Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2008, 04:21 PM   #1
Yohan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Internal Mic not working on MacBook

Hello!

I'm trying to do a video chat through ichat and the other person can't hear me though she can see me just fine. I'm doing this through OS 10.4.9, not XP.

It's not a bandwidth issue because I switched from wifi to a direct connection with my cable modem and the stats say I'm running around 100% on audio.

I tried recording sound on garage band, but it picks up no sound.

In system preferences the sound input is set on "internal microphone/built-in," the Input volume is on max, but the Input level meter does not move at all.

All this leads me to suspect hardware issues, but I'm hoping there's some preference I'm missing or something. Any direction in this would be most appreciated!
Yohan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 04:23 PM   #2
JSchwage
macrumors 6502a
 
JSchwage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Send a message via AIM to JSchwage Send a message via MSN to JSchwage Send a message via Yahoo to JSchwage Send a message via Skype™ to JSchwage
I had this happen last week. I actually just "flicked" the plastic plastic bezel near the microphone and that seemed to jolt it back to life. You might try that.
__________________
Tech Lobby - The place wherein I write hardware reviews
MacBook / 2.0 GHz Core 2 Duo / 2 GB RAM
JSchwage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 04:32 PM   #3
Yohan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchwage View Post
I had this happen last week. I actually just "flicked" the plastic plastic bezel near the microphone and that seemed to jolt it back to life. You might try that.
I'm not sure I'm doing what you did(it hurts! ), but when I hit the mic area, I do get a brief reading, but just the sound of me smacking it, it doesn't snap back to working though. Very interesting.
Yohan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2008, 02:40 PM   #4
BaronvdB
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
i just had my imac logic board replaced by apple and i just realized (i after trying to do a video chat with someone today) that they broke my internal mic..people can see just fine (like yours) they just can hear me...after spending over an hour on the phone with tech support doing trouble shooting i'm going to have to get that repaired now...what a pain, i wish they would check to make sure everything works before they give you your machine back.
__________________
13"MBP 2.53GHz,13"MBP 2.26GHz,iPhone 3Gs,iPhone,500GB TC,20GB iPod,15" MBP Uni 2.4GHz(SOLD),,24" Alum. iMac 2.4GHz(TRADED),MBA 1.6GHz(SOLD),8GB iPod Touch(SOLD)
BaronvdB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 12:03 PM   #5
andrae78
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
My built in mic isnt working

Hi everyone my built in mic was working fine until a couple months ago, when it stopped working during a video chat on skype. The thing is that I checked the settings and it is receiving the sounds alright but it seems like it is not relaying it. I was advised to reinstall the OS but when i did it worked for two weeks at a time an then stops. So I have to keep reinstalling the OS for it to work. Other than that I have to be plugging my earphone into the mic input and using the earphones as a mic. I need help please this is getting frustrating.
andrae78 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2010, 12:59 AM   #6
yomac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Try pressing "command+option+p+r" when you restart (while the screen is still blank/blue/or green) until you hear the restart sound for the 2nd time. It fixed the problem for me.
yomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:15 PM   #7
stackattack246
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yomac- does this effect anything on your computer or did it just fix the mic, does it erase anything?
stackattack246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 02:18 AM   #8
gerardoflores
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Possible solution

Hey, I had the same problem... and surfing trough here and there found my solution: Go to Utilities>Audio MIDI Setup and check if the mic has the "mute" checkbox... well checked. If you uncheck it... you'll instantly recover your mic!

Hopefully it works for you too.
gerardoflores is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2011, 12:48 AM   #9
Seamustard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Another Possible Solution

Hey fellas and ladies. I had a similar issue (my mic wasn't working on photobooth, online games, etc). I tried using that Command+Option+p+r restart and it didn't work, I tried doing what "gerardoflores" did aswell but my mic wasn't muted. However, in that same utilities section I changed the format for my internal microphone from 96 000.0 Hz to 48 000.0 Hz and the microphone worked in Photobooth, I'm yet to try it in my game but I have high hopes Thanks for bringing Audio MIDI Setup to my attention, gerardoflores. Hopefully this will work for anyone else who tries.
Seamustard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 05:12 AM   #10
grizzly4321
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
One more possibility

Once you get in the Audio MIDI Setup area, you can switch the default input from "Built In Input" to "Built in Microphone". I couldn't record sound for almost a year, and now it's back up and running! BLESS THESE TWO WORLDY SCHOLARS on here for showing me how to get to my Audio MIDI Setup area and where to go from there. Seriously, you're both awesome. Thank you so, so much. Now my girlfriend can finally listen to me record guitar and drink beers late into the evening again! She's going to be thrilled!
grizzly4321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 01:09 PM   #11
poggione1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I fixed it in two seconds

My internal mic works fine on my Macbook Pro, but external mics weren't registering. It was easy to fix.

As previously posted, go to Utilities > Audio Midi Setup > Built-in Input

Once there, drag the toggles next to "1" and "2" all the way to the right. Make sure "Mute" is unchecked.

You should be good to go.
poggione1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 09:03 AM   #12
darkrai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to darkrai
restart

all i did was restart but i also changed the format where it says 2ch-24 bit i changed it to 2ch-32 bit and then i restarted my mac
darkrai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 06:16 AM   #13
Kaimo20
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Mic Problem

hi,

I've been having trouble with my mic on my Macbook OS X, version 10.5.8.
And the thing is i don't know really know what the cost of the problem is because before it was working just fine. And then when i took out the battery and used it to my brothers computer cause his battery wasn't working, and when i returned the batter to my macbook the mic started not working on Skype and garage band and all the recordings, so i thought that maybe it was just the "mute" in the Audio MIDI, but it wasnt cause i fixed and i thought that was it and maybe that i just pressed something. But, still didn't work.. So i don't know what the problem is...

Please Help Thanks...
Kaimo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2011, 04:17 PM   #14
supercazzola
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
you are a genius!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardoflores View Post
Hey, I had the same problem... and surfing trough here and there found my solution: Go to Utilities>Audio MIDI Setup and check if the mic has the "mute" checkbox... well checked. If you uncheck it... you'll instantly recover your mic!

Hopefully it works for you too.
The above solution worked for me. I wonder if a software package I use somehow set this to mute. Because I know I didn't!
supercazzola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 08:21 AM   #15
jonkino
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Help with iMac's built-in microphone please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercazzola View Post
The above solution worked for me. I wonder if a software package I use somehow set this to mute. Because I know I didn't!
Can someone help me/ I have been trying ever since I bought this imac two years ago to use Skype and I just can't get my microphone to work on skype or in ichat. I can hear the caller but they can't hear me. It is so frustrating, I have tried everything I can find in this forum. Made sure built-in microphone is selected and it isn't muted in Skype settings. I have been in Audio MIDI setup and made sure built in Mic is selected and that the mute box isn't checked. Still no luck at all. I have tried all the three hz settings. I have tried all three ch bit settings. I have got the 1 and 2 sliders over to the right but still no joy. All I want to do is use my skype so I can talk to my close friends who have moved to the other side of the world - I'm fed up of wrting on sticky pads and holding my messages up to the screen so they can see what I am saying.

If anyone else has any other solutions, please let me know.
jonkino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2011, 11:46 AM   #16
JessicaPyong
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Check if you are using a headset/earphones that does not have a faulty microphone in it. Try changing a new one or talk without it
JessicaPyong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 10:56 AM   #17
Tarheel86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fixed again!

Had the same issue. Went to Utilities / Audio-Midi, etc. and BAM! Fixed. This is the second time in as many weeks that users here have helped me fix a sound / or microphone issue.

THANKS !!!
Tarheel86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 10:14 PM   #18
bnoof
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Three cheers for Geraldoflores

The MIDI deal worked for me too. Bizarre how that got changed. Thanks!
bnoof is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 07:45 PM   #19
ron1956
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
internal and external mic not working

I too am having a mic problem but do not know if it ever worked. I did the "command+option+p+r" that did not fix the problem. When I go into Audio MIDI there is nothing disabled but I am not able to disable it either. Can I load the utilities of MIDI? I am new to Mac so you may have to help with what I have to do.
Mac os x version 10.7.2 build 11C74. Macbook, 2.33 Ghz Core 2,
Thanks
both internal and external does not work.

Last edited by ron1956; Jan 6, 2012 at 02:20 PM.
ron1956 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2012, 03:08 PM   #20
alpineman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron1956 View Post
I too am having a mic problem but do not know if it ever worked. I did the "command+option+p+r" that did not fix the problem. When I go into Audio MIDI there is nothing disabled but I am not able to disable it either. Can I load the utilities of MIDI? I am new to Mac so you may have to help with what I have to do.
Mac os x version 10.7.2 build 11C74. Macbook, 2.33 Ghz Core 2,
Thanks
both internal and external does not work.
I'm having the same issues since upgrading to 10.7.2 have tried everything but cannot figure it out internal or external mic do not work.
Please help
Thanks
alpineman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 05:37 PM   #21
Glendademoss
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by poggione1 View Post
My internal mic works fine on my Macbook Pro, but external mics weren't registering. It was easy to fix.

As previously posted, go to Utilities > Audio Midi Setup > Built-in Input

Once there, drag the toggles next to "1" and "2" all the way to the right. Make sure "Mute" is unchecked.

You should be good to go.
I went to Audio Midi Setup, but it would not let me uncheck the mute boxes.
Glendademoss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 07:21 PM   #22
thirstbusters
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Thank You!

Just made an account for the sole purpose of saying thank you!! Mine was on mute as well in audio midi input

THANKS GUYS!
thirstbusters is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 05:48 AM   #23
Jenobence
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Similar -but not the same- problem

I'm having a similar problem.

My mac mini (2,5GHz i5, Radeon 6630M) worked without an issue so far, and all of a sudden, it's microphone jack stopped working.
I have microphone jacks on my keyboard and also on my speaker system, my headset worked in all of them, and out of the blue, it won't.

My sound output works flawlessly, I can listen music, watch video, all the above mentioned ports are working as far as output goes.
I tried the Sound in System Preferences, also the Audio Midi Setup, both failed. Tried to install Line In, and uninstalled properly afterwards, tried the toothpick trick; no, no, no.

The microphone jack on the mac mini "looks" clear, no dust, the small steel balls are in the right place, and I mainly plugged in and out my headset into my keyboard, so that couldn't cause the problem either.

The funny things I found are look like these:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-e...tled%25204.png
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-d...tled%25202.png
(in case the links don't work, I describe with words as well)

In System Preferences/Sound/Input, the bar behaves like this:
When I switch to Input from Output, the bar shows at about 60% "blue" for a split second, and goes all the way down in an instant.

(I suspect it happens only when my headset's mic is not plugged in, but I am not 100% sure about that)

In Audio Midi Setup, I found that both in Input;
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-Y...tled%25203.png
and Output tabs;
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-3...4/Untitled.png
the Master bar is "fixed" the minimum, it is grey and I found no way to turn it or move it any way higher. It is not muted but simply "off".

I have no idea how to solve this, but it is a real problem, since I can't communicate with either of my freinds/family/teammates properly without a working microphone.

I am only guessing it is a sowftware hickup, but I do not know how to go on from now.

I would appreciate any help.
Jenobence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2013, 07:08 AM   #24
thailazer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
I've been using a Logitech C110 camera's built in MIC just fine for a year and last week it stopped working. When I go to the Audio MIDI Setup utility, the master volume is at zero AND THE SLIDER CAN NOT BE MOVED UP! (Mute is not checked, although I can check and un-check it.)

What can I do to restore the ability to move up the master volume?

All help appreciated.

UPDATE AND EDIT: Just checked the C110 on my MacBook and the Mic does not work there either so it is a Logitech C110 failure. Just need to buy a new USB Mic I guess.....

Last edited by thailazer; Dec 23, 2013 at 06:50 PM.
thailazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2014, 01:30 PM   #25
mac65
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
 
My Logitech C110 also stopped working on Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by thailazer View Post
I've been using a Logitech C110 camera's built in MIC just fine for a year and last week it stopped working.
Almost same here: After re-plugging it in, I can use it with Skype but not with Messages.app. But a little later, it doesn't work any more in any way (no video, either, even though it's still recognized by the apps), and I have to re-plug it again to use with Skype.
Before the upgrade to 10.9 the C110 worked reliably in all apps.

BTW, this is the wrong thread for this - the thread is explicitly about the _internal_ mic, while we're talking about an external mic here.
mac65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heaphone mic overrides internal mic! Freddieee MacBook Pro 0 Jan 22, 2013 06:32 PM
internal microphone not working, and earbud mic not recognised matthewhunt MacBook Air 13 Jan 22, 2013 03:07 AM
My headset has a crappy mic, how do I only use the internal mic? Action MacBook Air 3 Oct 19, 2012 08:48 AM
Disable external mic and only use internal? Action OS X 0 Oct 16, 2012 10:44 PM
Macbook Air A1304 Internal Mic Problem Enemy75 MacBook Air 0 Jul 28, 2012 09:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC