Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2008, 07:56 PM   #1
dejection2008
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Handbrake suddenly stops working?

For some reason Handbrake stopped working for me today. The only changes I have made to my computer were the installation of an external hard drive, namely the WP passport 160 gb hard drive and I set the preferences in Itunes to Burn audio cd. otherwise handbrake was working excellently yesterday. Now whenever I click the application it appears in dock for about 3 seconds then disappears. I have deleted and reinstalled it about 5 times already and it does the same thing each time. Help me out please.
dejection2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 08:14 PM   #2
BullBoyKennels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mayaguez, PR
Send a message via AIM to BullBoyKennels Send a message via MSN to BullBoyKennels Send a message via Yahoo to BullBoyKennels Send a message via Skype™ to BullBoyKennels
If you haven't already done so, also make sure to delete

~/Library/Preferences/org.m0k.handbrake.plist
__________________
17 iMAC 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo White
It does it's job just fine.
24 iMAC 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Aluminum
BullBoyKennels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 08:29 PM   #3
dejection2008
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullBoyKennels View Post
If you haven't already done so, also make sure to delete

~/Library/Preferences/org.m0k.handbrake.plist
I have done all this but it still only briefly appears in my dock before disappearing again. What else can I do? How could this be related to the external hard drive?
dejection2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 08:34 PM   #4
dejection2008
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Actually. WOW when I reinstalled the program it didn't generate a handbrake .plist. I look everywhere but it is not to be found on my computer. Why would this be the case?
dejection2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 08:46 PM   #5
kfordham281
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
If you're on Leopard there's a new version out, released in the last few days. Try updating to that.
__________________
Apple Mac HQ - Apple/Mac/iOS News, Reviews, Giveaways, and More
kfordham281 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 08:56 PM   #6
dejection2008
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfordham281 View Post
If you're on Leopard there's a new version out, released in the last few days. Try updating to that.
Actually the problem was that i downloaded the leopard version. But when i download the tiger version again, it opens but none of the functions are highlighted, nor does it allow me to load up any disc images.
dejection2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 09:23 PM   #7
dejection2008
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The problem was that the 'open source' function was spontaneously disabled by the program itself! I had to go to preferences to select it again!
dejection2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta 3: Phone Suddenly Stops Working [Fix!] JohnnyW2001 iOS 7 1 Jul 10, 2013 07:28 AM
Handbrake Stops at .02% Every time. Marjamrob1 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 29, 2013 12:00 PM
Resolved: Audio suddenly stops with an error larswik iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Nov 29, 2012 09:29 PM
AFP suddenly stops working Avicdar Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Aug 2, 2012 03:55 PM
iPhone 4S Wifi suddenly stops connecting Maziar iPhone 7 Jun 9, 2012 04:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC