Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2008, 06:29 PM   #1
yippy
macrumors 68020
 
yippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to yippy
PowerBook G4 2GB RAM chips?

Is it possible to put a 2GB RAM chip in a 1.5GHz PowerBook G4? I think the answer is no but I just want to make sure.

The reason I want to do this is that the lower RAM slot died leaving me with only one usable slot. I am not looking to go over the 2GB maximum on my machine but I want to know if I can get to that maximum using only one slot.

Put another way, does anybody know if the 2GB maximum is due to each slot only recognizing up to 1GB each or is it that the motherboard can only address up to 2GB total?

Thanks
yippy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 07:08 PM   #2
noodle654
macrumors 68010
 
noodle654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Never Ender
Quote:
Originally Posted by yippy View Post
Is it possible to put a 2GB RAM chip in a 1.5GHz PowerBook G4? I think the answer is no but I just want to make sure.

The reason I want to do this is that the lower RAM slot died leaving me with only one usable slot. I am not looking to go over the 2GB maximum on my machine but I want to know if I can get to that maximum using only one slot.

Put another way, does anybody know if the 2GB maximum is due to each slot only recognizing up to 1GB each or is it that the motherboard can only address up to 2GB total?

Thanks
Doesnt Apple have an extended warranty for the PB with lower RAM slot failure?
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" i7 2.3GHz (Late 2013) | iPhone 6 128GB | MacBook Air i5 1.3GHz (2013) | Mac Mini C2D 2.26GHz (Late 2009)| iPad Air 2 64GB LTE
noodle654 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 07:10 PM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
You can read about it here.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 07:24 PM   #4
yippy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
yippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to yippy
Unfortunately my PowerBook does not fall under that extended warrantee. I did find that when the slot first died a few months ago and my serial number is not in the correct range. My PowerBook is also in the 1.33/1.5GHz series, not the 1.5/1.67GHz series so I am not even in the correct generation for it.

It isn't worth the $700 to fix it on my own so I am hoping someone tried a 2GB chip. It is a shot in the dark, I know.
yippy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 11:15 AM   #5
cosolin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
I have the same problem with my powerbook G4. Did you ever try the 2gb ram chip in the one slot to see if it worked? Hope it did.
cosolin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook g4 1 x 2gb ram stick will work? jwjsr PowerPC Macs 14 Mar 5, 2014 09:55 PM
Best order to install Ram chips in Early 2008? Moleyman69 Mac Pro 7 Dec 29, 2013 04:24 PM
Resolved: Deal on a Powerbook G4 15' 1.67GHz 2GB RAM, need thoughts :) cyberghoser1 Apple Collectors 23 Dec 31, 2012 12:18 AM
2GB Ram 64GB or 4GB Ram 128GB Model? Martylaa MacBook Air 4 Aug 31, 2012 05:50 PM
2008 2GB Ram ---> 8GB Ram ZacNicholson OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Aug 1, 2012 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC