Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2008, 09:32 PM   #1
bklam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
macbook: NO AIRPORT CARD INSTALLED

I have a really strange issue with my macbook. If i shut down my macbook completely, when i turn it on again, it says No Airport Card Installed. So i went to my shop and the guy said it was disconnected. So he fixed it.

This morning, when I turned it on again, it said No airport card installed again. So i called in and apple said it was a hardware issue.

So 5 minutes ago, i did a shut down and bam, the airport card is back again.

Has anyone experienced this issue?

Thanks in advance.
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2008, 09:38 PM   #2
JML42691
macrumors 68020
 
JML42691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bklam View Post
I have a really strange issue with my macbook. If i shut down my macbook completely, when i turn it on again, it says No Airport Card Installed. So i went to my shop and the guy said it was disconnected. So he fixed it.

This morning, when I turned it on again, it said No airport card installed again. So i called in and apple said it was a hardware issue.

So 5 minutes ago, i did a shut down and bam, the airport card is back again.

Has anyone experienced this issue?

Thanks in advance.
I haven't experienced anything like this before, but when you say that you took it to "my shop", was this a Genius Bar, or a reseller? And how old is the MacBook? If it is older than a year, do you have Apple Care? Because I would take it to the Genius Bar and show them, because a problem like this would utterly piss me off, I'll look around and see if I can find out if there is a way for you to fix this without having to take it in.
JML42691 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2008, 09:56 PM   #3
djinn
macrumors 65816
 
djinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Have you tried booting with the Apple HW test and had it run through its little Diag to very hardware? Thats the only suggestion I have.
__________________
MBA 13
iPhone 6 64gig
djinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2008, 10:40 PM   #4
tennez
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I have a similar problem and is that my mb pro does not pick any signal at all...i have the apple box to send it back, although im just waiting for the next update...
tennez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2008, 11:03 PM   #5
BioChron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Alaska
Send a message via AIM to BioChron Send a message via MSN to BioChron
Try reinstalling the OS, that may help. Or your card could be whacky.
__________________
iMac 1.83 CD - 512 MB RAM, 160 GB HD
PowerBook 1.5 PowerPC - 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD
BioChron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 01:57 AM   #6
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
we don't have any apple stores in vancouver, so when i mean shop it's Authorized Service Provider up on campus.

In terms of diagnostics, the hardware was not detected at all under about this mac-->advanced.

Also my mac is 18 months old and i have apple care.

The last time this happened was when i was calibrating my battery.

i tried to calibrate again this morning and it happened to me when i came back.

coincidence?
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 09:30 AM   #7
JML42691
macrumors 68020
 
JML42691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bklam View Post
we don't have any apple stores in vancouver, so when i mean shop it's Authorized Service Provider up on campus.

In terms of diagnostics, the hardware was not detected at all under about this mac-->advanced.

Also my mac is 18 months old and i have apple care.

The last time this happened was when i was calibrating my battery.

i tried to calibrate again this morning and it happened to me when i came back.

coincidence?
I am taking a wild shot here, and it probably has nothing to do with it, but can you try it with somebody else's battery for a day and see if it still happens?
JML42691 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 03:23 PM   #8
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by djinn View Post
Have you tried booting with the Apple HW test and had it run through its little Diag to very hardware? Thats the only suggestion I have.
How do i do this?
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 05:23 PM   #9
djinn
macrumors 65816
 
djinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Insert Disk 1 that came with your laptop, turn on your machine, hold and press "D" before the gray screen comes on. Keep holding it down and it will take you to the Apple Hardware test screen (blue).
__________________
MBA 13
iPhone 6 64gig
djinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 02:01 AM   #10
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
ok i did the hardware test and it said no problems found. I did it right after i did a shutdown and the network card disappeared again. But when i did a reboot, the card came back...

This is messed up.
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 11:15 PM   #11
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
If anyone is interested, i've reinstalled my OS twice. Once without the updates, once with the updates and both times i've experienced the "No Airport Card Installed".

So i've come to assume that i have a wonky airport card.
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 11:26 PM   #12
uncleSmurf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I've had that issue before...
ran the disk utility and then did a shut down and restart and cleared it up. So far so good.
uncleSmurf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2008, 11:29 PM   #13
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
sweet, i'll give it a try. Do i just press repair disk permissions then reboot?
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 12:21 AM   #14
kockgunner
macrumors 68000
 
kockgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bklam View Post
we don't have any apple stores in vancouver, so when i mean shop it's Authorized Service Provider up on campus.

In terms of diagnostics, the hardware was not detected at all under about this mac-->advanced.

Also my mac is 18 months old and i have apple care.

The last time this happened was when i was calibrating my battery.

i tried to calibrate again this morning and it happened to me when i came back.

coincidence?
Sorry it's off topic but: hey Vancouverite! Yeah... lol. It sucks that we don't have apple stores here. I really want one here so I can show it off to my friends and family to convert them to macs lol
kockgunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 12:36 AM   #15
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Soon enough. Pacific centre will have one this year. or at least downtown for sure.
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2008, 02:26 AM   #16
bklam
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Okay so i tried the disk repair.
Then i did a restart, and a shutdown. But the problem is on and off.

I think it occurs when the computer is shut off. Then when i turn it on, it's gone and in order for it to come back on, i have to repeat the process of turning it off and on.

Update:

I did another disk permission repair, restarted, and did a shut down. Turned the computer on again and the card was still there.

So i did 3 shut down and turn on processes and the airport card is still good.

I'll keep you guys posted.

This morning, i did a shut down, and it was gone again. So i'm saying it's intermittent and probably hardware related.

Last edited by bklam; Jan 29, 2008 at 11:56 AM.
bklam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2008, 09:45 PM   #17
reubs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I'm having the same problem. I had to reinstall X11 today, and after a number of updates and restarts to get my system back up to date (the reinstall put 10.4.6 back on my system...), Airport disappeared entirely for about 5 or 6 restarts. I shut it down, took out the battery, and attempted to take the back off of my 18 mo. old Macbook. Well, I couldn't get the back off, but once I restarted everything was good.

I've had this problem in the past where the Airport card just disappears and seems to not even be installed, so I'm pretty sure there is something up with the card itself.
reubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 11:45 PM   #18
jakester2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Monmouth, OR
I fixed mine! Strange way..... :P

I had the same problem on my MacBook. So I took off the battery and pulled out the RAM sticks.... They had some kind of white dust covering the connectors. ( i think it was ceroded) So I cleaned off the white stuff and put them back, once i turned it back on; the AirPort card worked fine!
jakester2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 11:46 PM   #19
Aranince
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakester2 View Post
I had the same problem on my MacBook. So I took off the battery and pulled out the RAM sticks.... They had some kind of white dust covering the connectors. ( i think it was ceroded) So I cleaned off the white stuff and put them back, once i turned it back on; the AirPort card worked fine!
Both my parent's macbooks had the same thing. I think its just chalk to make sliding it in easier.
__________________
Don't tread on me.
Aranince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 09:46 AM   #20
PhilW
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
MacBook - No Airport Card Installed

My MacBook has just developed this problem.

It is a white 2.4Ghz machine, less than a year old. I upgraded the RAM two weeks ago and it's run perfectly since then. Yesterday, I was having a little trouble with Bluetooth (seems to be resolved) and today I cannot turn on Airport. I can't tell whether the RAM upgrade, the Bluetooth problem and the Airport problem are related but it does seem odd that they've all happened at the same time.

I have rebooted twice and still no Airport. My system profile can't see any Airport card.

Anyone got any ideas?
PhilW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 09:56 AM   #21
cantthinkofone
macrumors 65816
 
cantthinkofone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioChron View Post
Try reinstalling the OS, that may help. Or your card could be whacky.
Thats not necessary.


Try repairing permissions, then clear the P ram, check for updates. If that doesn't fix it take it to a apple store.
cantthinkofone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 10:01 AM   #22
PhilW
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by cantthinkofone View Post
Thats not necessary.


Try repairing permissions, then clear the P ram, check for updates. If that doesn't fix it take it to a apple store.
Just did this reset (PRAM?) and my Airport is back. Many thanks.
__________________
13.3" White MacBook, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD (was 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD);
Mac Mini 1.66 Ghz, 2 Gb RAM, 160 GB HD (was 1 GB RAM, 60 GB HD);
iPod of some sort.
PhilW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 11:59 AM   #23
oc2pus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
I had that issue once on my MacBook 4,1 after I really messed up. I was working in Windows XP and wanted to restart, but shut down the lid and to hard reset the machine. Then OS X told me that there's no Airport card installed. A simple clean reboot did it for me.
oc2pus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 12:07 PM   #24
Menge
macrumors 6502a
 
Menge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brazil
I've had this problem with my White MacBook (early 2006) and it was a hardware issue for me.
Every other boot, the computer wouldn't find the Airport Card.

I got the card replaced under AppleCare.
Menge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2009, 02:59 AM   #25
awhaas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I have a 2008 MacBook Pro and just had this problem tonight after having used Windows through boot camp for a few hours. Here is the really weird thing...in OS X it either says that there isn't an airport card (or it just won't turn on), but in Windows XP everything works fine. I tried repairing permissions, etc. but it didn't work. I turned the computer off for about 30 minutes and then everything was fine...I was playing a graphics intensive game in windows, which really heats my MacBook pro up...could the the card have overheated?

Last edited by awhaas; Jan 25, 2009 at 03:09 AM.
awhaas is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport card not installed!? (its new though!) KiiD MacBook Pro 3 Feb 22, 2014 05:38 AM
No Airport Card Installed? irishelysia923 MacBook Pro 1 Apr 21, 2013 03:16 AM
"No AirPort card installed" - hardware issue? Doc Horrorshow MacBook Pro 0 Nov 21, 2012 05:49 PM
No airport card installed Nerdrii OS X 2 Oct 6, 2012 12:34 AM
"No airport card installed" on Air, hardware or software problem? bbmiLo MacBook Air 2 Jun 4, 2012 10:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC