Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Southerner

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 26, 2005
The deep south of England
What does anyone think of this blog? Don't skip the animation!

Is it really hard to be original in the creative sense today? I believe so.

I am going to be honest and say this got me thinking about my creativity. It hasn't been a easy ride due to similar looking designs out there including the fear of being accused of plagiarism. I can say I am not a fantastic designer or being considered as one of the greatest, there were times I did think I wasn't really up to the job that I was more of an artworker but I cannot really see myself doing anything else other than graphic design. I've had my fair share of praises and criticisms which I've always been used to hearing.

I put my hand on my chest and swear I don't go looking around at other designers' work by purpose before maliciously copying these off which is a really wrong thing to do. But the annoying thing is for example I design a logo for some company without realising an identical or similar looking design is already out there! Despite having done my research sometimes small things like this can be easily missed out. Like the embarrassing Quark logo debacle?

There was one experience that I refused to repeat ever again which I was forced to a create a similar looking poster from another by this client "Do the same as that". Then I explained how wrong it was and the consequences of plagiarism but at that time I was hard pressed for cash and the client said he would take the business elsewhere if I didn't agree to do this and I couldn't afford to let this one go.