Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2008, 06:35 PM   #1
nentendo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Leapord on G4/500 single

hi all friend

i am new to this forum. i am just wondering that if i can install Leapord on G4/500 single proc and if i can is there any procedure i ahve to follow.



please advise

thanks
nentendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 06:39 PM   #2
overanalyzer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston, MA USA
The minimum requirements for Leopard are a G4 867. So barring forcing it to install, it's not an option, and I doubt it'd run exceptionally well anyway.

http://www.apple.com/macosx/techspecs/
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2.6GHz/512GB/16GB) / 27" Thunderbolt Display / iPad 3 / iPhone 5 / G4 Mac Mini / Apple TV 3
overanalyzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 06:53 PM   #3
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
it can be installed with some hacks but might run a little slow... i'm happy with tiger 10.4.11 and is pretty zippy on my dual 500. stick with tiger is my suggestion.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 06:56 PM   #4
jwdawso
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Cube

I run Leopard on a 450Mhz Cube, and it runs great! I used Firewire Target mode to install it.
__________________
-JD
jwdawso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 01:09 PM   #5
nentendo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hi jwdawso


r u running Leapord in internal drive or external drive you said you made Firewire and install it in Fiirewire than you switch your drive to internal

can you explain how you did it.


thanks
nentendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 01:20 AM   #6
Bastich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
No, he said he used Firewire Target mode. Pay attention!

It involves connecting your computer to one that meets the minimum requirement via Firewire cable, and installing from there.

Of course you could remove your drive, put it into an external case and use the qualifying computer to install it there, but that's a lot of unnecessary steps.

Bastich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2008, 01:59 AM   #7
afan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
try this, I have used it and it worked. http://www.mac.profusehost.net/leopardassist/

if that doesnt work try http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html

both worked for me. FYI leopard runs faster than tiger for me, the system pull is less on my imac g4. Tiger pulled 7-8% on the cpu. Leopard pulls only 2-3%
afan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2008, 02:43 PM   #8
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
i think i might have to give this a try, on my brothers old G4 466 Digital Audio.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install leopard on powermac g4 agp single CPU kabeer OS X 4 Jul 31, 2010 04:04 PM
M-Audio FW 410 with G4 400mhz, Specs say G4, 500 Minimum? Greenjeens Digital Audio 2 Jun 24, 2006 07:07 PM
FS: used G4/500, G4/dual-1.25 Powerhouse, 22" Monitor In Color Wasteland 3 Apr 22, 2005 09:56 AM
DVD-RAM problem on G4 Dual 500 Alte22a Macintosh Computers 0 Jan 23, 2004 09:09 PM
iBook 500 MHz vs. Tibook G4 500 MHz ISedlacek Hardware Rumors 21 May 9, 2002 01:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC