Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

netnothing

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 13, 2007
NH
I didn't think my iPhoto library was too large, but iPhoto will beachball when viewing the Photos section (where you can view all the photos by date).

I have a 15GB library with 16,000+ photos.

I collapsed all the years in this view....but when I click to expand a year, iPhoto beachballs and takes a while to load.

This is on a Mac Pro (see sig).

Viewing through events seems fine.

Is this generally too large a library for iPhoto to handle? Do I need to look at iPhoto Library manager or something?

-Kevin

xUKHCx

Administrator emeritus
Jan 15, 2006
The Kop
It might be a large library I have no experience with a library that large.

You can try rebuilding you iPhoto library to see if that helps, hold down cmd+opt when you start iPhoto.

You can create multiple libraries by holding down option when loading iPhoto, so you could separate out the older items.

netnothing

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 13, 2007
NH
It might be a large library I have no experience with a library that large.

You can try rebuilding you iPhoto library to see if that helps, hold down cmd+opt when you start iPhoto.

You can create multiple libraries by holding down option when loading iPhoto, so you could separate out the older items.

Thanks, my next step is maybe creating multiple libraries. I'll give the Option while starting a try.

I already rebuilt everything with no change.

As a note to Time Machine users, I think when you rebuild the library, TM will back up the whole thing again. Just an FYI.

Anyone have experiences with libraries that large?

-Kevin

netnothing

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 13, 2007
NH
So I made another library and moved a little over 5,000 pics to it.

Again, the view in Photos was sluggish. I'm finding it to be more sluggish when the events are collapsed.