Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2008, 09:51 PM   #1
hk8899
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
eMAC and leopard?

Would a eMAC powerpc G4 upgrade to leopard. I think it is the best emac in the G4 series.
hk8899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 03:48 AM   #2
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Yep, it should be able to run Leopard pretty well. Make sure you have enough RAM...more is always better at the levels available to these machines. I believe Apple officially says it can take a maximum of 1 GB, but it can unofficially use 2 GB. The full 2 GB should give you a very nice system with Leopard. 1 GB should be okay, but you may notice some sluggishness at times.

Of course, that's probably true if you're running Tiger on it already, depending on what you use the machine for.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 01:39 PM   #3
captainbeefheat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
I have leopard running on my ibook which is g4 and runs fine. That has 1GB ram
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz Intek Core i7, OSX 10.8
iPhone 4 32GB

Last edited by captainbeefheat; Jan 19, 2008 at 01:39 PM. Reason: added ram
captainbeefheat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 01:59 PM   #4
eric55lv
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Send a message via AIM to eric55lv
How much GHz or MHz it it?
eric55lv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 12:17 AM   #5
andrewag
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to andrewag
Here's a list of eMac's which indicates if they meet Leopard's requirements (apart from DVD drive):

eMac (2002): NO
eMac (ATI Graphics): Low end: NO, Mid-High end: YES*
eMac (USB 2.0): YES*
eMac (2005): YES*

* RAM upgrade required from standard configuration and DVD drive needed to install
andrewag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 02:18 AM   #6
SarumanWhiteWiz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Can I upgrade my eMac processor and CD/RW drive?

Hi,

Here are my specs:

700/512/40G/CDRW/LL

Can I upgrade my processor and put in a DVD drive so I can run Leopard? If so could you tell me about how much. Thanks

Saruman
SarumanWhiteWiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 02:24 AM   #7
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
Unfortunately you cannot upgrade the eMac processor. You can, however, put in a DVD drive.
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eMac refuses to recognize Leopard Sepultura PowerPC Macs 6 Jul 9, 2014 09:02 PM
Installing Leopard on eMac G4 ATI 800Mhz Makaveli6103 PowerPC Macs 8 Jul 9, 2014 08:23 PM
Emac 800mhz ,is leopard possible? Deniz070 PowerPC Macs 17 Jul 9, 2014 06:48 PM
Got an eMac xtempo PowerPC Macs 31 Mar 19, 2014 11:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC