Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

samkhazary

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 5, 2008
Hey do you guys think the macbook air can handle large excel sheets, intensive formulas/sheets, and large VBA workbooks?

I do a lot of financial modeling and was curious if the processor and amount of ram can handle huge excel workbook with extensive calculations?

Other than that I don't really use my laptop for anything but web browsing and email... just have XP setup thru boot-camp/fusion... Just wondering if this can handle hard core excel stuff.... if not I'm afraid I have to go back to the bulky MBP....

I really could use any advice possible you guys can offer... I'm brand new with a mac, been a windows user my whole life and switched over last month.

Gemba

macrumors newbie
Feb 13, 2008
Haven't got my MBA yet so can't provide reassurance of large Excel model performance (albeit I assume it will be adequate for most mortals). However, one thing you need to be aware of if you are new to Apple is that MS Office 2008 does not support VBA so if you rely on Excel spreadsheets with macros they will not run on the Mac version. Yes, I couldn't believe it either!

PS Of course you can run XP Excel on the MBA via Bootcamp, Parallels or Fusion

ProPedderKustom

macrumors regular
Jan 11, 2008
Haven't got my MBA yet so can't provide reassurance of large Excel model performance (albeit I assume it will be adequate for most mortals). However, one thing you need to be aware of if you are new to Apple is that MS Office 2008 does not support VBA so if you rely on Excel spreadsheets with macros they will not run on the Mac version. Yes, I couldn't believe it either!