Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2008, 03:16 AM   #1
OneKiwi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Powerbook Problem 2

I had what I thought was a dead PB G4 500mhz and would you believe it I was taking it apart preparing for maybe a new logicboard and just plain old tinkering
I think I reconnected something and now it works ...BUT the screen freezes with multi coloured lines vert + horiz at different times

and

It comes over like a wave of blurr freezes etc after a while normal but for not enough time to do anything

Have you got any idea whats going on, and how to solve it in the easiest, least troublesome way?
OneKiwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 05:44 AM   #2
OneKiwi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Ive kept reading and now connected my PB to my LCD TV and the screen there is normal, no lines and no freezing, so its not the logic board right??
Thinking its in the cables.
So im gonna open her up and check the connections again.. where are the screen connectors located?
Could it be something else?
OneKiwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 06:02 AM   #3
Tosser
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I'm thinking cables too. But not the connections (plugs). I think it might be the flat flexible "wire" going to the screen is broken from flexing for so long.
Tosser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 10:21 AM   #4
OneKiwi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Do you know if I can change it ?
Fix it or make it better?
OneKiwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 10:45 AM   #5
Tosser
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneKiwi View Post
Do you know if I can change it ?
Fix it or make it better?
I would assume you could buy one of those "bands" (I have no clue what to call them in english) from an electronics shop. But where? I really don't know, but if I were going that route, the place I would begin my search would be at www.pbfixit.com

I found this too:

http://www.angelfire.com/hero/amdpx/powerbook.htm

And this:

http://www.powerbookmedic.com/LCD-Di...p-1-c-503.html
Tosser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 10:48 AM   #6
Tosser
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hmm, I found the gold-post to get you going, methinks:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....7325&tstart=45

Second post.
Tosser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 11:06 AM   #7
Jestered
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
If you are going to replace the video cable, you cannot just get a "universal" cable from an electronics shop. You have to get the cable for that computer/model.

I would first check the connections and check for bent or cracked cables first.

If you decide to replace the video cable.... it is not easy on that computer. If you have not done it before, it will be difficult. You will have to literally tear the computer completely apart. You will also have to pry the display housing apart. The display housing on that computer is pretty much glued to the display. You will have to be very careful and pry it apart. Then you will have to replace the video cable and glue the casing back together. You have to be careful about getting glue on the front of the display too.

It can be done if you are patient and prepared for a difficult repair.

GL
__________________
15" Unibody MacBook Pro - 2.4GHz - 4GB RAM - 500GB Hybrid HD
32GB iPhone 4 (Black)
32GB iPad
AppleTV2 + 120GB AppleTV
Jestered is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starcraft 2 Skirmish Problem horace528 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 13 Aug 10, 2011 07:57 AM
iOS 5 Beta 2 jailbreak to ipod touch has problem Nicolas4ever iPod touch 2 Jul 6, 2011 07:40 AM
Apple TV 2 Colour Problem fabian9 Apple TV and Home Theater 17 Nov 22, 2010 06:21 PM
A really bad problem to me on 4.2.1 zjzjn1 iPod touch 2 Nov 22, 2010 02:20 PM
My Lombard G3 400mhz powerbook problem aic General Mac Discussion 6 Mar 2, 2003 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC