in the new drive you have to format it. You can do it either way. If you installed it in your machine you need to install the OS CD. I think you have to hold down the "C" key on boot up. Then you chose utility and go to disk utility and chose erase and chose on Volume Format (Mac OS Extended Journaled). Then after that's done install the OS.
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 09:41 PM   #5
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow View Post
Well when you put in the new drive you have to format it. You can do it either way. If you installed it in your machine you need to install the OS CD. I think you have to hold down the "C" key on boot up. Then you chose utility and go to disk utility and chose erase and chose on Volume Format (Mac OS Extended Journaled). Then after that's done install the OS.
See that's my problem, I hold down C and it doesn't boot to the CD, it just goes to the screen as if I'd held down option, and when I select the OS DVD, it Refreshes and doesn't start the utility.
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2008, 09:45 PM   #6
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Are you sure the drive you installed was a DVD drive. Also you do know you can use target mode to install it on that machine if the DVD is not working correctly..

Here is some info on target mode.
http://biochemistry.ucsf.edu/~tech/S...tdiskmode.html
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 05:24 AM   #7
2nyRiggz
macrumors 603
 
2nyRiggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
Send a message via AIM to 2nyRiggz
Target Disk Mode might be your best bet if the other option isn't working.

You said the Leopard Disk worked on your MBP....try formatting it with that disk...it could be the Tiger install disk.



Bless
__________________
I take everything to Jah in prayer
2ny, do something righteous with your life..
2nyRiggz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 08:20 AM   #8
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
At this point target mode let me format the drive, but when I try to use target mode to install the Tiger DVD it just does the same thing it did in the iBook's DVD drive.

could it be something with the disc? it seems to read fine
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 10:57 AM   #9
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoLibertyDies View Post
At this point target mode let me format the drive, but when I try to use target mode to install the Tiger DVD it just does the same thing it did in the iBook's DVD drive.

could it be something with the disc? it seems to read fine
It did it when you tried to install it from the host machine??? What you need to do is setup target mode and install the DVD in the Host machine and install it from there.

So let say the Host machine is a iMac (the tiger DVD should be in there) and the target machine is the iBook (no DVD installed). Then from the iMac install tiger on the iBooks drive that shows up on installation.
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 06:37 PM   #10
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow View Post
It did it when you tried to install it from the host machine??? What you need to do is setup target mode and install the DVD in the Host machine and install it from there.

So let say the Host machine is a iMac (the tiger DVD should be in there) and the target machine is the iBook (no DVD installed). Then from the iMac install tiger on the iBooks drive that shows up on installation.
The unfortunate thing is that the host machine is my MacBook Pro, and the Tiger DVD says it can not be installed on this computer, and won't go any further.

frustration...thank you for helping out though, what do you think?
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 10:42 PM   #11
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoLibertyDies View Post
The unfortunate thing is that the host machine is my MacBook Pro, and the Tiger DVD says it can not be installed on this computer, and won't go any further.

frustration...thank you for helping out though, what do you think?
Do you have another PPC machine you can use to do this install. As I see one in your signature.
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2008, 11:11 PM   #12
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow View Post
Do you have another PPC machine you can use to do this install. As I see one in your signature.
I have a clamshell but they don't have firewire unfortunately.

just a string of bad luck.

my girlfriend has a PBG4 but she's on an overseas trip for a few months.

annnnd unfortunately all of my other friends are either die hard PC guys, or have an intel.

Oddly enough it says DVD-ROM on the installed drive in the iBook.

maybe my library has an emac or two...


Ps- any way to mod the disc and reburn it to bypass the error message in the MBP? or is that not plausible?
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 06:28 AM   #13
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
okay so I started off kidding but desperation drove me to the local library.

2 intel macminis, which help me not at all.

any other ideas before I downgrade my harddrive back to the 10G Panther HD?
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:25 PM   #14
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Do you have any friends that can help you out. Sh** if you really in a jam you can mail it to me and I'll fix it for you. (as long as you pay shipping). Oh have to tried your local apple store to see if they can do anything for you...
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 05:45 AM   #15
SoLibertyDies
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
So, just an update.

I realize today that I had taken the 512 RAM chip out for my clamshell.

so it was trying to install from a DVD on say, 64mb RAM.

which is where our problem was.

annnnnd now I feel dumb, as I watch my install finish.

thanks for all the help reflow! and for tiger too!

__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:46 AM   #16
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoLibertyDies View Post
So, just an update.

I realize today that I had taken the 512 RAM chip out for my clamshell.

so it was trying to install from a DVD on say, 64mb RAM.

which is where our problem was.

annnnnd now I feel dumb, as I watch my install finish.

thanks for all the help reflow! and for tiger too!


Great I'm glad you got it worked out.
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5BY5 Brain Game Released - Tease your brain with game logic like Suduko + Boggle Isotope 244 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 May 2, 2014 10:36 AM
5BY5 Brain Game Pro Released - Tease your brain with game logic like Suduko + Boggle Isotope 244 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 2, 2014 10:29 AM
5BY5 Brain Game - Tease your brain with game logic like Suduko mixed with Boggle Isotope 244 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 4 Mar 23, 2014 08:53 AM
iBook G4 Torx screw | Airport Problem | Dead Hard Drive rjcalifornia PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 20, 2013 12:37 AM
ibook G4 (dead monitor) transfer to MBP wadada MacBook Pro 10 Oct 19, 2012 07:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC