Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2008, 10:32 AM   #1
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
To hack or not to hack? (Need more space)

OK, now TV 2.0 is here and it looks good, but I still feel like I need more space than 40 GB, as I really don't want to keep my PC on and running iTunes all the time. So, I guess I have a few options:
  • Buy a new/refurb 160 GB unit
  • Upgrade the HDD in mine to 160 GB (or largrer)
  • Revert to 1.0, enable USB and use an external...

If I went with the first option I'd move my 40 GB to the other TV.

What's the largest HDD anyone has successfully used?

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 12:54 PM   #2
JonHimself
macrumors 68000
 
JonHimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
OK, now TV 2.0 is here and it looks good, but I still feel like I need more space than 40 GB, as I really don't want to keep my PC on and running iTunes all the time. So, I guess I have a few options:
  • Buy a new/refurb 160 GB unit
  • Upgrade the HDD in mine to 160 GB (or largrer)
  • Revert to 1.0, enable USB and use an external...

If I went with the first option I'd move my 40 GB to the other TV.

What's the largest HDD anyone has successfully used?

B
I'm looking to add harddrive space to mine, both to stop relying on my computer to be on AND to be able to have a portable library of all of my DVDs. I'm still leaning towards keeping my 40GB and just installing a bigger hard drive. In another thread I started someone posted that 250gb was the largest. I don't know if it's true or not but that's what was said. I wonder why there is a cap (if there is one)? It would seem logical that it can take as large of a hard drive as you can get (I think I saw a 320GB laptop 2.5" drive)
__________________
shambo, Changing the definition of "future proof" since April 2009.
JonHimself is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 01:11 PM   #3
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
What's the largest HDD anyone has successfully used?
The largest on the market today is 250 gigs. It's not difficult to upgrade, but you should consider buying iPartition as some have reported problems using the cl for partitioning (including me).
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 01:13 PM   #4
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonHimself View Post
In another thread I started someone posted that 250gb was the largest. I don't know if it's true or not but that's what was said. I wonder why there is a cap (if there is one)? It would seem logical that it can take as large of a hard drive as you can get (I think I saw a 320GB laptop 2.5" drive)
The ATV takes a PATA interfaced-drive, the largest of which currently sold is 250 gigs. Had Apple put a SATA interface in it you'd be able to put a 500 gig drive in it (soon, from WD and Samsung). Look for it in the next iteration, I suppose.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 01:53 PM   #5
balamw
Thread Starter
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
FWIW I've even considered making a franken--TV to make use of larger 3.5" PATA HDDs. I've got a few DirecTV TiVos that are now unsupported due to the MPEG4 transition, so I already have some cases I could probably adapt to the task that would not look out of place in an A/V rack.

I figure I can probably remote the IR sensor and still manage to put the TV in the back of the case so the composite and HDMI connectors come out in the "right" place... 2.5"-3.5" adapter and pull power from a separate P/S for the HDD.

This way I could end up with a 750 GB TV for pretty cheap.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2008, 05:23 PM   #6
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
It's also already been discussed, even for a 1.5 tb ATV. Just a few days ago.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Any hack to do this? theaero Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jun 19, 2013 12:05 PM
Is someone trying to hack me? caymandrew Mac Basics and Help 2 Feb 18, 2013 06:09 PM
hack Shooterman iPod 2 Jun 20, 2012 07:07 PM
iPod Touch: Is there a N.O.V.A. hack out there? nysegop Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jun 8, 2012 02:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC