Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2012, 10:59 AM   #251
Cobra611
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Beacon, NY
Thanks Mic J! One last thing, where can I get that download? I got the last one from CNET's website.
Cobra611 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 11:24 AM   #252
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra611 View Post
Thanks Mic J! One last thing, where can I get that download? I got the last one from CNET's website.
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/HandBrake

Update: I am not sure I would trust getting 0.9.7 from any other site, given the bugs it seems to have. Check out this link: http://handbrake.fr/index.php
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Jul 17, 2012 at 12:15 PM.
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:14 AM   #253
iNewbie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Pre-set compatibility question

Now that we have an AppleTV 3 preset is that what should be used is a "default" for ripping DVD's/Blu-Ray's? I know that people were also using high profile I thought and I'm a little unsure of the difference between high profile and Apple TV 3?

Also - is there an updated list of apple device compatibility with Apple TV 3? What devices might that work on?

Ideally I want the highest quality encode first with device compatibility for iPads and such second.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
iNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 03:29 PM   #254
RolandNights
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Quick question....I'm trying to use handbrake to the entire 3rd season of Community, but it's only ripping the first episode off the first disc. I've figured out how to rip individual episodes, but is there a way to just rip the entire disc into one file to play on my ATV/iPhone?
RolandNights is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 03:49 PM   #255
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolandNights View Post
Quick question....I'm trying to use handbrake to the entire 3rd season of Community, but it's only ripping the first episode off the first disc. I've figured out how to rip individual episodes, but is there a way to just rip the entire disc into one file to play on my ATV/iPhone?
No. But you can rip them all and join them using mp4tools. My preferred method is to rip to mkv, using MakeMKV, use mkvToolnix to join the mkv's and then HB the mkv file. Sometimes, just sometimes, mp4tools can create sync issues. Joining the mkv's prior to transcoding avoids that potential problem.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 04:42 PM   #256
The DRis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Oceanside, CA
Quick question.

Why would you want all episodes to play as one long movie? Makes it hard to tag and watch doesn't it?

If you do choose to go that route, be sure to re-number the chapters of the successive episodes as you add them to the original. Or else you will end up with the original chapters with the last being one long chapter.
__________________
01001101 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101110 00100000 01001100 01100001 01100010 01100101
The DRis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 09:46 AM   #257
scpetit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Audio HELP

I am trying to figure out the best audio encoding.I am a long time PC user and have had great success using WMNicEncto convert MKV to playback on XBOX360.

Bought and AppleTV and Macbook pro because everyonesays Apple is better but so far all the encoding is inferior to the settings I have been accustom too

For Example take a movie like SAFE (Jason Statham)
WMNicEnc can rip the original audio track (English 1510KBps 6channel DTS) to 768kbps 5.1 audio

under Handbrake it wants to default to Dolby Prologic II which is not 5.1 DD. There are options for AC3 ffmpeg with a max bitrate of 640kbps.Is this the one to use?

sidenote the AC3 passthough switches auto to DTS and will not xfer over that track naturally

Thanks for any input!
scpetit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 05:09 PM   #258
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpetit View Post
I am trying to figure out the best audio encoding.I am a long time PC user and have had great success using WMNicEncto convert MKV to playback on XBOX360.

Bought and AppleTV and Macbook pro because everyonesays Apple is better but so far all the encoding is inferior to the settings I have been accustom too

For Example take a movie like SAFE (Jason Statham)
WMNicEnc can rip the original audio track (English 1510KBps 6channel DTS) to 768kbps 5.1 audio

under Handbrake it wants to default to Dolby Prologic II which is not 5.1 DD. There are options for AC3 ffmpeg with a max bitrate of 640kbps.Is this the one to use?

sidenote the AC3 passthough switches auto to DTS and will not xfer over that track naturally

Thanks for any input!
If I remember correctly (can look at the selections right now as I am encoding something) Track should be: dts, Codec: AC3 ffmpeg, mix down: 6 channel discrete.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 08:06 PM   #259
scpetit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
If I remember correctly (can look at the selections right now as I am encoding something) Track should be: dts, Codec: AC3 ffmpeg, mix down: 6 channel discrete.

Cool thanks a bunch...the other thing I ran into..is it necessary when doing the encoding to add a 2nd audio channel for 2 channel down the road? Where would this be useful? ipAd maybe or something
scpetit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 04:52 PM   #260
aggmiami
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I have two aTV2's that I purchased when first launched, but have been considering an aTV3 in order to get the 1080p playback benefits...however slight they may be. Does the aTV2 downconvert/downscale the 1080p aTV3 Handbrake file to 720p on the fly? Or are you forced to have two seperate Handbrake files in order to play the same video through both devices?
aggmiami is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2013, 06:51 PM   #261
jlluna
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Holly Michigan
I have 2, 2nd gen apple tv's and 1 Apple TV 3 . I use the (Apple TV preset) in handbrake to convert mkv bluray files.They both play fine on Apple TV 2nd gen and 3rd gen. Can not really notice picture difference between the Apple TV 2nd gen and the 3rd gen.
__________________
2012 MacMini 1tb fusion drive 16gb 27"AppleDisplay
13"Late 2013 MacBook Pro Retina 512SSD 16Gb
13" 2010Unibody Macbook Pro 1TB Hd 6GB,Ipad Air iphone5s Apple Tv2and3
jlluna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2013, 06:14 AM   #262
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
nice work on the tests. thanks
opinio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2013, 10:11 PM   #263
Amazee Dayzee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Anybody know about the newest version of Handbrake? This one: http://i43.tinypic.com/14ka5v8.png

I try to burn a movie. First of all, no matter which presets I try, it always came out pixelated. And second of all, it comes out in a VLC format and it won't let me play it on iTunes. This coming Sunday I have an 18 hour road trip, so somebody please tell me how to figure the damn thing out.
Amazee Dayzee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 07:40 AM   #264
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazee Dayzee View Post
Anybody know about the newest version of Handbrake? This one: http://i43.tinypic.com/14ka5v8.png

I try to burn a movie. First of all, no matter which presets I try, it always came out pixelated. And second of all, it comes out in a VLC format and it won't let me play it on iTunes. This coming Sunday I have an 18 hour road trip, so somebody please tell me how to figure the damn thing out.
Have a look at my post on the other forum. I think you have a copy protection problem (causes pixelation). Try removing it with MakeMKV and then using Handbrake.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 01:46 PM   #265
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazee Dayzee View Post
And second of all, it comes out in a VLC format and it won't let me play it on iTunes.
What exactly is a "VLC format" ? You said the same thing in your other post.
As I said pastbin.com your activity log. this will tell us exactly what is going on. Beyond that there is little anyone can do for you. If you want help you need to help yourself first.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2013, 07:39 AM   #266
iMacBooked
macrumors 6502a
 
iMacBooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 4 8 15 16 23 42 ✈ Country: Belgium
Send a message via ICQ to iMacBooked Send a message via AIM to iMacBooked Send a message via MSN to iMacBooked Send a message via Yahoo to iMacBooked Send a message via Skype™ to iMacBooked
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
What exactly is a "VLC format" ? You said the same thing in your other post.
As I said pastbin.com your activity log. this will tell us exactly what is going on. Beyond that there is little anyone can do for you. If you want help you need to help yourself first.
Maybe he means a .vlc video format, which are rather rare. More likely he just means a compatible extension for VLC player? In that case it can be anything: mkv, avi, mp4, ...
__________________
16GB iPhone 4S - 80GB iPod Classic - 8GB iPod Touch 4G - Retina MacBook Pro 13" Haswell - 2.6 Ghz i5 - 8 GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Don't mistake coincidence for fate.
iMacBooked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 06:00 PM   #267
Markie37
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
What is handbrake test ?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markiie View Post
How long does it take for some of you to covert a 2 hr movie on Handbrake?
Thanks, but I misstating the question
Markie37 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2013, 11:37 AM   #268
mrholder
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Handbrake SD setting

What is the best handbrake setting for a standard definition dvd rip? Universal or iPhone? Just ripping TV episodes to watch on iphone 5 or an ipad. Planning on getting an Apple TV for the holidays.
mrholder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2013, 07:25 AM   #269
westrock2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrholder View Post
What is the best handbrake setting for a standard definition dvd rip? Universal or iPhone? Just ripping TV episodes to watch on iphone 5 or an ipad. Planning on getting an Apple TV for the holidays.
You can probably get away with 750-900Kb/s "average" bitrate and using "slow" for the x264 preset. Do a couple test runs and see how it looks. That's what I use for our ipad and it looks fine and keeps the space down.
westrock2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2013, 07:27 AM   #270
westrock2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Here are my settings for DVD's and Bluray's.

File sizes end up being around 3-4GB for DVD's and 10-16GB's for Blu-ray's.

I also add
Track 1 - AAC Stereo @ 160Kbps
Track 2 - AC3 5.1 @ 640Kbps


Quality is as good as original and no visible pixilation on a 82" screen.



westrock2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2013, 09:07 AM   #271
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by westrock2000 View Post
I have personally ditched the constant bitrate mode in favor of the constant quality (Variable Bitrate : VBR) mode. Gives better quality vs file size results.
priitv8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2013, 10:59 AM   #272
westrock2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I have personally ditched the constant bitrate mode in favor of the constant quality (Variable Bitrate : VBR) mode. Gives better quality vs file size results.
I had issues trying to find a happy medium. Especially with animations. It would either undershoot and give a small file with noticable pixelalation or it would blow up to these 20 something gig files. Plus with Blurays you get a lot of film grain which can affect it. So I went the constant bitrate and I was ok with the predictable file sizes.
westrock2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2013, 11:26 AM   #273
mrholder
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by westrock2000 View Post
Here are my settings for DVD's and Bluray's.

File sizes end up being around 3-4GB for DVD's and 10-16GB's for Blu-ray's.

I also add
Track 1 - AAC Stereo @ 160Kbps
Track 2 - AC3 5.1 @ 640Kbps


Quality is as good as original and no visible pixilation on a 82" screen.

Image

Image

Thanks for the info.
mrholder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2013, 11:28 AM   #274
bwfc0907
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, UK
What's the best setting for ipad mini? What resolution is the file in the ipad preset! 720p?

What resolution is the iphone preset?
bwfc0907 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2014, 01:44 PM   #275
RoboWarriorSr
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwfc0907 View Post
What's the best setting for ipad mini? What resolution is the file in the ipad preset! 720p?



What resolution is the iphone preset?

The retina iPads have resolutions of over 1080p. Depending on the iPhone (assuming you have a 5+) any file you convert for the retina iPad should work on your iPhone. I would recommend the Apple TV 3 setting (others have commented works on retina iPad) but I've had mixed results on a iPhone 4S.
RoboWarriorSr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BluRay Ripping, MakeMKV and Handbrake hackers79 Apple TV and Home Theater 100 Jan 10, 2014 12:00 AM
Handbrake 0.99 and Bluray ripping for ATV3 dante.martins Apple TV and Home Theater 37 Aug 26, 2013 07:21 AM
Handbrake and batch ripping TV shows mikeheenan Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 10, 2013 09:47 PM
Help ripping ultrasound with handbrake Weerez935 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Mar 25, 2013 04:22 AM
DVD ripping and Handbrake Omnius Mac mini 22 Mar 9, 2013 08:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC