Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2008, 10:49 AM   #1
Tony25
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
HELP!!! Macbook stuck at start up screen....

I updated my macbook over the weekend which i didn't experience any problems with until last night. I turned it on and i heard scheme and the screen with the apple logo came on with the thing under it turning like it's going to load up. But it never did. I tried the PRAM reset, taking off the battery and holding down the power button for 5 seconds, I tried reseating my memory just in case and it's still stuck on that one screen. I didn't bring my disk with me so I'm stuck having to borrown another buddy of mine's OSX cds to bring up disk utility. I was able to do so and run that application to check if there was any problems. I verify permission and disk and they were all fine. But still not able to get pass that screen. I even left it running all last night to see if it'll get anywhere....that didn't work. Now I'm stuck til this weekend when I'll be home to take it in.

Any other ideas????
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 10:52 AM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Have you tried booting up in Safe Mode?

Did you verify the disk as well? I wouldn't suggest borrowing OS X discs from someone else unless they have an identical Mac or they are retail discs of a later operating system.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
77 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 12:33 PM   #3
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I'm at a blue screen now with the progress indicator flashing on and off....what is going on?
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 12:51 PM   #4
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I did a verbose mode just to see what it showed me and this is what i get at the end of it:

"Feb 20 10:44:08 Macintosh ReportCrash[91]: Saved crashreport to /Library/......"

so looks like it crashed huh??
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 01:04 PM   #5
malolans
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
even i have the same issue.. safe mode did not work for me too
malolans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:29 PM   #6
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
guess i'll be taking the macbook in this weekend then...i dont' know what it's acting up
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:38 PM   #7
JML42691
macrumors 68020
 
JML42691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I had this problem in mid-November, I took it into the Apple Store and they told me that it was a HD failure, that is what yours sounds like too. After a few complications with returning it, we found a way to get it replaced (I ended up getting an entirely new unit). I would see if you can bring it in to the Apple Store when you get home. Be sure to make an appointment ahead of time.
JML42691 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:44 PM   #8
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JML42691 View Post
I had this problem in mid-November, I took it into the Apple Store and they told me that it was a HD failure, that is what yours sounds like too. After a few complications with returning it, we found a way to get it replaced (I ended up getting an entirely new unit). I would see if you can bring it in to the Apple Store when you get home. Be sure to make an appointment ahead of time.
Yeah i've already made an appt. But the only problem is that the hard drive T have in it right now is an aftermarket one which I replace myself. I still have the one that came with it at home. So I doubt that apple will cover this hard drive.
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:48 PM   #9
JML42691
macrumors 68020
 
JML42691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony25 View Post
Yeah i've already made an appt. But the only problem is that the hard drive T have in it right now is an aftermarket one which I replace myself. I still have the one that came with it at home. So I doubt that apple will cover this hard drive.
When you get home, throw in the original drive and see if it works (although it should because of what this problem sounds like). I don't think that there is any basis for Apple to fix the drive, as they didn't supply it. Are you using time machine on your current one?
JML42691 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:54 PM   #10
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JML42691 View Post
When you get home, throw in the original drive and see if it works (although it should because of what this problem sounds like). I don't think that there is any basis for Apple to fix the drive, as they didn't supply it. Are you using time machine on your current one?
No that's another problem, I didn't use time machine on this one. But majority of my stuff on here are on an external hard drive so i can recover almost everything besides some of the most recent stuff I have added.
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 02:58 PM   #11
Ninja Guidan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony25 View Post
No that's another problem, I didn't use time machine on this one. But majority of my stuff on here are on an external hard drive so i can recover almost everything besides some of the most recent stuff I have added.
If it's an aftermarket hard drive, check and see if it's still under warranty. At least you'll be able to get it replaced then.
__________________
Skip Bayless is a moron.
Ninja Guidan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 03:06 PM   #12
Tony25
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Yeah i'll have to look into that hard drive.

But now after turning it on, it goes thru the scheme, shows the apple logo and then directly to a blue screen with my mouse cursor on the top left corner...
Tony25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2008, 03:21 PM   #13
Natman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I had the same problem this morning, it was my first problem ever with the macbook (got it in December). I closed the lid & opened it and the desktop appeared as if nothing happened. Scared the crap out of me & I hope it's not an indication of a more serious problem.
__________________
SR Blackbook, 4Gb RAM
Natman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook stuck at purple planet screen after update jabbatheslut MacBook 4 Jun 8, 2011 12:56 PM
iPhone stuck at start up screen.. theBeefman Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Dec 11, 2010 11:09 AM
Please help!!! Kernel Panic at Start up. kanvas Mac Pro 1 Nov 7, 2010 10:31 AM
Jailbroken iPhone 3G stuck on start up screen today Patryk R32 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 May 12, 2010 06:22 AM
iBook stuck at start up screen Macmadant PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 12, 2007 07:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC