Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 23, 2008, 11:32 AM   #26
cowm007
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohibadad View Post
question cowm007, you encoded with multiple language audio tracks. Is there a way to choose which of those tracks plays on TV?
I haven't been able to find a quick/easy method to use the alternative track on the TV. It's easy in Quicktime/iTunes or even the iPhone because there's a button for it, but even selecting the audio track you want in iTunes and streaming to the TV doesn't work.

The way I've gotten around this is use the program "Dumpster" to enable/disable audio tracks in the file. It's kinda tricky though and not really user-friendly as you have to decide what audio track you want before syncing to the TV. Apple really should add this support soon.
cowm007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 02:13 PM   #27
tkermit
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Another way is to open the movie file in Quicktime (Pro) and then under 'Properties' delete all but one audio track. Now save it as a reference file, which will only be a few KBs ...

You can import the reference file into iTunes and this way have access to a specific language.

Now, I don't have an Apple TV but this works with Front Row at least...
tkermit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 10:05 PM   #28
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Alright, I'm confused about the aspect ratios and when to use anamorphic or not.

So I'm ripping Saving Private Ryan using the settings described here. The source says it's 720x480. If I check anamorphic strict it says output is 716x480 and anamorphic 848x480. So what does output mean versus the anamorphic setting and why are the two different?

If I don't rip anamorphic and keep aspect ratio the source is still 720x480 but output is 720x400. Why's that? And if I uncheck keep aspect ratio and bump up height to 480 so output matches the source, the picture looks "squeezed"

Note the DVD box says the movie is shot 1.85:1 which I know is standard widescreen whereas anamorphic is 2.35:1.

Confused, please help.
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 10:16 PM   #29
tkermit
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipoddin View Post
Alright, I'm confused about the aspect ratios and when to use anamorphic or not.
...
Confused, please help.
The Handbrake wiki does a really good job explaining the concept.
tkermit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 10:32 PM   #30
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkermit View Post
The Handbrake wiki does a really good job explaining the concept.
Thanks for that. So if I understand it correctly, it's typically better to rip in anamorphic if when ripping non-anamorphic and keeping the aspect ratio checked the height is reduced to 400. According to the wiki:

Quote:
When Anamorphic is disabled, HandBrake corrects the aspect ratio by maintaining the width and squishing the height to match. The result looks like this:

This is very similar to what happens when you play a DVD on a standard 4:3 television. The only difference is, HandBrake leaves the width at 720, instead of reducing it to 640. So it divides 720 by the aspect ratio, giving you output dimensions of 720*404. (If you're testing me on this and you get a width of 704 or a height of 400, please see the Macroblock Appendix.)

Of course, that means you're reducing the vertical line count from 480p to 404p... a significant reduction in picture quality.

There are other ways to go about encoding the anamorphic video, in order to keep that from happening.
Is this an accurate understanding?
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 10:55 PM   #31
tkermit
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipoddin View Post
...
Is this an accurate understanding?
basically, yeah.
The gist of it is that, by enabling anamorphic encoding, with (most) widescreen movies you get to keep the full resolution of your source while having to store less pixels than are later displayed.

The alternative is to either reduce the source's vertical pixel count (=> information loss) or bump up the overall resolution, which will lead to higher space requirements.

Last edited by tkermit; Feb 24, 2008 at 12:29 AM.
tkermit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 11:50 AM   #32
dan3L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Handbrake settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman07 View Post
Any updates here? I tried a show at iTouch defaults, then changed to AAC+AC3. The one I tried with 2500kbps, and the other at 1500kbps. I felt that the former was significatly better, but it was 1GB for a 45 minute episode, which amounts to a LOT of HD space when you have a lot of individual episodes. The second came in at 650mb...I may try 2000 and see where at gets me, but it's taking an hour a pop so it's becoming very time consuming just to tinker around with.
I am preparing movies for an upcoming ATV purchase. Using My Mac I am not seeing a really consistent result from changing the bit rate. I ran a older B&W movie at 1500 and got a VHS quality result. At 2500 it was better. When doing a 90's era movie 1500 looked looked poor. In doing another similar movie, 1500 produced an excellent result. Most of what I have done is 1500 and look pretty good, but once again, I don't see the cookie cutter quality similarity I was hoping for. Clearly some movies will be better subjects that other.

Does anyone know the math on this stuff?
dan3L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 12:27 PM   #33
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
One other question on this. I understand these settings allow you to play a file on both the TV and iPhone. Besides that, what's the difference between this and the TV settings? If I don't care about the iPhone compatibility for a particular movie, would I be better off just using the TV preset?
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 02:58 PM   #34
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipoddin View Post
If I don't care about the iPhone compatibility for a particular movie, would I be better off just using the TV preset?
Yes
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 04:37 PM   #35
sblasl
macrumors 6502a
 
sblasl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Heber Springs, AR
dynaflash

Have you come up with HandBrake "optimum" settings for TV only? If so can you share what you are using?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Pardon Multimedia - please give MM another chance!
sblasl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:19 PM   #36
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Yes
Could you tell me what I'm missing out by doing this hybrid approach versus using the TV preset?
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:20 PM   #37
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblasl View Post
dynaflash

Have you come up with HandBrake "optimum" settings for TV only? If so can you share what you are using?

Thanks in advance.
There is an TV only preset in handbrake. That relates to my question of what the advantages are of using it versus the hybrid approach described in this thread.
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:36 PM   #38
cohibadad
macrumors 6502a
 
cohibadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipoddin View Post
There is an TV only preset in handbrake. That relates to my question of what the advantages are of using it versus the hybrid approach described in this thread.
In another thread, I think dynaflash said the TV preset took advantage of some advanced H264 functions that TV could handle but breaks iPod compatibility.
cohibadad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:47 PM   #39
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohibadad View Post
In another thread, I think dynaflash said the TV preset took advantage of some advanced H264 functions that TV could handle but breaks iPod compatibility.
Thanks, I'm just wondering what that is to determine if it's worth giving up iphone compatibility.
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 08:07 PM   #40
John.B
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Flyover Country
I think where most people are at with this is that iPhone/iTouch compatibility isn't doesn't take a lot away from the quality and adding both audio streams doesn't add a huge amount of size. From there its just a matter of deciding the bitrate you want to encode at and the whole two-pass and interlacing things.
John.B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 09:24 PM   #41
SpaceJello
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Hey first off, awesome thread, been keeping it up the past few days. I have started converting my movies using ipod High and 2500 kbs with 2 pass ac3/acc.

I don't have an apple tv so can't tell the quality, but on my computer screen, it is comparable to the original dvd. I mostly watch them on itunes and my iphone.

I have tried using 5000 kbs but that came out to be an additional gig on a SD 1.5 hours movie. Little difference in quality but overall its not light and day.

Curious what are other's kbs settings etc?
SpaceJello is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 08:26 PM   #42
wanchaiman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Does anamorphic make a big difference?

I have been using the iPod high-rez setting and upping the resolution to 720xn (keeping aspect ratio) and the bit rate to 2000.

Quality wise into my 43" plasma, I cannot tell the difference between this and the ATV preset.

Will there be a big difference in video quality if I add Strict Anamorphic? Or will I only see that with a bigger screen?
wanchaiman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 10:39 PM   #43
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohibadad View Post
In another thread, I think dynaflash said the TV preset took advantage of some advanced H264 functions that TV could handle but breaks iPod compatibility.
bframes is a biggie, the iPods cannot handle them. I am also a fan of strict anamorphic. The iPods cannot handle it ( I dont think so anyway).
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 10:45 PM   #44
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblasl View Post
dynaflash

Have you come up with HandBrake "optimum" settings for TV only? If so can you share what you are using?

Thanks in advance.
Well, "optimium" is a pretty broad term. A few of us are stress testing the atv settings wise just like we did for v1 here http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4878 I think we are getting pretty close to its limits, but its tedious at best. As eddyg points out, its using crf which is awesome, but can be unpredictable depending on the source, but when used correctly its really awesome. High bitrate during complex action scenes while very low bitrate during slow simple scenes that don't need it.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 03:32 AM   #45
ironjaw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cold Copenhagen
This should be made a Sticky
__________________
What we do in life echoes in eternity.

24" 2.8 GHz Aluminum iMac; 2x 1.6 GHz (SP)Powermac G5's, White Macbook, 1.8 C2D Mac Mini
ironjaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 12:09 PM   #46
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
bframes is a biggie, the iPods cannot handle them. I am also a fan of strict anamorphic. The iPods cannot handle it ( I dont think so anyway).
So what do bframes do?

BTW, I encoded several movies using this hybrid method and they do look good.
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 12:30 PM   #47
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipoddin View Post
So what do bframes do?
In a nutshell from our user guide: "B-Frames are smaller than other frames, so they let you pack in more quality at the same bitrate".
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 12:58 PM   #48
bacaramac
macrumors 65816
 
bacaramac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironjaw View Post
This should be made a Sticky
+1 was going to say this the other day and forgot.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 2TB Time Capsule and AP Express Current Gen AppleTV x 3 iPhone 5s Space Gray 16Gb iPod Touch 4th Gen White iPad mini White/Silver 16GB WiFi
bacaramac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 02:05 AM   #49
John.B
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Flyover Country
Absolutely!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironjaw View Post
This should be made a Sticky
Yes, yes it should.
John.B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2008, 12:20 PM   #50
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Um, for those of you starting out with the iPod preset then jacking up the bitrate, be sure you are also changing the vbv settings in the Advanced Panel.They are directly related to the average bitrate you use. Or try removing them altogether if you want. Though you then risk the chance of local bitrate spikes that could cause your iPod to drop frames on playback for complex scenes.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BluRay Ripping, MakeMKV and Handbrake hackers79 Apple TV and Home Theater 100 Jan 9, 2014 11:00 PM
Handbrake 0.99 and Bluray ripping for ATV3 dante.martins Apple TV and Home Theater 37 Aug 26, 2013 06:21 AM
Handbrake and batch ripping TV shows mikeheenan Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 10, 2013 08:47 PM
Help ripping ultrasound with handbrake Weerez935 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Mar 25, 2013 03:22 AM
DVD ripping and Handbrake Omnius Mac mini 22 Mar 9, 2013 07:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC