Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 22, 2008, 07:27 AM   #1
SwiftLives
macrumors Demi-God
 
SwiftLives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Send a message via AIM to SwiftLives
Resumé in Word

I spent about 2 days carefully designing my resumé in InDesign. It's actually part of an overall identity package that ties in with my business card and my website. So naturally, it's saved as a PDF since I want to be able to retain a little bit of control over the fonts that people see on their screen.

Of course, this place where I'm applying wants it as a Word file.

Word does not give me the control I desire. (I admit - I have control issues over my identity package.)

Can I place a PDF into a Word file? Will I need to send both files or does Word embed the PDF? Or is there another way to do this that will retain the visual identity I want the company to see?
SwiftLives is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 07:45 AM   #2
LeviG
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK
I know that the full adobe acrobat (atleast on windows) can export to word, doesn't always come out too well but it may be worth a shot.

Not sure of any other route except producing it in word - maybe consider a jpeg picture as the whole file

Personally I can't see any reason why a company specifically wants a word format, pdf is a universal format.
LeviG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 07:49 AM   #3
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
You can insert pdfs into word.

Might be a little different as I am at a PC at the moment.

Insert - Object - Create from File

You will have to play around with it a bt when you get it in the document as it scales it to fit the page.

It will act as a giant picture bascially and it really beefs up the size of the document. And only displays the front page.

You could just use exported jpgs and insert them, that will probably cut down on the size of te document.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:14 AM   #4
Le Big Mac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeviG View Post

Personally I can't see any reason why a company specifically wants a word format, pdf is a universal format.
+1. I've encountered this as well, and it makes no sense. I can understand specifying Word over some other word processor (Wordperfect) or text file. But if you can use Word, you can open a pdf.
Le Big Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:25 AM   #5
tuxtpenguin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TX
I have run into this before too. A company only accepts Word formatted resumes...
tuxtpenguin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:40 AM   #6
creator2456
macrumors 68000
 
creator2456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeviG View Post
Personally I can't see any reason why a company specifically wants a word format, pdf is a universal format.
Might be they are just trying to see if people can follow directions.?
__________________
I have stuff...but I am also lazy.
Buy some of my stuff!!!
creator2456 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:41 AM   #7
BoyBach
macrumors 68040
 
BoyBach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
  1. Word (.doc) is the worldwide industry standard.
  2. Lot's of employers / recruiters have software that 'scans' documents for key words.
  3. Why would you want to retain control over your "image package"? It's what's on the resume / CV that matters and not what it looks like.
__________________
"I'm sensing a change in management style here, from touchy-feely to smashy-testes."
BoyBach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:42 AM   #8
newappleboy
macrumors 6502a
 
newappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to newappleboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by creator2456 View Post
Might be they are just trying to see if people can follow directions.?
One of the other reasons is the ability to remove information. I know at my company when contractors have their resumes submitted to us from agencies, the names and contact info are removed for further anonymity - this is difficult to do in all PDFs since some are able to be editted and some are not. I too have my resume in PDF format, but I always keep a current .doc file as well for just such a reason.
__________________
TheRealJamesDean.com - Where being cool and suave is always slightly out of reach.
Also, I'm a Tumblr!
newappleboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:48 AM   #9
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by newappleboy View Post
One of the other reasons is the ability to remove information. I know at my company when contractors have their resumes submitted to us from agencies, the names and contact info are removed for further anonymity - this is difficult to do in all PDFs since some are able to be editted and some are not. I too have my resume in PDF format, but I always keep a current .doc file as well for just such a reason.
What he said. A lot of places, especially bigger corporations that have whole HR departments, have software that extracts the information from Word docs and inputs it into their system. It doesn't work with a PDF. If you submit a Word doc that is just an otherwise empty file with a PDF embedded, you probably won't even get a call.

That being said, when I was looking for a design job last year, I didn't get many hits with my Word-based resume, but as soon as I redid it, more graphically, in InDesign, I got a lot more hits and ultimately got a great job at a small company.
__________________
[ Gig 'em ]
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:51 AM   #10
newappleboy
macrumors 6502a
 
newappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to newappleboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgnatiusTheKing View Post
That being said, when I was looking for a design job last year, I didn't get many hits with my Word-based resume, but as soon as I redid it, more graphically, in InDesign, I got a lot more hits and ultimately got a great job.
Agreed. Word seems to inspire people to rely heavily on their template, and as someone who used to be very close to someone in HR, he would always talk about how boring it is to look through the exact same style resume after resume. If you catch their eye, they'll be more willing to look over your qualifications. It's sad but true - pretty works.
__________________
TheRealJamesDean.com - Where being cool and suave is always slightly out of reach.
Also, I'm a Tumblr!
newappleboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 11:09 AM   #11
wordmunger
macrumors 603
 
wordmunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
If you want the job, follow their instructions. Otherwise your resume will be thrown in the trash. Circumventing the requirement by putting a PDF in the Word file will only accelerate your resume's journey to the wastebasket.
wordmunger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 11:09 AM   #12
BoyBach
macrumors 68040
 
BoyBach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by newappleboy View Post
...he would always talk about how boring it is to look through the exact same style resume after resume...
Working in HR and complaining of looking through resumes? Methinks that he's in the wrong job!
__________________
"I'm sensing a change in management style here, from touchy-feely to smashy-testes."
BoyBach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 02:22 PM   #13
SwiftLives
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
SwiftLives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Send a message via AIM to SwiftLives
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoyBach View Post
  1. Why would you want to retain control over your "image package"? It's what's on the resume / CV that matters and not what it looks like.
Word is a clunky program which does not allow me the flexibility I require to present my resume as I want to present it.

Graphic design is one of the few professions where one is judged not only by the content of the resumé, but also the design.

Anyway, I talked to the recruiter today and was told that a PDF would be fine.

Bullet dodged.
SwiftLives is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 05:06 AM   #14
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftLives View Post
Word is a clunky program which does not allow me the flexibility I require to present my resume as I want to present it.

How you wish to present something is not necessarily compatible with the wishes of those doing the hiring; a power-dynamic that may be prudent to reflect on now and then.

Simple answer is: keep a Word version on hand just in case. Some agencies I've been in touch with recently don't even want an attached file, they want all the info in the body of a plain-text email... no doubt preferring to concentrate on the content rather than the presentation.

Having control issues as a designer isn't necessarily helpful in all cases, especially when dealing with clients or hirers.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 06:53 AM   #15
AlexisV
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Why would you want to retain control over your "image package"? It's what's on the resume / CV that matters and not what it looks like.
Yep, I'd really impress them if I wrote it by hand.

If your CV doesn't look like you've put any effort into it, why should you put any effort into the job?

Every CV should be clean, attractive and easy to read. A graphic design CV should another notch or two up from what the general population can come up with.
AlexisV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 08:14 AM   #16
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
You could ask to send it as a PDF, though if they want a Word .doc file, then you should try and send that.

I think I'd prefer to accept a PDF as it will definitely have the same formatting as the person sending the file. Though I should point out that I'm not currently working so won't be hiring anyone for a while.
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2008, 09:25 PM   #17
Topher15
macrumors 6502a
 
Topher15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftLives View Post
Word is a clunky program which does not allow me the flexibility I require to present my resume as I want to present it.

Graphic design is one of the few professions where one is judged not only by the content of the resumé, but also the design.
Is it designed/presented as it is on your web site? To be honest I find the background underneath the body of text to be distracting and hard to read - I had to move closer to the screen to see it - especially since you're headings and the background image are the same colour.
__________________
11" MacBook Air i7 (2012) | 24" Alu iMac (2007) | 64 GB iPod touch 4G (2010) | BlackBook (2008) | iPad Mini (Soon)
Topher15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:35 PM   #18
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I have 2 CVs:

1) A PDF
2) A Word version

Personally it works for me both have the same information but it gives me the choice to give the employer what they need/want.

Most brand/design agencies will prefer a PDF while job seeking in my personal experience want Word documents. If you have both a PDF and Word version of your CV you can't go wrong.

And good luck on the job hunt and interviews.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 08:16 PM   #19
tgildred
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Velvet View Post
How you wish to present something is not necessarily compatible with the wishes of those doing the hiring; a power-dynamic that may be prudent to reflect on now and then.

Simple answer is: keep a Word version on hand just in case. Some agencies I've been in touch with recently don't even want an attached file, they want all the info in the body of a plain-text email... no doubt preferring to concentrate on the content rather than the presentation.

Having control issues as a designer isn't necessarily helpful in all cases, especially when dealing with clients or hirers.
It's give and take. A a designer I feel that the design of the document I'm presenting says a lot about me---though admittedly not as much as the content. And the industry I'm in values, or should value, the aesthetic you bring to the table. A plain old Word document doesn't showcase this. Personally, if a job description I'm initially interested in goes on to request a Word-only resume, than I nearly always pass it over. But then I've already got a good job and can afford to be a bit of a design-snob! It's the same reason I pass over anything that requires Windows/PC experience only.

(but I do keep a Word-ready version around just in case---you need to have a full tool-belt in this business, honestly)
tgildred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 08:20 PM   #20
tgildred
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
I really like your Web site by the way.
tgildred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 06:24 PM   #21
JE-Illustration
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Send a message via AIM to JE-Illustration Send a message via Yahoo to JE-Illustration
As another poster said, I used Adobe Acrobat Professional to export it as a word document. The only time I needed this though was for like Careerbuilder.com cause they stopped accepting .pdf's.

Also when I changed my resume from reading the book 48 Days To the Work You Love, I started getting 2nd interviews and such. I would say my interviews doubled. But that was probably cause of my own faults with my old resume. Check and check your spelling and any mistakes. After a few months go back and check it again... you'll be amazed at the typos in there... i think for awhile my street address was off by one number lol.
__________________
I'd rather be driving a Macintosh!
JE-Illustration is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 12:36 PM   #22
kitki83
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via AIM to kitki83 Send a message via Yahoo to kitki83
I usually do is make my resume in word. Work on it till I am happy and its easy to register the information. Then drop it InDesign and begin a more creative approach. Both will have similar styles/content but one is more generic for being word format while the other is more creative. Thats how I resolve my problem with that. Plus I recommend a third format word doc an e mailable or when posting in Careerbuilder or Monster, basically removed all the tabs and work on spacing.
__________________
If you would create something, you must be something.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
kitki83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 03:29 PM   #23
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgildred View Post
And the industry I'm in values, or should value, the aesthetic you bring to the table. A plain old Word document doesn't showcase this.

Depends on where you want to work. In a large organisation, top-sifting of a first pile of CVs might be done by someone in HR who's looking to match person specifications... they might want a Word document for reasons of their own and if you can knock together something half-decent in Word, it shows you know how to design with whatever tools you have to hand.

By all means, design a CV that looks nice. But if you can't or won't give a potential employer what they want, it means you can't follow a brief.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 04:42 PM   #24
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le Big Mac View Post
+1. I've encountered this as well, and it makes no sense. I... if you can use Word, you can open a pdf.
No. What you ment is "if I can use Word, I can open a pdf."
Do not under estimate the level of technical incompetence of the typical "HR Person".

Or on the other hand their process may be very sophisticatd. many times what they do is run the incomming resume through some software that hunts for "buzz words" and score it based on the number of hits. Or maybe the resumes go into a Google Appliance where they can then do full text searches. This software may be written such that it can only accept .doc files.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 05:34 PM   #25
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
No. What you ment is "if I can use Word, I can open a pdf."
Do not under estimate the level of technical incompetence of the typical "HR Person".
I always thought HR stood for "Hired Retards"...

If a big organisation palms me off to an HR Department I usually don't pursue the job any further, HR Departments in general are full of people who can't really make it anywhere else (I'm sorry I'm not trying to be a troll) and therefore don't have the experience or expertise in an area when they are hiring/interviewing/etc for a different department.

I have seriously has one HR person in an interview say "We're looking for a designer who can designer nice graphics, you know the type of graphics where people say wow those are nice graphics", thankfully a better opportunity arose.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resume Help Merkava_4 Community Discussion 6 Jul 20, 2013 02:19 AM
Resume software azs8 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jun 13, 2013 03:15 PM
Partial Resume? Let's Sekuhara! Mac Programming 0 Dec 15, 2012 11:55 PM
Word files opening in Word or Word Pad, what's up? FHayek Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Nov 9, 2012 12:51 PM
Resume slayer666 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Jun 26, 2012 11:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC