Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:13 AM   #1
hobbbz
macrumors 6502a
 
hobbbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Will running an external monitor slow the MBA?

Since it has built in graphics, will running a 23" ACD slow the rest of the computer? I'm thinking about Photoshop and Flash here. My work computer is a 15" MBP at 2.0 Ghz and I think a drop to 1.6 Ghz wouldn't be so bad if I could use a separate monitor and not see anymore of a performance drop.
__________________
If I'd asked my customers what they wanted they would've said a faster horse - Henry Ford
hobbbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2008, 08:46 AM   #2
wentwj
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I doubt it. I'm using a MacBook with integrated graphics and using a 19" external monitor with absolute no noticeable drop in performance at all.

The MacBook Air may be underpowered for it's price, but it's still not just a toy. It should be able to run Photoshop and Flash, albeit not as well as say a MBP, but obviously you're looking for something in terms of portability.

That said, the machine is probably not designed to sit on a desk most of it's life hooked up to an external monitor. If you don't need the portability of it, look elsewhere. If you really need something that thin, then it's a great device.

Apple's tech specs on the device has this to say about external monitors:

"Extended desktop and video mirroring: Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 1920 by 1200 pixels on an external display, both at millions of colors"

The resolution on a 23" ACD is exactly 1920x1200, so you should be fine. Again, don't get the machine if you don't need the portability. I'm already sick of people complaining about the MBA, and I'll have no sympathy on anyone who doesn't understand it, gets this as their primary computer and then complain when it doesn't cut it powerwise. It's a capable machine, but if you need heavy lifting in CPU power, it's not fit as a primary machine.
wentwj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2008, 05:35 PM   #3
hobbbz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hobbbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Yeah I see your point(s)

I may never use the MBA with an external monitor (I don't have one anyway) but I just wondered what the experience would be like. I know Flash is almost unbearable without a second monitor. My plan is to get the MBA for browsing and for if i need to do some quick light work, and an iMac for if i need to do real work.
__________________
If I'd asked my customers what they wanted they would've said a faster horse - Henry Ford
hobbbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 12:15 PM   #4
michaelj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Yes, it does

I have an MB Air, connected to a Apple 20" display.

With the external display connected, the wireless traffic slows to crawl. So slow that file shares behave erratically and even display of apple.com takes a minute.

Why? I have no clue, but it does. Remove the external display , all is perfect. Plug it in again, network traffic slow.

That said, the rest of the system works fine with the display, leading me to suspect a bug of some kind rather than a fundamental issue.
michaelj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 12:17 PM   #5
mctheriot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: McHenry, IL
Send a message via AIM to mctheriot
That sounds weird! Just for the heck of it, did you try changing channels on your wireless?

I run a 20" display without any issues.

Mark

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelj View Post
I have an MB Air, connected to a Apple 20" display.

With the external display connected, the wireless traffic slows to crawl. So slow that file shares behave erratically and even display of apple.com takes a minute.

Why? I have no clue, but it does. Remove the external display , all is perfect. Plug it in again, network traffic slow.

That said, the rest of the system works fine with the display, leading me to suspect a bug of some kind rather than a fundamental issue.
__________________
New Mac Convert as of Sept '07!
MacPro - iPad - iPhone - Time Capsule - Apple TV
mctheriot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 12:27 PM   #6
ProPedderKustom
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I'm pushing a 52" HDTV as my monitor and NO issues or slowing whatsoever. If you have issues with running an external monitor, call Apple Care because it should not interfere with the performance of your MBA.
ProPedderKustom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 05:52 PM   #7
swedefish
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have no issues with slowing. However, hooking the MBA up to my 20" ACD sends the fans crazy. Within minutes they will begin running at full speed. I have a feeling this issue can be fixed through future firmware updates as the computer still runs relatively cool.
__________________
MBP 15" high res (Late 2011) | iPad rMini 32 GB LTE | iPhone 4 8 GB | iPad 1 32 GB WiFi | PB G4 15" (2004)

Last edited by swedefish; Mar 2, 2008 at 05:53 PM. Reason: spelling
swedefish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 06:17 PM   #8
ClassicBean
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torontoland
I can't speak for the Air, but try running the RSS Visualizer screensaver on your MacBook while hooked up to an external monitor. You'll notice a definite slowdown. That said, most other non-video tasks should be problematic.
__________________
Words for sale at LewinCreative.com.
ClassicBean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2008, 01:59 AM   #9
michaelj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thumbs up Fixed

@mctheriot Thanks a lot.

I changed the wireless channel and all is well. Linksys WRTG54G was on channel 13, now on channel 3.

Strange. I had identical physical setup with my Macbook Pro and no issues at all.

Anyway, thanks a lot.
michaelj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2008, 09:56 PM   #10
codingmonkey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I'm planning on getting a MacBook myself and I'm going to be working with an external monitor spanning the desktop across both the MacBook and the external monitor. Just to confirm, there will be no slow down (i.e. the effects will not be slower, etc) with the MacBook at 1280x800 and the external monitor at 1280x1024. This will be the new MacBooks with the Intel GMA X3100 and the 2.4 GHz Penryn processor. Thanks!
codingmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2008, 10:12 PM   #11
raremage
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelj View Post
I have an MB Air, connected to a Apple 20" display.

With the external display connected, the wireless traffic slows to crawl. So slow that file shares behave erratically and even display of apple.com takes a minute.

Why? I have no clue, but it does. Remove the external display , all is perfect. Plug it in again, network traffic slow.

That said, the rest of the system works fine with the display, leading me to suspect a bug of some kind rather than a fundamental issue.
I'm also running with a 20"ACD and don't see any of those issues. works just fine for me, other than the fan often pegging while I am doing anything remotely graphically intense.
raremage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 10:40 AM   #12
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Im running on a 20" Dell E207FP Widescreen monitor... not an apple, but it works. The fan does go on a bit when Im running in clamshell but I've got a laptop cooler connected also. I didn't see any slowdowns..
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.2, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 5 | White, 64GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2008, 11:15 AM   #13
typerlover
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Running a 24" Dell at 1920x1200 here.


Seems to run everything just fine, iTunes, Safari, Pages. Tried a few 1080p trailers from apple/quicktime, and those chopped up here and there, but 720p trailers worked fine.

Fans would start to run heavy at 6500rpm, but I have a laptop cooler from my mbp that the air now sits on when connected to the screen, and it does the job for keeping the fans at baseline 2500rpm.
typerlover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 12:11 PM   #14
c3p0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Macbook slows down at certain resolutions

I got my new aluminum macbook yesterday and today I noticed that network traffic slows down badly at certain resolutions (using an external display).

I started off using 1920x1200 on my HP LP2475w monitor, but since I get white dots dancing around at that resolution I tried lowering it one step to 1600x1200. At that resolution the white dots disappered, but instead the network (only tested wireless) bacme painfully slow. As soon as I changed resolution it came back to full speed. I even tested my windows machine at the same time, and that didn't have any networking issues.

I tried a few lower resolutions and it seems that when I have the white dots dancing around network speed is fine, when the dots go away - so does the network speed.

This is not really how I imagined the mac universe. I just hope apple gets this fixed really soon!
c3p0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 12:59 PM   #15
kinkster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
On my rev A hooked up to a 20" it lags in firefox when scrolling on a page such as engadget. Doesn't do it nearly as badly with the MBA screen.
kinkster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 02:45 PM   #16
imax2k2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I have rev B, connected with a 26" 1920 x 1200, runs perfect, no slow down's, I have been working a bit with x code, which runs fine too, I watch some blu rays with windows, and that runs good too!
__________________
QX9650 @ 4Ghz, GTX 280 SLI, 780i FTW,4Gb DDR2, 1.25Tb, 26"
MBP late 2009
iPhone 3GS White 32Gb 3.0
imax2k2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 05:26 PM   #17
johnnj
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not here
I also use a 24" Dell monitor a @ 1920x1200 on my RevB SSD MBA (not often, though).

I haven't noticed any performance issues, but the machine does run pretty hot. It gets hotter than I notice it ever running off of the monitor, even when running off of the AC adapter.

John
johnnj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you run two external Monitors on the MBA? tech324 MacBook Air 2 Oct 24, 2010 11:04 PM
Running an external monitor at a higher res sleyeu MacBook Pro 9 Nov 2, 2009 11:42 AM
will plugging an external monitor into a new macbook create multiple monitors? SoftPretzel MacBook 2 Dec 31, 2008 09:04 PM
Tip: Running cool while running an external monitor hellobenny MacBook Air 3 May 13, 2008 01:34 AM
does running an external monitor.... greyfalco MacBook Pro 3 Dec 12, 2006 06:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC