Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:24 PM   #1
Tronix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Worth buying Power Mac G5?

Hi,

I'm currently debating if I should buy a Power Mac G5 to replace my current desktop machine.

My current machine runs windows XP . Its got Intel C2D 1.8Ghz, 2GB ram and an X1950XT. I don't really play games any more so graphics power is not really needed.

So I'm looking on ebay at the Power Mac G5's, mainly because I love Leopard on my laptop it is very fast indeed. Now I'm wondering the Power Mac are not that new but would a 2GHz dual G5 with 2GB ram run leopard fast like my laptop.

My main uses are web browsing, music/video, very light photoshop use and file storage. I would also be running windows xp and ubuntu linux on vmware only for very light usage again. As XP would just be incase I ever needed to run a windows specific program which is not ver likely, and I would also run Ubuntu linux I would use it regulary just to play around with as I'm currently learning linux. Also can I tripple boot OS X, Windows XP and linux on the powermac?

So would a G5 be a good choice, would it be slow with leopard and what I want to use it for. I'm not doing video editing, or heavy photoshop use. But I know the ram will limit me when running Virtual machines.

Could I run 4GB ram in the power Mac?, and also will there be certain programs which I can not use due to it not being a intel mac? and one last thing is that I have read about the water cooling problems is this just with the water cooled G5's are all G5's water cooled? Would you suggest a different machine like a Mac Mini? the main reason I am looking at the powermac is because I run a dual screen setup for my main pc and I would like to do that on the mac.

Sorry for some of the silly questions and the long post, I don't know much about the power macs at all lol. I hope you guys can help me out ..

Thanks .
__________________
MacBook Santa Rosa - Core 2 Duo 2Ghz - 4GB Ram - 80GB HDD - 10.5.2
Tronix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:26 PM   #2
GotPro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You can't run virtual machines on a G5. Only on the Intel Mac Pros.

Sorry!
GotPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:27 PM   #3
aaronw1986
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
You would not be able to run windows in vmware on a G5. You would need to run windows in virtual pc, which would be very slow. How important is running windows? If it is pretty important, a G5 would not be the route for you.
__________________
2012 rMBP 15" 2.6 Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
2008 Mac Pro 8 core 2.8Ghz, 8800GT, 14GB RAM, 3TB
iPad 2 Black 64GB Verizon
2007 MBP 15" 2.4Ghz Glossy:4GB RAM
aaronw1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:28 PM   #4
Flyer0815
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
The Power PC chip is a dead technology, and I personally wouldnt invest a dime in it at this stage of the Intel transition. For your needs, a new iMac would work great.

For Windows use too through Parallels or Boot Camp, youll need an Intel chip too.

Sure the G5 would do what you need it to do fine, but you are investing hard earned cash in the last era of Apple... The Intel chips have completely trumped the G5... I would absolutely stay away at this late stage.



There is a reason people sell their stuff on ebay
Flyer0815 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:31 PM   #5
robrose20
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
don't do it ... They were nice machines, but that line is dead. The next rev of max OSX won't even support the powerpc architecture.
__________________
MacBook Pro; 2.4 Ghz; 4GB; 160 GB HD; 15.4"
Mercury Elite-AL Pro FW RAID 1 TB Ext HD
TV
IPhone 3G 16Gb Black
robrose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 06:44 PM   #6
Mr. Zarniwoop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tronix View Post
I'm currently debating if I should buy a Power Mac G5 to replace my current desktop machine. [...] I would also be running windows xp and ubuntu linux on vmware only for very light usage again.
Well, not exactly.

The PowerMac G5 is not compatible with VMware Fusion, which requires an Intel-based Mac. A PowerMac G5 can run Microsoft Virtual PC for Mac 7, which requires a PowerPC-based Mac, but it's much slower than VMware on Intel hardware because it has to emulate the Intel CPU.

There are community-based ports of Ubuntu for PPC Macs available, but they're not available on some of the mirrors.
Mr. Zarniwoop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 07:14 PM   #7
Tronix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Damn this sort of sucks, I don't really want to go with the G5 seeing as it is pretty dated now. And the Mac Mini will not support dual screen, even with a Matrox Dual Head 2 Go .

Worth a shot, suppose I'm going to have to stick with my PC for now. Oh well still got my MacBook .
__________________
MacBook Santa Rosa - Core 2 Duo 2Ghz - 4GB Ram - 80GB HDD - 10.5.2
Tronix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 07:14 PM   #8
dimme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
As everyone says you can't run windows. But it does run os X Leopard very well.
dimme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 07:27 PM   #9
QCassidy352
macrumors G3
 
QCassidy352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tronix View Post
Damn this sort of sucks, I don't really want to go with the G5 seeing as it is pretty dated now. And the Mac Mini will not support dual screen, even with a Matrox Dual Head 2 Go .

Worth a shot, suppose I'm going to have to stick with my PC for now. Oh well still got my MacBook .
you could do dual screen with an imac - the built in + one external.
__________________
"If Jesus Himself came back to earth and turned water to wine, half of MacRumors would say 'meh, this is red. I wanted white.'"
QCassidy352 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2008, 08:34 PM   #10
aaronw1986
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCassidy352 View Post
you could do dual screen with an imac - the built in + one external.
Yes, and this couldn't be much more than the G5, maybe less?
__________________
2012 rMBP 15" 2.6 Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
2008 Mac Pro 8 core 2.8Ghz, 8800GT, 14GB RAM, 3TB
iPad 2 Black 64GB Verizon
2007 MBP 15" 2.4Ghz Glossy:4GB RAM
aaronw1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 06:15 AM   #11
OZMP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
i would personally go a new iMac, or mac mini if the budget is lower... I say this from previously owning a 2x2ghz g5 tower. My dad has a mac mini, and an iMac would demolish them both.

Cheers
__________________
4.25GHz i7-930 Hyper-V mule | QNAP TS459 Pro | 46" Bravia | PS3
rMBP 2.3/16/256 ordered 22/7
32GB iPhone 4
32GB iPad 4G
OZMP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Observations of my Power Mac G5 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 9 Sep 23, 2011 12:56 AM
Power Mac G5 sleep and video issue Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 7, 2011 04:47 PM
Power Mac G5 Reliablity Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 24, 2011 01:03 AM
2TB WD Caviar Green hard disk for Power Mac G5 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 16, 2011 08:04 AM
Power Mac G5 Support bryantsiphone PowerPC Macs 17 Dec 26, 2010 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC