Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 24, 2008, 08:51 PM   #1
Rlkv011
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Macbook Air RAM Limit?

I know that the ram is solder to the motherboard. Would it be possible to upgrade the RAM to 4gb. It uses the same graphics as the SR macbook, correct? So it should be able to accept 4gb, right?
Rlkv011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 08:52 PM   #2
noodle654
macrumors 68000
 
noodle654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Never Ender
I think since its soldered to the LB, you cant upgrade it. It has no memory bays and the max is 2GB.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" i7 2.3GHz (June 2012) HR Antiglare | iPhone 5 64GB | MacBook Air i5 1.3GHz (2013) | Mac Pro 5,1 W3565 |
noodle654 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 11:24 PM   #3
tveric
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
There is no upgrade once you've received your order from Apple. Get all the RAM you can afford now. You'll get more money back when you re-sell it years from now anyway, especially since MBA's with lots of RAM will be fairly rare.
tveric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 11:28 PM   #4
siurpeeman
macrumors 603
 
siurpeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the OC
Send a message via AIM to siurpeeman
Quote:
Originally Posted by tveric View Post
There is no upgrade once you've received your order from Apple. Get all the RAM you can afford now. You'll get more money back when you re-sell it years from now anyway, especially since MBA's with lots of RAM will be fairly rare.
the macbook air can't be configured with more ram at time of purchase or afterward. apple doesn't allow an option to upgrade to 4 gb at any point in the purchase process.
__________________
grr...argh...
siurpeeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2008, 11:31 PM   #5
eddietr
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rlkv011 View Post
I know that the ram is solder to the motherboard. Would it be possible to upgrade the RAM to 4gb. It uses the same graphics as the SR macbook, correct? So it should be able to accept 4gb, right?
It has nothing to do with the graphics. That doesn't define how much RAM you can have.

But it in any case, the RAM on the MBA is parked right on the board. It's not removable.

And it comes with any amount of RAM you want, as long as it's 2GB.
eddietr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Macbook Air 2009 - Need Help twiggy0 Buying Tips and Advice 3 May 27, 2012 01:35 AM
Ram usage? TimDavis MacBook Air 4 Jul 27, 2011 03:46 PM
Ram Usage? TimDavis MacBook Air 0 Jul 27, 2011 03:30 AM
Retina MacBook Airs -BigMac- MacBook Air 11 May 2, 2011 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC