Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:27 AM   #1
CalMin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Got my AppleTV :)

Picked up a 160gb model last night at the Apple store. Still has v1.1 and old packaging even though the guy implied it had just come in.

Impressions? Well, so far so good - I wish I'd got it a long time ago. It's so much better watching video podcasts on TV, and the DVDs I had converted for use on my iPod touch are actually watchable quality. I used the handbrake iPhone presets to rip them, so I was surprised at how good they look on a TV. I'll re-rip them using the Apple TV presets when I get time. My dream of a clutter free life is almost realized - my CDs are in boxes in the garage, and now I can do the same with my DVD collection.

Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.

Looking forward to v2.0.

OH - and thanks to the member of this forum for advice and info!! There's some great info.

Last edited by CalMin; Jan 25, 2008 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Forgot to thank forums members!
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:34 AM   #2
Paix247
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Congrats! I'm thinking about picking one up as well. The new software looks great.
Paix247 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:44 AM   #3
samh004
macrumors 68020
 
samh004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.
Couldn't you connect it via ethernet for the first sync, it's only 10/100 but that's a bit better than 802.11g.
__________________
samh004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:55 AM   #4
CalMin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by samh004 View Post
Couldn't you connect it via ethernet for the first sync, it's only 10/100 but that's a bit better than 802.11g.
My house makes it logistically impossible to do this. I have a 25ft length of CAT5, but even that won't reach where the TV is. I'll just wait it out.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:59 AM   #5
MikieMikie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
My house makes it logistically impossible to do this. I have a 25ft length of CAT5, but even that won't reach where the TV is. I'll just wait it out.
Why not just put the TV right next to your computer for the first sync?

And BTW, welcome to the ranks. If you don't see YouTube in your main menu, upgrade to 1.1.
MikieMikie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 12:22 PM   #6
islandman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Very very cool! Congrats!
__________________
Through My Lenses
islandman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 12:23 PM   #7
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
Picked up a 160gb model last night at the Apple store. Still has v1.1 and old packaging even though the guy implied it had just come in.

Impressions? Well, so far so good - I wish I'd got it a long time ago. It's so much better watching video podcasts on TV, and the DVDs I had converted for use on my iPod touch are actually watchable quality. I used the handbrake iPhone presets to rip them, so I was surprised at how good they look on a TV. I'll re-rip them using the Apple TV presets when I get time. My dream of a clutter free life is almost realized - my CDs are in boxes in the garage, and now I can do the same with my DVD collection.

Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.

Looking forward to v2.0.

OH - and thanks to the member of this forum for advice and info!! There's some great info.
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 12:52 PM   #8
imlucid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikieMikie View Post
Why not just put the TV right next to your computer for the first sync?
That's a good idea. The ATV can run headless next to the computer. iTunes will show when the sync is done and you can move it back.

Kevin
__________________
-- Kevin Arnold
-- CouchPotato Software Engineer
-- High Tech Luddite searching for simpler times...
-- My job IS my hobby
HT Equipment
imlucid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 12:52 PM   #9
georgeoommen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out.
so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?
georgeoommen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:06 PM   #10
CalMin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out.
Didn't know that. Thanks for the pointer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by imlucid View Post
That's a good idea. The ATV can run headless next to the computer. iTunes will show when the sync is done and you can move it back.

Kevin
Great idea! Pity it doesn't sync via USB if I'm going through all that.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:29 PM   #11
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeoommen View Post
so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?
Honestly, if you don't want to experiment with a custom preset, I would use the iPod (High Resolution) preset. It will give you a 720-wide resolution at 1500kbps, which I have found to be a good medium between the two devices. The new update for the iPhone/iPod Touch has allowed the HB dev team to find ways to do some more advanced things (anamorphic, higher bitrates, etc), but a preset based on this is a long way off (if ever).

You could always just encode the movie twice (one for AppleTV and one for iPhone), but I personally don't like this approach as it makes the library look messy.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:30 PM   #12
evilyankeefan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Got mine too!!

Went out over lunch and picked up a 160GB.

Just waiting to leave work so I can hook her up.
evilyankeefan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:32 PM   #13
CalMin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikieMikie View Post
Why not just put the TV right next to your computer for the first sync?

And BTW, welcome to the ranks. If you don't see YouTube in your main menu, upgrade to 1.1.
Mikie - Awesome suggestion. The progress bar is flying. I hope it won't need to sync again when 2.0 comes out.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:34 PM   #14
brinycbri
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
cant the appletv use 802.11n? if so, that might be worth investing in
brinycbri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:35 PM   #15
CalMin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
You could always just encode the movie twice (one for AppleTV and one for iPhone), but I personally don't like this approach as it makes the library look messy.
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 01:54 PM   #16
MikieMikie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.
I feel the same way. I re-encode using handbrake when I need an iPhone movie or two. I name it (in MetaX) z(MovieName) so that it's at the end of the iTunes library section. I sync it, pop out my iPhone, then delete it from iTunes. No harm, no foul.
MikieMikie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 02:46 PM   #17
imlucid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
Mikie - Awesome suggestion. The progress bar is flying. I hope it won't need to sync again when 2.0 comes out.
You shouldn't. The media doesn't get affected on an update.

Kevin
__________________
-- Kevin Arnold
-- CouchPotato Software Engineer
-- High Tech Luddite searching for simpler times...
-- My job IS my hobby
HT Equipment
imlucid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 02:57 PM   #18
elmo151
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
cant the appletv use 802.11n? if so, that might be worth investing in
yes!

that's my hookup. works like a charm and appears a requirement for the Airbook
elmo151 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 03:06 PM   #19
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.
That was my approach as well, but I've recently come around and started building a custom preset with anamorphic and CRF encodes that, while a little on the large side, works with both devices and is high-quality. The stuff the devs have put into the next release is really fantastic; I do miss being able to use b-frames though...
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 03:28 PM   #20
imlucid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalMin View Post
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.
You could also just add the movies to two different playlists, one for ATV and one for iPod/iPhone.

You can sync movies by playlists.

Kevin
__________________
-- Kevin Arnold
-- CouchPotato Software Engineer
-- High Tech Luddite searching for simpler times...
-- My job IS my hobby
HT Equipment
imlucid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 05:28 PM   #21
WarMace
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeoommen View Post
so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?
I use the iPod high rez preset in Handbrake but I change the resolution to 640x400 (16:10). iTunes won't send any video over 640 pixels wide to the iPod and the 16:10 ratio fits my iMac and TV exactly and is closer to iPhones 1.5:1 screen. (Never understood why we have 16:10 screens to watch 16:9 movies on.) Also 1500 kbps is the highest bitrate the iPod and iPhone will handle.

If you don't have an iPod to worry about I would use the iPod preset (iPods and iPhones need the iPod encoder not the Main profile) and switch the resolution to the anamorphic setting. This preserves the exact pixels of the original DVD. Most of the movies I have encoded like this will play on my iPhone but not all. The iPhone didn't originally support anamorphic so maybe Apple is still perfecting it. If you find some that don't work you could just reencode them as neccessary.
__________________
iMac 20" 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo 2gig RAM 320HDD
Mac Mini Core Solo 1.25gig RAM
iBook G3 350mhz 512meg RAM
PowerMac Dual G4 800mhz 640meg RAM 120HDD
WarMace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 06:17 PM   #22
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarMace View Post
I use the iPod high rez preset in Handbrake but I change the resolution to 640x400 (16:10). iTunes won't send any video over 640 pixels wide to the iPod and the 16:10 ratio fits my iMac and TV exactly and is closer to iPhones 1.5:1 screen. (Never understood why we have 16:10 screens to watch 16:9 movies on.) Also 1500 kbps is the highest bitrate the iPod and iPhone will handle.

If you don't have an iPod to worry about I would use the iPod preset (iPods and iPhones need the iPod encoder not the Main profile) and switch the resolution to the anamorphic setting. This preserves the exact pixels of the original DVD. Most of the movies I have encoded like this will play on my iPhone but not all. The iPhone didn't originally support anamorphic so maybe Apple is still perfecting it. If you find some that don't work you could just reencode them as neccessary.
This is not true... the iPhone/iPod Touch/current generation iPods can handle highter bitrates than 1500kbps. You can also sync 720-wide content (and now even anamorphic) to an iPod Touch/iPhone. Also, the reason for 16:10 monitors is because you are supposed to be able to fit 2 pages of text side-by-side comfortably on the screen at this ratio.

For now, use the iPod High-Resolution preset if you want good quality on all of your Apple devices.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 08:55 PM   #23
WarMace
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
This is not true... the iPhone/iPod Touch/current generation iPods can handle highter bitrates than 1500kbps.
Any idea specifically what bitrate the 5G iPod will handle?
__________________
iMac 20" 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo 2gig RAM 320HDD
Mac Mini Core Solo 1.25gig RAM
iBook G3 350mhz 512meg RAM
PowerMac Dual G4 800mhz 640meg RAM 120HDD
WarMace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 10:29 PM   #24
DarkMCS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Just got a 160Gb one today. Unfortunately, I haven't tried it yet as it's been syncing with my iTunes library & iPhoto albums since 3PM (it's 11:30PM now)

The syncing process is looooooong!!! I'll let it do its thing overnight and will play with it tomorrow morning.

So far, the installation is straight forward and very easy. The unit is just beautiful and simple, just the way Apple do things! lol
__________________
MacBook Pro (2.53C2D, 4Gb, 320Gb WD Scorpio Black), 16Gb iPod Touch, 32Gb iPhone 3Gs, 160Gb Apple TV, iPad 3G 64Gb
DarkMCS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2008, 11:24 PM   #25
CalMin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkMCS View Post
Just got a 160Gb one today. Unfortunately, I haven't tried it yet as it's been syncing with my iTunes library & iPhoto albums since 3PM (it's 11:30PM now)

The syncing process is looooooong!!! I'll let it do its thing overnight and will play with it tomorrow morning.

So far, the installation is straight forward and very easy. The unit is just beautiful and simple, just the way Apple do things! lol
Congrats to you too. I found the sync slow too, but after reading the tip above, I moved it next to the computer and had it done in less than a couple hours. Subsequent wireless syncs (updated podcasts and photo's so far) are relatively painless.
CalMin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV: AppleTv 2 thenumbersrbad Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 27, 2013 09:45 PM
3D to AppleTV 3 bwfc0907 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Mar 17, 2013 04:46 PM
Handbrake: iPad vs AppleTV vs AppleTV 2 vs AppleTV 3 presettings rrk100 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Nov 11, 2012 06:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC