Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ScratchyMoose

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 13, 2008
London
Hi,

I'm trying to decide between the octo 2.8 and 3.0. By and large the only apps that i run are photoshop and lightroom. I'm a photographer, and for me there isn't much else that would take up the computer's time / resources.

While i've been reading avidly how there might not be much difference in speed running photoshop on the 2.8 octo or the 3.0 (as the limiters wouldn't be with processor speed), i've not seen anything about Lightroom. Funnily enough, it's lightroom which seems to be the bottle neck in my workflow, primarily when processing the RAW files, and secondarily when generating the previews / thumbs. I've only got a dual G5, and at these times the processors are running at full speed.

Does anyone know if Lightroom can take advantage of all the cores in the new Mac? The price difference between the two models is the same as the price of the raid card. So i was thinking of the 2.8 + RAID, instead of the 3.0 without ... good idea i think for PS, but a good idea for Lightroom?

Thanks for any of your thoughts.

akm3

macrumors 68020
Nov 15, 2007
Hi,

I'm trying to decide between the octo 2.8 and 3.0. By and large the only apps that i run are photoshop and lightroom. I'm a photographer, and for me there isn't much else that would take up the computer's time / resources.

While i've been reading avidly how there might not be much difference in speed running photoshop on the 2.8 octo or the 3.0 (as the limiters wouldn't be with processor speed), i've not seen anything about Lightroom. Funnily enough, it's lightroom which seems to be the bottle neck in my workflow, primarily when processing the RAW files, and secondarily when generating the previews / thumbs. I've only got a dual G5, and at these times the processors are running at full speed.