Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:29 PM   #1
secretpact
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Is there a way to disable spaces?

I'm thinking of buying leopard. I'm running Tiger right now. I don't need spaces cause I will never use it. Is there a way to disable it?
secretpact is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:31 PM   #2
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
When you buy Leopard spaces is disabled ( not turned on ) by default.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:32 PM   #3
lancestraz
macrumors 6502a
 
lancestraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: RI
Yes. In System Preferences>Exposť & Spaces>Spaces, there is an "Enable Spaces" checkbox.
lancestraz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 08:32 PM   #4
synth3tik
macrumors 68040
 
synth3tik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Send a message via AIM to synth3tik
Never say never. Once you use spaces you can't seem to figure out a computer without multiple desktops.
synth3tik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2008, 11:21 PM   #5
secretpact
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by synth3tik View Post
Never say never. Once you use spaces you can't seem to figure out a computer without multiple desktops.
Haha well, I'll see about that.


Thanks everyone!
secretpact is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:24 AM   #6
7084
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
What sort of things do people use Spaces for? Te be honest, i've never quite understood the functional point of multiple desktops? Is it simply for users with small screens?
7084 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:28 AM   #7
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7084 View Post
What sort of things do people use Spaces for? Te be honest, i've never quite understood the functional point of multiple desktops? Is it simply for users with small screens?
It is very valuable say on a MacBook - doing two completely different sets of tasks at the same time. But the same is true even if you do have say two large monitors.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:28 AM   #8
ergdegdeg
Moderator emeritus
 
ergdegdeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nebraska
I use it for grouping my apps. My IM clients are in Space 1, Mail and Firefox in #2, the rest (depending on what I'm doing) is equally shared between #3 and 4.
It's really good to keep the screen organized and uncluttered
ergdegdeg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2008, 09:29 AM   #9
Schnebar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7084 View Post
What sort of things do people use Spaces for? Te be honest, i've never quite understood the functional point of multiple desktops? Is it simply for users with small screens?
I thought I would never use it because I have 2 20" monitors.

Now I use 4 spaces and cant see how I would work without it.

Top space is for safari and iChat.

2nd is for pages.

3rd is mail on one screen and iTunes on the other.

4th is a bunch of random stuff that I do not us that much.
__________________
2.5 GHz MBP with 20" Dell monitor
Grado SR80 Headphones
64GB Black iPhone 4s
Canon Rebel Xsi
Schnebar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2008, 08:11 PM   #10
bluedoggiant
macrumors 68020
 
bluedoggiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Send a message via AIM to bluedoggiant
I cannot LIVE without spaces, Spaces, Stacks, and Time Machine, the main feature of Leopard, are my favorite actually. I use each and every single one of them. I can't LIVE without spaces. and yes, i do have a 24"er here, but god, i have 6 spaces setup, and use em all, but use 3 or 4 usually, but on the weekends, i use all 6
__________________

Haswell MacBook Pro 15" - 16GB - 2.3GHz - 512GB - dGPU
Mid-2007 iMac 24" - 4GB - 2.8GHz - .5TB
Gold 64GB iPhone 5s
bluedoggiant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2008, 09:34 AM   #11
Mac.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
If i have 4 open spaces but im only using 2. Does the left over 2 take up much RAM ?
__________________

Mac. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2008, 09:40 AM   #12
newappleboy
macrumors 6502a
 
newappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to newappleboy
I really need to start using spaces more. Honestly, it's the main feature that got me to switch from PC to Mac when Leopard came out. I put Parallels full screen in space 2 and iTunes in space 3. 1 is for everything else and I have yet to use space 4. lol I do all this on my shiny new MBP. It's not so much to save screen real estate as it is about being organized. I never need to worry about finding iTunes or battling other apps to get to it - ctrl + 3 and I'm there. Bravo .
__________________
TheRealJamesDean.com - Where being cool and suave is always slightly out of reach.
Also, I'm a Tumblr!
newappleboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X Spaces raczyk OS X 0 Sep 22, 2013 07:23 PM
Spaces macbp17 MacBook Pro 1 Jul 11, 2013 10:07 AM
How to disable Ctrl+Left/Right Keyboard Shortcut to Move Between Spaces mpaulius OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Apr 13, 2013 04:08 AM
Turn off Spaces? Mabyboi OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 11 Sep 13, 2012 05:47 PM
Disable Resume (I mean REALLY disable it) (not a solution, i ask a question) /V\acpower Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Jun 13, 2012 10:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC