Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2008, 02:28 PM   #1
German Toys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NJ, USA
Handbrake causing incomplete encoding

I have searched a fair amount, and found that some have been having the same problems.

When I encode using handbrake from a DVD or from a Video_TS folder off the HD, Handbrake only encodes about 3/4s of the movie. Leaving the last 20 or so mins out of the film.

Movies I have tried:
Superbad
Simpsons
Bourne Ultimatum

I used mac the ripper to encode on the hd first, then used handbrake, with the same result. If copyrighted protection is playing a part in my problem, why would it cut off only the last 20 mins, why not the entire film.

I am using 2.0ghz macbook w/2gb ram.
German Toys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2008, 03:14 PM   #2
TheStu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carlisle, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by German Toys View Post
I have searched a fair amount, and found that some have been having the same problems.

When I encode using handbrake from a DVD or from a Video_TS folder off the HD, Handbrake only encodes about 3/4s of the movie. Leaving the last 20 or so mins out of the film.

Movies I have tried:
Superbad
Simpsons
Bourne Ultimatum

I used mac the ripper to encode on the hd first, then used handbrake, with the same result. If copyrighted protection is playing a part in my problem, why would it cut off only the last 20 mins, why not the entire film.

I am using 2.0ghz macbook w/2gb ram.
In that instance, I am not totally sure what is going on. Usually the copy protection is in the first few chapters, strange that it would fail toward the end.
__________________
MacBook 1.83GHz Core Duo; 1024MB RAM (2*512MB); 100GB 5400RPM 16MB SATA150; ComboDrive; Intel GMA950; Black Keys, White Shell
TheStu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 05:14 AM   #3
eistea
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have try tu backup the bourne ultimatum and others new dvd with mac the ripper: it's dont wants to work. Did he worked by you without problem?
eistea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 04:12 PM   #4
whidbeyben
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Handbrake misses last part of some movies

I have had the same experience with using handbrake to try to get some DVD's onto iPod. I tried ripping Spaceballs and 2010. In both cases, the last few minutes were cut off. I succeeded in ripping Pee Wee Herman's Great Adventure, and that complete movie made the conversion, so I'm not sure what's going on. Is it possible that it has something to do with double layered disks and the movie being broken into two different files, but Handbrake not automatically getting the second part? I don't know, I'm just hypothesizing.
whidbeyben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 02:56 PM   #5
mechler
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by German Toys View Post
I have searched a fair amount, and found that some have been having the same problems.

When I encode using handbrake from a DVD or from a Video_TS folder off the HD, Handbrake only encodes about 3/4s of the movie. Leaving the last 20 or so mins out of the film.

Movies I have tried:
Superbad
Simpsons
Bourne Ultimatum

I used mac the ripper to encode on the hd first, then used handbrake, with the same result. If copyrighted protection is playing a part in my problem, why would it cut off only the last 20 mins, why not the entire film.

I am using 2.0ghz macbook w/2gb ram.
I have successfully used Handbrake to re-encode The Simpsons for my Ipod Touch, so it can be done.

Here's what I would do:

1. Rip the movie with Mac the Ripper.
2. Play the Video_TS folder using another program to make sure everything ripped correctly. (I use a pc (for now) so I don't know what program to recommend - I use Intervideo DVD or something on my pc which isn't anything special)
3. Manually select the main movie on Handbrake (with The Simpsons, it's the file that is about 1h 28 min long)
4. If you ripped the DVD correctly and there is still a problem with Handbrake, post a screen shot of your settings.
__________________
32Gb Ipod Touch
Macbook Pro TBD...
mechler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 03:03 PM   #6
mechler
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Also, check out this short thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=419329

As the last poster eluded to, there is a dummy segment, so make sure to choose the file that is 1h 26 min instead of the 1h 46min one.
__________________
32Gb Ipod Touch
Macbook Pro TBD...
mechler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake encoding Problem teobilly Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jun 15, 2014 01:21 PM
Help: Handbrake Cutting Off MP4 Encoding ser968 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Apr 12, 2014 10:01 AM
Handbrake encoding audio pitch Elho Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 15, 2013 11:28 AM
Handbrake encoding Blu-Ray iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Sep 17, 2012 05:23 PM
Handbrake encoding Mac User 8295 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 18, 2012 01:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC