Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 10, 2008, 11:26 PM   #1
will.i.am
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
iBook wont boot cd using "C" before start-up

Hello, I just received a iBook (1.2 30GB 512mb) no cd include, but I have a macbook tiger cd.

I wanted to do a fresh installation of tiger or even leopard but when I have the macbook tiger cd and press "C" it just goes start to the desktop without loading the CD.

When I load any CD/DVD i am about to view the content of the CD/DVD within tiger, but I just can't boot it to do a fresh installation.

Also when I click on Option, it doesn't give me the option to set the boot devise.

Is there any other way to do a fresh installation of Tiger onto this laptop?

Thanks in advance.
will.i.am is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2008, 03:53 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
You cannot use a disc from another machine to install OSX onto this machine, especially since one is a PowerPC machine and one is an Intel one. You'll need to purchase a retail version of Tiger, or another version of OSX released after the iBook's build date.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2008, 09:05 AM   #3
will.i.am
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
You cannot use a disc from another machine to install OSX onto this machine, especially since one is a PowerPC machine and one is an Intel one. You'll need to purchase a retail version of Tiger, or another version of OSX released after the iBook's build date.
Thanks for the reply, so I will need to find a copy of Apple osX Tiger for PPC?

Any more input would be great!
will.i.am is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2008, 03:13 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, it's really just that simple mate.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2008, 09:36 AM   #5
ssmithonline
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.i.am View Post
Hello, I just received a iBook (1.2 30GB 512mb) no cd include, but I have a macbook tiger cd.

I wanted to do a fresh installation of tiger or even leopard but when I have the macbook tiger cd and press "C" it just goes start to the desktop without loading the CD.

When I load any CD/DVD i am about to view the content of the CD/DVD within tiger, but I just can't boot it to do a fresh installation.

Also when I click on Option, it doesn't give me the option to set the boot devise.

Is there any other way to do a fresh installation of Tiger onto this laptop?

Thanks in advance.
My ibook G4 uses the "option/alt" key to boot from the cd. Don't know anything about the compatibility issues, I'll leave that to the guru's here.
ssmithonline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2008, 03:50 PM   #6
will.i.am
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmithonline View Post
My ibook G4 uses the "option/alt" key to boot from the cd. Don't know anything about the compatibility issues, I'll leave that to the guru's here.
Thank you, I will try OPTION/ALT later today.


PS, would I be able to install Leopard on this system? Would I just boot the CD from the Drive? Thanks in advance.
will.i.am is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2008, 03:55 PM   #7
kyleaa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.i.am View Post
press "C"
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.i.am View Post
click on Option
Just checking - you do know you have to hold it down, right? Your choice of words make it sounds like you just pushed the button once and let go.

I'm not trying to be a jerk, just wanted to make sure it isnt something simple :-). Using option should give you a boot menu regardless of wether or not there is a bootable cd or drive available - it should just list solely your hard drive.
__________________
Kyle Anderson
kyleaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2008, 10:51 PM   #8
will.i.am
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleaa View Post
Just checking - you do know you have to hold it down, right? Your choice of words make it sounds like you just pushed the button once and let go.

I'm not trying to be a jerk, just wanted to make sure it isnt something simple :-). Using option should give you a boot menu regardless of wether or not there is a bootable cd or drive available - it should just list solely your hard drive.
Yea thanks for the input. I held down "C and Option" (I tried together and separately), but to no avail. I even tried holding down "T" to enter TDM but also it doesnt boot to TDM.

Any extra help? Seem to be stressing me out.
will.i.am is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 12:52 PM   #9
ssmithonline
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.i.am View Post
Yea thanks for the input. I held down "C and Option" (I tried together and separately), but to no avail. I even tried holding down "T" to enter TDM but also it doesnt boot to TDM.

Any extra help? Seem to be stressing me out.
It sounds like there's no system folder on the disk you're trying to boot from, or its a dvd install disk and your Ibook only has a cd rom drive, and thats why it wont pick it up. I could be wrong but that's what it sound like to me.
ssmithonline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 12:58 PM   #10
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
First, the iBook G4 1.2 has either a combo drive or a SuperDrive so it is not the disc. You cannot boot off of a disc made for an Intel Mac, regardless of what you try. I would suggest buying Leopard and installing it. Also, you have to wait until after the startup chime before holding down 'c' or 'option', otherwise the computer just thinks the key is stuck.

will.i.am - A fan of B.E.P.?

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 12:59 PM   #11
rezenclowd3
macrumors 6502a
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber at the track.
I have the same problem with quite a few boot CDs including Diskwarrior, Techtool and my retail Leapord disc on my MBP. Sometimes it will boot, sometimes not. It also has the problem of failing to write quite a few of my ISOs with Toast. I just have to call Apple once I buy my extended Applecare. Luckily I have a spare external Lacie DVD drive which I use for most of my disc boot problems.
__________________
MBA 1.8 i7 Sandy Bridge, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD
i7 3770K, Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z, 16GB Ram, 12TB Raid 10
rezenclowd3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 01:30 PM   #12
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
I have the same problem with quite a few boot CDs including Diskwarrior, Techtool and my retail Leapord disc on my MBP. Sometimes it will boot, sometimes not. It also has the problem of failing to write quite a few of my ISOs with Toast. I just have to call Apple once I buy my extended Applecare. Luckily I have a spare external Lacie DVD drive which I use for most of my disc boot problems.
You may need to clean the drive. I had a problem playing burned CDs and DVDs in my PowerBook's combo drive. I used my aunts CD/DVD player cleaner (with brushes on the disc) and now I can use them both.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 03:23 PM   #13
rezenclowd3
macrumors 6502a
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber at the track.
Maybe, but my MBP is only 5 months old, and I keep it wrapped like a newborn baby;-) Ive experienced quite a few mac cd/dvd drives that don't boot being that Im a computer consultant, but its just the position I am in, always fixing broken computers for people, not using ones that work correctly. Its just frustrating that MY personal laptop superdrive does not work as well as it should.
__________________
MBA 1.8 i7 Sandy Bridge, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD
i7 3770K, Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z, 16GB Ram, 12TB Raid 10
rezenclowd3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 05:01 PM   #14
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Holding C at startup boots from the CD or DVD drive. Holding OPTION at startup gives you a panel to choose your startup volume. Neither of these options will let you boot a PowerPC Mac from an Intel Mac's disc.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 10:00 AM   #15
neyser0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
try going to your desktop, click on Preferences , open start up disk and highlight your bootable disc, Click restart and your MAC Will try to boot from your disc before it tries your Hard drive.
neyser0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt 15" Macbook Pro with Windows 7 install wont boot kalaharinik MacBook Pro 5 May 15, 2013 03:33 AM
Macbook Pro 15" A1226 Logic board makes ticking noises, wont start all the way 12345lonestar MacBook Pro 0 Feb 26, 2013 02:47 PM
iPhone: Removed "Slide Camera" in LS but "Unlock Slider" wont move JPNFRK7 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 4, 2013 09:58 PM
Start a new tab similar to "iOS blog" and "Mac blog" but make it "IPhone Leaks?" Dewroo Site and Forum Feedback 2 Aug 23, 2012 09:47 AM
Mac will start up but wont boot Hello?? Mac Basics and Help 3 Jul 19, 2012 11:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC