Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2008, 05:43 PM   #1
iW00t
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
Macbook Air: "Intel GMA X3100 graphics processor with 144MB of DDR2 SDRAM shared...."

Wow, this is making it such a wonderful Powerbook G4 replacement.

Tell me why is the Macbook Air so wonderful again? For one thing I know that dante guy cannot even use it to show off his creations!
iW00t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:11 PM   #2
speakerwizard
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
if it doesnt suit your need dont buy it. for some people its perfect, its not exactly suitable for say gaming anyway because they need a disk inserted. I think its cool, ahead of the times for some people and a sign of the directing all notebooks will take. Im glad to see the back of optical media i only hope blue ray etc follows.
__________________
mac pro octo-core, 10GB, 5.25TB, 8800GT, 30"acd
iphone 3G, Macbook pro C2D
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:13 PM   #3
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
IN all honesty what were you expecting in a thin MB?
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:14 PM   #4
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
How much video ram do you need to check your emails and browse the web, use office, iwork etc...

For what the ultra-portable is designed to do, the gpu is more than sufficient.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:16 PM   #5
Schmoe0013
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Schmoe0013
yeah, this is not a gaming laptop, heh.

i could see myself doing keynote / powerpoint and reports on this thing. very nice. just not the price
Schmoe0013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:20 PM   #6
Locker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Send a message via MSN to Locker
It was obviously going to be integrated, how would they seriously fit a dedicated graphics card into that thing!? And as far as integrated goes, this one isn't bad. I did notice The Sims 2 icon in the downloads stack of one of the demo machines, if it can run that okay on low settings, it exceeds what I'd expect from such an incredibly small laptop.
Locker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:20 PM   #7
bocomo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York
it is kind of a shame though, i do presentations/demos on photoshop and illustrator and could use some decent non-shared memory

i'm still very excited to see this thing
__________________
[clever pop culture quote here]
bocomo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:56 PM   #8
hippo206
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I wonder if there is going to be heat issues.
__________________
i7 27"imac | iPhone 6+ 128GB | JP love song (Kewick)
hippo206 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:05 PM   #9
thies
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
while I'd love a 13" laptop with a dedicated GPU I didnt really believe this to ship with one. Clinging to my delusional hope that a future macbook will reintroduce dedicated GPUs.
thies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:06 PM   #10
portent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
IN all honesty what were you expecting in a thin MB?
IN all honesty, a lot of us weren't expecting "a thin MB." We were expecting something with Pro features that was maybe a little smaller than a regular MacBook.

You know, like the 12" PowerBook.
portent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:23 PM   #11
iW00t
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
IN all honesty what were you expecting in a thin MB?
Who said it is a thin MB? It is a thin MBP with its AL casing.

You know, AL = Pro?
iW00t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:27 PM   #12
macjonny1
macrumors 6502a
 
macjonny1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
You know what is laughable is that they are selling it with Aperture pre-installed as an upgrade. Now that is just robbery. That Air will run Aperture like molasses. It's even too slow on the 17" MBPs.
__________________
MacLOL
macjonny1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:28 PM   #13
fistful
macrumors 6502a
 
fistful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Socan
Quote:
Originally Posted by iW00t View Post
Who said it is a thin MB? It is a thin MBP with its AL casing.

You know, AL = Pro?
Oh right, just like the iMac...
fistful is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:32 PM   #14
juanm
macrumors 65816
 
juanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Send a message via MSN to juanm Send a message via Skype™ to juanm
Quote:
Originally Posted by iW00t View Post
Who said it is a thin MB? It is a thin MBP with its AL casing.

You know, AL = Pro?
Not anymore. look at the iMac or even the Mac Mini. Those days are gone.
The MBA is in another category. A MacBook can be your main machine. A MacBook Air cannot, unless you have very very specific needs. It complements nicely an iMac or a Mac Pro, though.
juanm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:46 PM   #15
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Yeah I'm not much a fan of the MBA but I was never expecting any sort of power (moreover a dedicated GPU) to actually come out of the deal.
__________________
iPhone 6 128GB
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/120GB SSD/750GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:50 PM   #16
CalMin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Moro View Post
The MBA is in another category. A MacBook can be your main machine. A MacBook Air cannot, unless you have very very specific needs. It complements nicely an iMac or a Mac Pro, though.
Actually these are wise words indeed. Apple has compromised on all the things that you can do IF you have another Mac, but generally don't need when you're on the road.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2008, 08:44 PM   #17
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by iW00t View Post
Who said it is a thin MB? It is a thin MBP with its AL casing.

You know, AL = Pro?
Um, how is it more like a MBP than a MB? It doesn't have a dedicated GPU (doesn't need one anyway for its purpose), 13.3" screen, MacBook keyboard etc.

It is a pro laptop - designed for professionals on the go, business people on an aeroplane etc.

I don't think they could fit anything better into the size of the damn thing anyway.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 8
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 03:44 AM   #18
samcan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Moro View Post
The MBA is in another category. A MacBook can be your main machine. A MacBook Air cannot, unless you have very very specific needs. It complements nicely an iMac or a Mac Pro, though.
I completely agree. The MBA will be my first Mac since 1993 and I plan on using it to be the remote computer that I take to my classes and to the library.

Aside from the price, the Macbook Air is ideally suited for students (I'm trying to look at its few limitations as positives)...
1) Can't really play games so that helps limit distraction
2) Mono speaker so not going to use it as a stereo while studying
3) Fits into a messenger bag already stuffed with books.
4) 5hr battery life will keep you near power source... such as the library.
5) Boot camp => One Note, my best friend

If all goes well with the MBA I'll look into replacing my main PC somewhere when the Mac Pro gets its next update or if a Mac tower is released, so not in the near future.
samcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 04:36 AM   #19
iW00t
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
Actually these are wise words indeed. Apple has compromised on all the things that you can do IF you have another Mac, but generally don't need when you're on the road.
Still, I will really appreciate it if I can at least have the option of bringing extra batteries.
iW00t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2008, 12:23 PM   #20
CalMin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iW00t View Post
Still, I will really appreciate it if I can at least have the option of bringing extra batteries.
Well, options are good, but in 4 years of PowerBook ownership, I have never changed my battery on the go. It's one of those things that I think I would like to do, but, never have a spare battery charged when I need it. Same thing goes goes for my Vista work laptop.

This is individual of course, but power outlets are everywhere these days. And on flights longer than 5 hours, I rarely need to actually use the computer that long. Besides, you can't open a MacBook Air in a coach seat and if you're flying business class, you get a power dongle anyway!
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2008, 12:34 PM   #21
ahaxton
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
The one time I actually have played computer games was a trial of World of Warcraft. Worked fine on my ibook g4 lol. I imagine if I want to play it again for some reason it'll work fine on my MacBook air. If you are hardcore computer gaming I think a machine made for that would be better.
ahaxton is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an Intel "K" processor in late 2013 Haswell iMac? CompanionCube iMac 39 May 30, 2014 04:50 AM
iPad: Sound and graphics glitches playing "Device 6" on iPad Air kidwei iPad 2 Nov 2, 2013 01:32 AM
Is it worth upgrading to Intel Core i7 on the MacBook Air 13"? Kacper244 MacBook Air 6 Jul 1, 2013 12:50 AM
Configuration for 27" iMac? Processor or Graphics card? cpb1231 iMac 11 Feb 23, 2013 11:15 PM
Will the macbook pro 13" with Intel HD 4000 graphics be able to play Diablo 3? mibrin MacBook Pro 15 Jun 13, 2012 04:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC