Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cms2

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 4, 2007
Texas
Every once in a while my MBP (running Leopard) just freezes. I'm relatively new to mac and was wondering what I can do short of cold-booting it. I know Cmd+Alt+Esc. But for instance when the screen displays just my background, no dock, no menu bar and Cmd+Alt+Esc doesn't seem to do anything are there any other keyboard combinations I should try before holding down the power button? Or are there other things I should do?

I rarely have a problem that so thoroughly crashes my system, but when I do I'm stuck realizing that while I knew a number of things to try in Windows (and often, often had to try them) I really don't know what to do when Mac doesn't just work. :rolleyes:

darwinian

macrumors 6502a
Jan 4, 2008
In R4, more or less
Also try ctrl + cmd + power.

Also you should wait a few moments because sometimes it's hard to tell what's really going on -- OS X sometimes looks stuck-er than it is. :)

cms2

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 4, 2007
Texas
Thanks. Hopefully :rolleyes: I won't have to use this one... but I wrote it on a sticky on my desk just in case.

snickelfritz

macrumors 65816
Oct 24, 2003
Tucson AZ
Every once in a while my MBP (running Leopard) just freezes. I'm relatively new to mac and was wondering what I can do short of cold-booting it. I know Cmd+Alt+Esc. But for instance when the screen displays just my background, no dock, no menu bar and Cmd+Alt+Esc doesn't seem to do anything are there any other keyboard combinations I should try before holding down the power button? Or are there other things I should do?

I rarely have a problem that so thoroughly crashes my system, but when I do I'm stuck realizing that while I knew a number of things to try in Windows (and often, often had to try them) I really don't know what to do when Mac doesn't just work. :rolleyes: