Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2008, 04:19 AM   #1
benhg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
3 monitors on a G5?

Hello

I have a G5 with an Nvidia 7800GT graphics card. what are my options if i need to have 3 monitors running at the same time (currently i can only have 2).

Thank you

Ben
benhg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 04:41 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
1) Add a second video card. This will have to be a Mac card compatible with your particular machine

2) Accept the compromises and go with one of the Matrox Dual or TripleHead2Go products
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 05:38 AM   #3
benhg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
1) Add a second video card. This will have to be a Mac card compatible with your particular machine

2) Accept the compromises and go with one of the Matrox Dual or TripleHead2Go products

I have a Dual 2.3Ghz PowerPC G5
2Gig Ram
Nvidia 7800GT

what other graphics card will i need to get? will putting in an additional Nvidia 7800GT do the job, or will i need to purchase 2 new graphic cards?

Thanks

Ben
benhg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 05:58 AM   #4
choreo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Midland, TX
I have run 3 monitors for the past 12 years on all my Macs. I just retired a Dual 2.0-Gig G5 that had 3 monitors connected for the past 4 years. I now have a new Mac Pro running 3 Sony 23" CRTs.

What I always do is hook my Main monitor to the card in the fastest (lowest) slot and then buy a second PCI card, put it in slot 2 and hook up the other two monitors to it. That gives me full speed to the main monitor that may be used for video often. I had an ATI 1900 in my latest G5 as a second card, but you will just need to see what is compatible with your particular machine.
choreo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 06:31 AM   #5
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by choreo View Post
I now have a new Mac Pro running 3 Sony 23" CRTs.
THREE 23" CRTs?! Is your desk made of I-beams?!

Last edited by Tallest Skil; Feb 18, 2008 at 02:31 PM.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 06:37 AM   #6
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
Quite a few years ago I had a 21" CRT and it was a brute !! I can't imagine 3 23" CRT's ....
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2008, 07:19 AM   #7
smogsy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
if i was you ive just get a good 24ich LCD might have lower resolution but you will love the extra space heck if you got space for 3 23ich crts you could fit 6 LCDS :P
__________________
Mac Pro 2009, 2.26GHz, 12GB Ram, 4870 512MB 2.6TB HDD
Macbook 2.2 C2D, 4GB, 120GB, X3100
smogsy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 01:09 AM   #8
choreo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Midland, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
THREE 23" CRTs?! Is your desk made of I-beams?!
Close... it is specially reinforced as they weigh about 100-lbs each and that does not count the video monitors an light box!
choreo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which video card to buy in order to run 3 monitors on a PM G5? macaddict23 Buying Tips and Advice 3 Oct 31, 2008 03:32 PM
Mac OS Version 10.3.9 on iMAC G5 and Safari 3.1.1installation zillah Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 28, 2008 06:56 AM
3 Monitors on a Dual G5 colinet Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 27, 2007 03:15 AM
More Than 2 Monitors on Powermac G5 jobutex Mac Basics and Help 4 Feb 15, 2006 10:13 PM
3+ monitors on a G5... how? hotwire132002 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 5 Jan 23, 2005 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC