Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:33 AM   #1
Anderson3133
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Would this work?

Would this work in a MBA?
http://www.sandisk.com/OEM/ProductCa...A_5000_18.aspx

Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:35 AM   #2
overanalyzer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston, MA USA
It appears to be the right size...not sure on connection/drivers/etc. How much can you get it for? Considering you'd potentially be voiding your warranty for 8GB of storage over the 64GB, I'm assuming it must be way cheaper than the $1k Apple wants.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2.6GHz/512GB/16GB) / 27" Thunderbolt Display / iPad 3 / iPhone 5 / G4 Mac Mini / Apple TV 3
overanalyzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:36 AM   #3
Anderson3133
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyzer View Post
It appears to be the right size...not sure on connection/drivers/etc.
Thats what I was worried about.
Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:41 AM   #4
Anderson3133
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyzer View Post
It appears to be the right size...not sure on connection/drivers/etc. How much can you get it for? Considering you'd potentially be voiding your warranty for 8GB of storage over the 64GB, I'm assuming it must be way cheaper than the $1k Apple wants.
Not to sure, just kind of looking around.
Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:46 AM   #5
overanalyzer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston, MA USA
I'm having a really hard time finding out what model SSD the MBA uses. I'm wondering if it might actually be the SanDisk UATA, which maxes out at 64GB. I'd just be a bit surprised if they passed up the 72GB if it was an option, unless it was a lot more expensive. It just seems like the closer they get to offering an 80GB HDD or and ~80GB SDD, the easier it is for people to compare it and now have to weigh the loss of storage space, and therefore more readily pay to upgrade.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2.6GHz/512GB/16GB) / 27" Thunderbolt Display / iPad 3 / iPhone 5 / G4 Mac Mini / Apple TV 3
overanalyzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:49 AM   #6
Anderson3133
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyzer View Post
I'm having a really hard time finding out what model SSD the MBA uses. I'm wondering if it might actually be the SanDisk UATA, which maxes out at 64GB. I'd just be a bit surprised if they passed up the 72GB if it was an option, unless it was a lot more expensive. It just seems like the closer they get to offering an 80GB HDD or and ~80GB SDD, the easier it is for people to compare it and now have to weigh the loss of storage space, and therefore more readily pay to upgrade.
Actually, i believe its the Samsung SSD Pata: IDE

http://www.samsungssd.com/ssd_produc...id_choice.html



Especially since the HDD should be easily swapped out, which is also a PATA
Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:53 AM   #7
overanalyzer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston, MA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson3133 View Post
Actually, i believe its the Samsung SSD Pata: IDE

http://www.samsungssd.com/ssd_produc...id_choice.html



Especially since the HDD should be easily swapped out, which is also a PATA
That's entirely possible and would explain the 64GB since that seems to be Samsung's max. Didn't the SanDisk not have PATA though? Or are they actually using the SATA connection?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2.6GHz/512GB/16GB) / 27" Thunderbolt Display / iPad 3 / iPhone 5 / G4 Mac Mini / Apple TV 3
overanalyzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2008, 12:56 AM   #8
Anderson3133
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyzer View Post
That's entirely possible and would explain the 64GB since that seems to be Samsung's max. Didn't the SanDisk not have PATA though? Or are they actually using the SATA connection?
Just SATA

but I was looking around and Samsung are mass producing 128GB SSDs in the first quarter of the year.
Anderson3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN by iPhone work but at MacBook doesn't work! why ? Jingol Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 12, 2013 04:40 PM
Macbook Pro fail to work/reinstall on Mac OS, but work on windows saqxank MacBook Pro 0 Feb 28, 2013 12:15 PM
Recognizing Work Number as Work Place in Caller ID falcon362 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 30, 2012 11:36 AM
Does iMessages still work in Lion? If I found it online, can I install it and work? HappyDude20 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Aug 15, 2012 10:46 AM
I use some website callled Outlook Web App at work to check work email.can I use push aliensarecool iPhone 3 Aug 11, 2012 11:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC