Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2008, 09:23 PM   #1
ibookman321
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Post intel into a imac g4?

can you drop an intel chip into a imac g4? i dont have a mac but i was just windering, you see i am use to pc type stuff... so its probably a stupid questan... please be nice!

thanks!
__________________
an apple a day keeps the blue screens *away*!
*results may very!.
ibookman321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 09:29 PM   #2
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
No, you can not. There are tons of reason why, but it all boils down to the same thing, which is 'No'.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2008, 09:42 PM   #3
ibookman321
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
ok thanks for the info man!
__________________
an apple a day keeps the blue screens *away*!
*results may very!.
ibookman321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 02:24 PM   #4
a104375
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Matamoras, PA
lol that would be like putting a ppc into a intel mac or a ppc into a windows computer
a104375 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 02:41 AM   #5
KurtangleTN
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Actually not too long ago I saw a forum member here create a thread talking about putting an Intel Mac Mini in, although I forgot how it went.
KurtangleTN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 08:17 AM   #6
g-7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtangleTN View Post
Actually not too long ago I saw a forum member here create a thread talking about putting an Intel Mac Mini in, although I forgot how it went.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=224698

That's pity there seems no way to do it. It would be great to have a decent
2GHz/2GB Mac mini inside that gorgeous iMac G4 case... Maybe one day
someone will figure out a way. My iMac is waiting.
g-7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 05:23 AM   #7
AlexisV
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
The chips fit in different sockets for a start,

The supporting north and south bridge chips are for different processor types, plus there's memoty and bus speed issues as well.

The whole architecture is different.
AlexisV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 11:07 AM   #8
ibookman321
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by g-7 View Post
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=224698

That's pity there seems no way to do it. It would be great to have a decent
2GHz/2GB Mac mini inside that gorgeous iMac G4 case... Maybe one day
someone will figure out a way. My iMac is waiting.
that would be cool! (u can give me your g4 imac if you want!) i dont have a mac but still... I WANT A MACBOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
an apple a day keeps the blue screens *away*!
*results may very!.
ibookman321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 11:23 AM   #9
shoulin333
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibookman321 View Post
that would be cool! (u can give me your g4 imac if you want!) i dont have a mac but still... I WANT A MACBOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


MARKETPLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol
__________________
15" rMBP - Late 2013
27" iMac - Mid 2011 (Custom Fusion Drive - 256GB SSD/1TB HDD)
iPhone 5[S] - 16gb Space Grey(Verizon)
shoulin333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2008, 10:01 AM   #10
ibookman321
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoulin333 View Post
MARKETPLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol
credit card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that i applyd for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
an apple a day keeps the blue screens *away*!
*results may very!.
ibookman321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sell The G5 for an Intel iMac? reubenatour PowerPC Macs 23 Apr 2, 2013 12:27 AM
24' intel imac dying - teddyofindy iMac 14 Aug 13, 2012 02:42 PM
iMac intel 3.06 ghz beavin247 iMac 1 Jul 28, 2012 08:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC