Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:37 PM   #1
zagato27
macrumors 6502a
 
zagato27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Hill
Send a message via AIM to zagato27
Leopard "splash screen" How to change?

Probably not the most descriptive thread title. This is what I want to do. I'm running Leopard on a G5. I have three "users", so when I boot up or awake you see the screen with the three user "profiles" to click on and log in. The background screen is a "star burst" looking screen which I would like replace with a photo. Can this be done? How? If it's easy and just a matter of finding a file and replacing it I can do it however if it involves Terminal I'll just live with it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Cheers
__________________
“Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”-Mark Twain
zagato27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:39 PM   #2
yoyo5280
macrumors 68000
 
yoyo5280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
So, you want to change the background image BEHIND the log on window?
__________________
tweet!
join #macrumors on irc.krono.net and look for Omi
yoyo5280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:41 PM   #3
zagato27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
zagato27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Hill
Send a message via AIM to zagato27
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo5280 View Post
So, you want to change the background image BEHIND the log on window?
Yes, exactly.
__________________
“Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”-Mark Twain
zagato27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:44 PM   #4
yoyo5280
macrumors 68000
 
yoyo5280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
http://paulstamatiou.com/2007/10/31/...gin-wallpaper/

There you go! Its really simple.

Also, there is software that you can use to do it...let me try to remember the name...http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos.../macpilot.html

MacPilot ^
__________________
tweet!
join #macrumors on irc.krono.net and look for Omi
yoyo5280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:51 PM   #5
iTim314
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: U.S.
Is there's an alternative way to do this in Tiger?

I'd like to change mine but my default desktop isn't located there. In fact, I can not find it anywhere.
iTim314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 07:54 PM   #6
yoyo5280
macrumors 68000
 
yoyo5280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
There is...ive done it however don't remember how. Instead i found another piece of software that can do it. THis time for free I think

http://keakaj.com/visage.htm
__________________
tweet!
join #macrumors on irc.krono.net and look for Omi
yoyo5280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 08:48 PM   #7
zagato27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
zagato27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Hill
Send a message via AIM to zagato27
This looks like old software but I wonder if it works with Leopard
http://www.bombich.com/software/lwm.html LoginWindow Manager
__________________
“Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”-Mark Twain
zagato27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2008, 09:22 PM   #8
zagato27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
zagato27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Hill
Send a message via AIM to zagato27
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo5280 View Post
There is...ive done it however don't remember how. Instead i found another piece of software that can do it. THis time for free I think

http://keakaj.com/visage.htm
Am trying this. Freeware for 7 days then limited in total abilities. It's $10 to register so we'll see. Tried to use Terminal but couldn't get it to work...wish I was more of a geek. But this did work. Hope the reduced abilities will allow me to change the login background screen. Check back in a week or so. Cheers
__________________
“Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”-Mark Twain
zagato27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2008, 02:53 AM   #9
littlevish
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChexBoss32890 View Post
Is there's an alternative way to do this in Tiger?

I'd like to change mine but my default desktop isn't located there. In fact, I can not find it anywhere.
All you have to do is rename the Aqua Blue wallpaper to something else, and put another image in its place.
littlevish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 01:13 AM   #10
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons
^ What he said

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChexBoss32890 View Post
Is there's an alternative way to do this in Tiger?

I'd like to change mine but my default desktop isn't located there. In fact, I can not find it anywhere.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 3.png
Views:	45
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	99507   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	460.6 KB
ID:	99510  
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 12:14 PM   #11
zagato27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
zagato27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Hill
Send a message via AIM to zagato27
Quote:
Originally Posted by zagato27 View Post
Am trying this. Freeware for 7 days then limited in total abilities. It's $10 to register so we'll see. Tried to use Terminal but couldn't get it to work...wish I was more of a geek. But this did work. Hope the reduced abilities will allow me to change the login background screen. Check back in a week or so. Cheers
Well, my 7 day free trial ended today and darn if the one feature I wanted (ability to change the background on the login screen in Leopard) was disabled. Ok, I'm not a geek and I did try and use terminal to change the background screen per instructions on the net but just couldn't get it to work. Sooooo, bit the bullet and forked over $9.95 actually I had a $4 credit on my account os really $5. I'm happy, it was worth it. Guess I'll have to check out all the other features of the Visage software and see what they do. Cheers
__________________
“Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”-Mark Twain
zagato27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro 13" Retina - Screen Flickering (Not an "I need a perfect screen" thread) laercioag MacBook Pro 2 Nov 25, 2013 01:18 PM
iPad: Wasn't given an option to "ship" can I change it to "pick up"? Lolaroxie iPad 0 Nov 1, 2013 03:05 AM
Save "gray scale" and "max contrast" via Universal Access in screen captures NeonKingKong OS X 2 Jun 2, 2013 10:09 PM
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 05:02 PM
".Camera" can change anything into "dot painting". thinkingfrog iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Jun 23, 2012 12:05 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC