Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:21 PM   #1
DJAKO
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Queue in HB

A full length movie usually takes about 2.5 hours to fully decode to a .mp4 file using the Apple TV preset. Is there anyway to queue up like 5 movies and just leave my laptop for the day and come back with them all done?

I don't know how to do this as every time I use HB, I had to pop the DVD into my optical drive
__________________
Follow me on Twitter
Retina Macbook Pro
DJAKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:47 PM   #2
MikieMikie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, MA
Unless you "rip" the DVD first, you cannot use Handbrake's queue.

I suggest you get MacTheRipper 3.0 R14 (as a great place to start and end, if the link still works...

You spend a little time (15-30 minutes) copying the DVD files to your hard drive. You can then use Handbrake's "add to queue!"

Nothing like it.
MikieMikie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:49 PM   #3
FreeState
macrumors 68000
 
FreeState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJAKO View Post
A full length movie usually takes about 2.5 hours to fully decode to a .mp4 file using the Apple TV preset. Is there anyway to queue up like 5 movies and just leave my laptop for the day and come back with them all done?

I don't know how to do this as every time I use HB, I had to pop the DVD into my optical drive
Yes just click "add to Queue" at the top
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapshot-2008-02-05-15-47-33.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	101106  
FreeState is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:56 PM   #4
cohibadad
macrumors 6502a
 
cohibadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Ripping is fast. Encoding is slow. I usually leave a queue of ripped DVDs to encode overnight when I am encoding.
cohibadad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 06:57 PM   #5
MikieMikie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeState View Post
Yes just click "add to Queue" at the top
Tough to do when he only has one DVD in his one DVD drive, eh?
MikieMikie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 07:07 PM   #6
FreeState
macrumors 68000
 
FreeState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikieMikie View Post
Tough to do when he only has one DVD in his one DVD drive, eh?
Yeah I was working on my post when you posted yours so I just left what I had written out.
FreeState is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2008, 07:25 PM   #7
f(A)t'kId
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I use a free program called DVDfab in windows via Parallels. Encode 5 or 6 movies and queue them up for an overnight run. Plus it only spins your drive for 10 - 15 mins instead of 2 1/2 hours per movie. DVDfab rewrites the files that give normal ripping programs a hard time. Sometimes MTR won't work on a dvd but DVDfab will. Just a thought.
f(A)t'kId is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Queue Songs Shinchan.Nohara Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Feb 12, 2014 01:48 AM
When and where to queue in the UK ohenriquez iPhone Launch Meetups 12 Sep 12, 2013 07:21 AM
Netflix UK - now has a queue (at last) steve-p Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Aug 21, 2013 05:52 PM
Transmission: Queue badman89 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 29, 2012 04:33 PM
Music Queue bisonthrow iOS 6 1 Jun 12, 2012 11:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC