Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2008, 11:03 PM   #1
ks-man
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Time Capsule or Western Digital Passport in Airport Extreme

I posted this in a different thread, but I think it is important enough for its own thread.

I was planning on getting a time capsule, but do you guys think a better way to go would be to get the Airport Extreme + that Western Digital Passport 320 (net $359) instead of the 500 GB time capsule ($299).

I'm assuming you could hook up the Western Digital to Airport Extreme and then you can still then take the HD with you or hook it straight to the MBA if you want a quicker transfer. I don't need the extra 180GB and the extra $60 might be well worth it.

I guess the main question is for people using USB hard drives in the Airport Extreme. Does that work really well? At first I thought it made sense to just build a hard drive into it, but seeing how small and portable this one is, now I'm wondering if that is really the case.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136211
__________________
iMac-3.06Ghz/NV130/1TB|MBA-1.86Ghz/128GB/4GB and 1.6GHz/80GB|iPhone 4-32GB|iPad1 32GB|iPad3 64GB|iPTouch 8GB|iPod Classic 120GB|Nano 4GB|Time Capsule 500GB|AEBS Dual Band|AEX
I surrender Apple!
ks-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 11:05 PM   #2
MazingerZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks-man View Post
I posted this in a different thread, but I think it is important enough for its own thread.

I was planning on getting a time capsule, but do you guys think a better way to go would be to get the Airport Extreme + that Western Digital Passport 320 (net $359) instead of the 500 GB time capsule ($299).

I'm assuming you could hook up the Western Digital to Airport Extreme and then you can still then take the HD with you or hook it straight to the MBA if you want a quicker transfer. I don't need the extra 180GB and the extra $60 might be well worth it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136211
Well, you can't use time machine (not without a hack and its slow) with an airport extreme + USB Hard drive.
MazingerZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2008, 11:11 PM   #3
ks-man
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazingerZ View Post
Well, you can't use time machine (not without a hack and its slow) with an airport extreme + USB Hard drive.
What kind of a hack? Would it work differently with Time Capsule or do you think 10.5.2 has a new feature?

It doesn't make sense that it would work with Time Capsule but not with extreme + USB HD unless Apple is purposely disabling it which I don't think they would.
__________________
iMac-3.06Ghz/NV130/1TB|MBA-1.86Ghz/128GB/4GB and 1.6GHz/80GB|iPhone 4-32GB|iPad1 32GB|iPad3 64GB|iPTouch 8GB|iPod Classic 120GB|Nano 4GB|Time Capsule 500GB|AEBS Dual Band|AEX
I surrender Apple!
ks-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 01:07 AM   #4
fauxdustin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
it worked in early builds of 10.5, but then apple removed it towards the end.

the only reason i could imagine they did this was to force time capsule on people.
__________________
Macbook Air 1.6/80; 12" iBook G4; Airport Extreme; 1st Gen iPod Touch 8GB; 4th Gen iPod Nano 8GB [blue]
fauxdustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 01:48 AM   #5
ks-man
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauxdustin View Post
it worked in early builds of 10.5, but then apple removed it towards the end.

the only reason i could imagine they did this was to force time capsule on people.
That really would suck. Has anybody with 10.5.2 tried it? You would think there would be a lot of backlash towards Apple if it works with Time Capsule but not with extreme + usb HD. Apple would have no defense other than we want people who already bought extreme to have to buy time capsule.

we shall see.
__________________
iMac-3.06Ghz/NV130/1TB|MBA-1.86Ghz/128GB/4GB and 1.6GHz/80GB|iPhone 4-32GB|iPad1 32GB|iPad3 64GB|iPTouch 8GB|iPod Classic 120GB|Nano 4GB|Time Capsule 500GB|AEBS Dual Band|AEX
I surrender Apple!
ks-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 02:49 AM   #6
iCheddar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Dakota
Send a message via MSN to iCheddar
Purportedly, the reason Time Machine doesn't work with AirDisk is because the USB port on AEBS isn't fast enough and is too laggy for it to work correctly.

This lagginess was solved by building a SATA hard drive right onto the AEBS, thus Time Capsule.
__________________
FLIQLO: The screensaver is ALWAYS FLIQLO
iCheddar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 10:45 AM   #7
ddd269
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Torrance, CA
When I had the USB drive working on my airport extreme (for a short time), I didn't really care for it because it was sooooo slow. Trying to backup my MBP's 60GB/80GB of storage estimated something crazy around 20 hours or so! Don't remember the exact time, but it was stupid slow.

Since then, I just plug in my portable WD once a week and I'm good.
ddd269 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Passport ( Western Digital) Zcev5454 MacBook Pro 7 Mar 21, 2013 08:22 AM
Airport Extreme vs. Western Digital N900? benjaminhill Mac Peripherals 5 Jun 29, 2012 02:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC