Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2008, 06:28 PM   #1
ddk121
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales, UK
SMC Reset..

Would you recommend doing an SMC reset on a MBA? If so, how do I do it? I'm having problems with battery charge times...
ddk121 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 06:31 PM   #2
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
It is a PMU reset, with the computer off, hold down Command+Option+Power+Shift.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 06:37 PM   #3
ddk121
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales, UK
How long do I hold them down for? Is something suppose to happen with the machine?
ddk121 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2008, 06:39 PM   #4
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
The computer will eventually startup, once it starts up you should be fine.
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 05:26 AM   #5
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddk121 View Post
How long do I hold them down for? Is something suppose to happen with the machine?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEG View Post
The computer will eventually startup, once it starts up you should be fine.
That sounds misleading, as if you hold them until the machine starts up.

The correct procedure according to Apple™ is you press them down together once with the power button and let go. You then Wait 5-10 seconds and then press the power button again as normal to start up your computer.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 10:06 AM   #6
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
That sounds misleading, as if you hold them until the machine starts up.

The correct procedure according to Apple™ is you press them down together once with the power button and let go. You then Wait 5-10 seconds and then press the power button again as normal to start up your computer.
I was going with my experience with other machines, coupled with the fact that the battery was built it. I just assumed that you would hold it down, the PMU would reset/cycle, then the computer would activate.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 12:28 PM   #7
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEG View Post
I was going with my experience with other machines, coupled with the fact that the battery was built it. I just assumed that you would hold it down, the PMU would reset/cycle, then the computer would activate.

TEG
Yeah they changed it for the macbook air. Normal pmu/smc reset on the macbook and macbook pro is take the battery out, press power button
Put battery back in and then power up as normal. Obviously they had to change this for the MBA.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 02:29 PM   #8
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Why not just post a link, like this?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303319
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 09:48 PM   #9
VS007
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingjr3 View Post
Why not just post a link, like this?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303319
My MBA did not restart, no display, no keyboard light and pressing the power button for long did not help either. In the end saw the link above and followed these three steps mentioned in the link and my MBA came to life and is working now.

Force Quit (Option-Command-Escape)
Restart (Control-Command-Power)
Force Shut Down (press the power button for 10 seconds)

Any issues in running the above commands?

This line in the link concerns me, how come SMC becomes unstable?
Over time, the settings in the System Management Controller may become unusable, which can result in operational anomalies with the computer.

Regards
VS007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 10:28 PM   #10
pkoch1
macrumors 6502a
 
pkoch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEG View Post
It is a PMU reset, with the computer off, hold down Command+Option+Power+Shift.

TEG
I don't think it has been PMU (Power Management Unit) since the PowerPC days. The first intel computers had SMU (System Management Unit) chips and the newer ones have SMC (System Management Controller)

...to the best of my knowledge.

EDIT: I guess the later Power Mac G5s were the ones with the SMU, not the first intel machines.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.26GHz Mactopus
pkoch1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reset smc using terminal Bsuperman1 MacBook 0 Mar 21, 2014 12:20 AM
Is SMC reset necessary? shangdi Mac Basics and Help 4 Dec 14, 2013 04:51 PM
SMC Reset revenent MacBook Pro 1 Jan 25, 2013 05:34 AM
Unable to reset SMC michaelshaw MacBook Air 3 Dec 20, 2012 09:32 PM
I have to reset SMC every 2. week or so?! Zeov MacBook Pro 3 Nov 16, 2012 11:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC