Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kirbdog

macrumors regular
Original poster
My 12" Powerbook is now out of warranty and want to upgrade the hard drive.
Has anyone done this upgrade? If so what issues do I need to watch out for.

I have already gone over the step by step instructions posted on iFixit and don't foresee any issues, but thought I would check to see if anyone here has any experience with this upgrade.

I was considering a new MacBook Pro but I and going back to school soon and am feeling frugal. For the 500 bucks I could sell this machine for I rather try squeeze some more life out of it. :) :apple:

cantthinkofone

macrumors 65816
Jul 25, 2004
Missouri, USA
only problem i had was with the keys on the keyboard. i took apart maybe 10 12" when i worked in IT last year. If possible, get a very skinny hex screw driver (i think they are hex...) and just un-screw the two screws with out taking the keys off. Make sure you grab the screws or you could drop them in the computer case. No big deal really, but can make for a unsetteling rattle.

Other than that their walk thru is very straight forward. Macs are easy to work with.

Just pray you never have the replace the screen on a 12" :mad: what a b*tch that was.

spaceballl

macrumors 68030
Nov 2, 2003
San Francisco, CA
I upgraded the hdd on an iBook - Very similar process and a huge pain in the butt. In the end, it worked... But if I had to go back in time, i'd just pay someone else to do it...

augustgarage

macrumors newbie
Dec 7, 2007
My 12" Powerbook is now out of warranty and want to upgrade the hard drive.
Has anyone done this upgrade? If so what issues do I need to watch out for.

I have already gone over the step by step instructions posted on iFixit and don't foresee any issues, but thought I would check to see if anyone here has any experience with this upgrade.