Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2008, 08:25 PM   #1
VegasGirl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Can't connect Wi-Fi with new Linksys router

I just set up a new Linksys wireless router today (WRT54G). I have my network locked with a 7-character password. When I try to access my new network with my iPod Touch, it "sees" the network and asks for my password. When I enter in the password, the "Join" button is not active. The button will become active only if I put in a space after my password, which makes it 8 characters, but of course now it says "can't connect." I've spent a couple of hours with Linksys support, and no one seems to know how to help.

I did figure out that if I disable the security on the router, so that a password is not required, I can access my network just fine. But this is definitely not an option, obviously.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks!
VegasGirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 04:30 PM   #2
aseideman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Mac issue with Linksys

I can't help with the iPod touch but my MacBook Pro is also having issues with my linksys wireless router. I can connect to the router just fine but can't get online. I have another laptop (PC) and it connects to the router and can go online. Anybody know what's up with Macs and Linksys routers?
aseideman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 08:10 PM   #3
VegasGirl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Solved my iPOD Touch to Linksys problem

After a lot of digging around on the web, I found my answer. I changed my security setting to WEP, 128 bits, and used the Passphrase Key as my password on the iPod Touch (very long string of 25 or so alpha/numerics). I can now connect the Wi-fi to my Linksys. By the way, I don't have to enter that horrific password string each time, in case you're wondering. I just turn on the Wi-fi switch and it connects to my network.

Cheers!
VegasGirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2008, 03:39 AM   #4
davidy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by VegasGirl View Post
After a lot of digging around on the web, I found my answer. I changed my security setting to WEP, 128 bits, and used the Passphrase Key as my password on the iPod Touch (very long string of 25 or so alpha/numerics). I can now connect the Wi-fi to my Linksys. By the way, I don't have to enter that horrific password string each time, in case you're wondering. I just turn on the Wi-fi switch and it connects to my network.

Cheers!
You found it. The iPod Touch doesn't recognize router 64 bit settings.
__________________
What would Scooby Doo?
davidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 11:09 AM   #5
pleap
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Linksys routers

I know two people who have Linksys routers, it's the same on both: I can connect but can't go anywhere. Neither is using 128 bit and since they're not mine, I can't easily change. However, I have a Netgear router and regularly link up to another Netgear and a couple D-Links with no problem without 128 bit strings (just 64 bit WEP) so I would assume there's something in the Linksys security that I've failed to find.
pleap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 12:32 PM   #6
Wotan31
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
WEP is so obsolete (and insecure), why the heck is anyone still using it?? Any WEP secure WLAN can be hacked in a matter of minutes. It's a joke, really.

Do yourself a favor and disable WEP. You want WPA2 instead.
Wotan31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2009, 08:57 AM   #7
pleap
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Linksys router quirks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wotan31 View Post
WEP is so obsolete (and insecure), why the heck is anyone still using it?? Any WEP secure WLAN can be hacked in a matter of minutes. It's a joke, really.

Do yourself a favor and disable WEP. You want WPA2 instead.
I agree but in most cases I'm not the one setting up the security.

Following along on the Linksys issue, I disabled ALL security on a Linksys WRT54G router and still have the same problem: can connect but the Internet is inaccessible. Haven't had a chance to snoop around all the Linksys settings.
pleap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't connect to network/internet with my Linksys router Sundance2007 Mac Basics and Help 6 Jul 7, 2011 07:43 PM
ATV can't see network with new modem/router hbt15 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 May 6, 2011 07:26 AM
Cannot get new Linksys router to connect leekohler Mac Basics and Help 9 Nov 13, 2010 10:42 AM
Can't connect to wifi on my new linksys router. California King MacBook 5 Nov 28, 2008 05:10 PM
New Linksys router won't connect to iMac? macsrockmysocks Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 5, 2006 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC