Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2008, 05:46 PM   #1
cheapa55
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
MBA and Photoshop CS3

For those who have received or will receive the MBA, and use PS CS3, can you guys report how well it works? Is it speedy? or a major drag?

I have a new 24" iMac 2.8ghz 4gb at home. I just sold my 10" VAIO that I used to take everywhere. I would use the MBA just for internet and occasional PS CS3 (all personal use), then at home (iMac) do any major editing and vacation movie editing.

I want to know if the MBA will be quick enough for PS.

TIA
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 11:19 PM   #2
Gregintosh
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
I am waiting for the Air myself and will also be using CS3.

If it helps any, and it probably doesn't help much, I had a Dell laptop recently that was 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo and had 2GB of RAM (in other words, same specs as the Air) and it ran Photoshop CS3 VERY well. I imagine this will be at least on par maybe better since the Air has better graphics card than my laptop (GMA 950 v. Air's X3100) and the Air is on Mac OS which beats Vista or XP.
Gregintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 01:32 AM   #3
andyokay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I could run CS3 on my old VAIO TX17 (1.2 Ghz Intel Pentium M, with 512MB ram) with no lag or major hassles.

Then again, I was just doing minor editing on 6MB photos.

Well, either way, I can run CS3 on a Macbook (2 GHz, Core 2 Duo) with a movie playing, a few torrent files downloading, Vista on VM Fusion (in another space), and a couple of safari windows open, and get some major editing done without anything slowing down.

So yes, definitely, you can. Quite comfortably, I would say.
andyokay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 01:38 AM   #4
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregintosh View Post
I imagine this will be at least on par maybe better since the Air has better graphics card than my laptop (GMA 950 v. Air's X3100) and the Air is on Mac OS which beats Vista or XP.

Photoshop doesn't employ the graphics card for 99% of the things it does, the MacBook Air has a 4200rpm drive in it which could hit Photoshop hard. It remains to be seen how suitable this machine is for anything more than simple photo-editing.

Anyone who says they know now isn't basing their opinions on anything concrete.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 02:02 PM   #5
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I appreciate the comments. I would really like to have a "real" life test. I wonder if the stores have CS3 loaded in them for me to test? I know they'll have aperture, but I like CS3 much better.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 09:50 AM   #6
youyesyou
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris, France
anyone could run photoshop cs3 filters tests ? Flash cs3 tests ?
youyesyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 11:52 AM   #7
Anderson3133
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregintosh View Post
I am waiting for the Air myself and will also be using CS3.

If it helps any, and it probably doesn't help much, I had a Dell laptop recently that was 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo and had 2GB of RAM (in other words, same specs as the Air) and it ran Photoshop CS3 VERY well. I imagine this will be at least on par maybe better since the Air has better graphics card than my laptop (GMA 950 v. Air's X3100) and the Air is on Mac OS which beats Vista or XP.
I can help you here
I USE CS3 on my Acer Aspire 1.6 Ghz Celeron M, 512GB RAM, 40GB HDD.


I think you should be able to use a C2D with 2GB RAM and 64/80 GB HDD

Also keep in mind I run BOTH Vista and XP Partitions on this thing.
Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2008, 11:59 AM   #8
treacle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: metro New York area
I have CS3 on my Mac Pro and MacBook Pro. I was thinking of installing it on my MBA but it will take up quite a bit of space. I may just put Lightroom on and wait for PS Elements 6 for the MBA but I may try PS3 and see how it runs. I wish Adobe had a Elements public beta. I just preordered PS element 6 Adobe expects shipping 3/16. Maybe I'll put CS3 on and then remove it when I get El 6.
__________________
Black MacBook : MacBook Pro : Eight Core Mac Pro : iPhone : MacBook Air

Last edited by treacle; Feb 4, 2008 at 12:06 PM.
treacle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshop CS3 Brainless24 Design and Graphics 16 Jan 30, 2014 06:13 AM
Photoshop CS3 on Mac Pro 1,4 dhughes9 Digital Photography 11 Mar 10, 2013 05:06 PM
Photoshop CS3 default save as puckhead193 Design and Graphics 1 Feb 3, 2013 07:26 PM
Photoshop CS3 compatablity? Lancer OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jun 16, 2012 11:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC